Skip to content

Library Loot: December 21st to 27th

December 23, 2011

Vlog

Titles

  • Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James
  • The Autobiography of My Mother by Jamaica Kincaid
  • Defending the Damned by Kevin Davis
  • House of the Winds by Mia Yun
  • The Universe and the Teacup by K.C. Cole
  • Woman Hollering Creek and Other Stories by Sandra Cisneros
  • Maru by Bessie Head
  • The Broken Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin
  • Heart of Iron by Ekaterina Sedia

Covers


16 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2011 7:43 am

    The Autobiography of My Mother intrigues me.

  2. December 23, 2011 8:46 am

    Death Comes to Pemberley and Defending the Damned are the ones on your list that stand out to me. I love our little library, but in order to get really good books like these, I have to request them :/

  3. December 23, 2011 9:46 am

    My introduction to Sandra Cisneros was Woman Hollering Creek which I loved SO much. The House on Mango Street was a letdown after that. Haven’t read Carmelo yet, although I want to. I’ll be interested to see how you feel about the Yun book.

  4. December 23, 2011 9:51 am

    I completely understand your reluctance re: Death Comes to Pemberley because I have the exact same stance that you do on Austen spin-offs (or rip-offs, as I tend to think of them!). I just read my first P.D. James this year and I enjoyed it quite a lot so I am eager to read more from her, but I think that I’ll steer clear of this one!

  5. December 23, 2011 9:55 am

    I have The Autobiography of My Mother beside me. After seeing your copy, I went to the shelf and pulled it out.:)

  6. Ioana permalink
    December 23, 2011 11:13 am

    Your selections are lovely and diverse as usual. I’ve just finished ‘The marriage plot’ by Jeffrey Eugenides which I thought you’d enjoy. ‘House of the Winds’ and ‘Heart of Iron’ sound very appealing. We share the same feelings about Austen ‘fanfics’. I’m curious to read if you liked it or not.

    Oh and Merry Christmas! :)

  7. December 23, 2011 12:33 pm

    What a nice, festive back-drop! I’ll be interested to read what you make of The Universe and the Teacup; it sounds absolutely fascinating.

  8. December 23, 2011 2:58 pm

    I know what you mean about Death Comes to Pemberly–I love Austen but although I’ve read a few spin offs they just haven’t been my cup of tea. On the other hand, I enjoy P.D. James, so I think I might try this at some point.

  9. December 23, 2011 3:19 pm

    Looking forward especially to your thoughts on Maru.

  10. December 23, 2011 3:25 pm

    I don’t read any Austen spin-offs either. Let’s hope that the P. D. James one is better than you expected, though. :) The fantasy novels on your loot sound intriguing.

    Merry Christmas, Eva!

  11. December 23, 2011 4:56 pm

    The Universe and the Teacup! I’d forgotten about that book, but I wrote a book report on it in my high school math class for extra credit. At the time, I didn’t read much nonfiction, but I really enjoyed it. Hope you like it as well. :)

    I read The House on Mango Street a long time ago and I have Caramelo on my to-read list. Hope to get to it in 2012! Glad to hear it was excellent reading.

  12. December 23, 2011 9:51 pm

    As usual, an interesting selection of books! I just love that cover on Universe & the Tea Cup. Have a Merry Christmas Eva :)

  13. December 24, 2011 1:43 pm

    This looks like an amazing stack! Woman Hollering Creek is a great book. Have a great Christmas.

  14. ana permalink
    December 27, 2011 12:48 am

    Wasn’t sure either about the PD James. Then my dear sister gave it for a Christmas gift, so I will definitely have to pay her the courtesy of reading it!! Glad that I will be doing that alongside of you at this festive season. Look forward to your thoughts later.

    Best wishes for the twelve days of Christmas with your family and the gorgeous Thistle.

  15. December 27, 2011 8:37 am

    Great books, Eva! I hope you enjoy the Cisneros especially. I liked Caramelo a lot, too.

  16. January 2, 2012 12:43 pm

    Defending the Damned sounds intriguing and I look forward to your thoughts on those. Definitely with you in the skepticism and wariness re: Austen spin-offs. I’ve read one which wasn’t about Austen’s characters but took place in the present day and included a ‘diary’ of Jane Austen as a plot point. It was really quite awful.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

