Skip to content

Library Loot: December 1st to 16th

December 16, 2011

I thought I’d squish together all of my library loot for this month! But then I messed up the video file, so no vlog today. :( I thought about just not posting, but it’d be a shame to not do at least one LL post this month, and who knows if I’ll have time next week! So I’ve added brief annotations instead. I actually picked up most of these the day before I left for Denver, but the last three are from this week (all interlibrary loans), which also explains why they’re not in the cover shot or my LT collection (my annual subscription has lapsed, and I’m still not positive I want to go ahead and get a lifetime membership, so I can’t add new books until I decide). Also, only one reread in this month’s pile so far; it’s marked with an asterisk! I can’t believe there’s barely more than a fortnight left in 2011; I feel like I haven’t read at all in ages, and that I’m suddenly scrambling to catch up before it’s too late.

Covers

Titles

  • The Observations by Jane Harris (Orange Prize LT Reading Group; it’s gotten lots of good mentions there and sounds vaguely creepy/Sarah Waters-ish, which is good for my current mood. Plus, it’s set in Scotland: always a bonus!)
  • The Opposite House by Helen Oyeyemi (Love Oyeyemi! This is my last novel of hers to read; I had to put in a purchase request to my library.)
  • Bitter Grounds by Sandra Benítez (I’m not sure where I heard about this, but it’s a multigenerational saga focusing on women, which is one of my favourite types of novels.)
  • Ice Road by Gillian Slovo (Orange Prize LT Reading Group; it’s set in Russia, so I’m curious to see if I like it.)
  • Haunted by James Herbert (I think I saw this on a ghost list; I tried it, got about one page in before I realised the writing style just wasn’t for me.)
  • Death of a Hussy by M.C. Beaton (Hamish! I’m so happy this is a ridiculously long series, since the individual books are ridiculously short. My mom and I are both addicted and have already read this one.)
  • The Harrowing by Alexandra Sokoloff (I think I saw her mentioned on Susan’s blog, and my ghost story craving continues. I’ve actually already read both of her books.)
  • The Unseen by Alexandra Sokoloff (See above)
  • A Plague on Both Your Houses by Susanna Gregory (I wanted my mom and I to try out some new mystery authors: this is a series set in the Middle Ages that Sakura recommends.)
  • The Ampersand Papers by Michael Innes (Another new-to-me mystery author, not sure where I read about him.)
  • The Clock Strikes Twelve by Patricia Wentworth (See above.)
  • The Pleasures of Reading in an Age of Distraction by Alan Jacobs* (I read this just a couple of months ago but loved it so much I rather wanted to reread it!)
  • Virginia Woolf’s Nose by Hermione Lee (I loved Lee’s biography of Woolf, so I’ve been meaning to read this essay collection for a while now. Finally got around to ILLing it: already read it. Marvelous!)
  • Weird Sister by Kate Pullinger (I saw this on Kelly‘s list of Canadian authors for Debi to read and couldn’t resist its creepy sounding plot.)
  • The Magic Lantern by Jose Tomas de Cuellar (I came across this when putting together my Central Mexico reading list and couldn’t resist giving it a go.)

For more details on all but the last three, visit my LibraryThing Collection.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 8:53 am

    Many great books here. I am adding The Pleasures of Reading in an Age of Distraction to my TBR list. And I find winter a great time for mysteries and ghost stories, too!

  2. December 16, 2011 9:26 am

    Oh, how cool you are going to read Weird Sister. I read that way before blogging and am almost worried I just *think* it was good and with a reread it wouldn’t be…

  3. December 16, 2011 10:22 am

    I can’t wait to read your thoughts on Virginia Woolf’s Nose!

  4. December 16, 2011 11:36 am

    Great stack of books. Enjoy your loot!

  5. December 16, 2011 3:01 pm

    I hope they’re all wonderful!

  6. December 16, 2011 6:46 pm

    Oh my goodness…..I’m half tempted to add all of these to my to be read list :) I love spooky, gothic type reads and I can’t resist some of these covers. I hope that you get the chance to enjoy them all!

  7. December 16, 2011 7:12 pm

    I’m glad that I’m not the only one who’s gone crazy with library holds! :-) There’s so much to read before the 1st! Happy reading!

  8. December 17, 2011 2:07 am

    I really liked Bitter Grounds…I will be anxious to see how you liked it!

  9. December 18, 2011 12:55 am

    Yaaay!!! I’m so delighted you read both of Sokoloff’s books….did you enjoy them? Which one did you like better? And yes, you saw them on my blog :-)

    Now I have to find a copy of The Pleasure of Reading in an Age of Distraction. I’ve been meaning to look at it, and if you’re already rereading it, it has to be good.

    By the way, Susanna Gregory is a good author for mysteries set in the Middle Ages. I have books in both her series, Thomas Chaloner and the lawyer (I’ve read Chaloner, not the lawyer one yet – Bartholomew? Matthew?). Another author I think you would enjoy is CJ Sansom, set in Tudor England – Matthew Shardlake is the character. These are really good. You should also try Peter Temple’s The Broken Shore, set in Australia, and dealing with the Aborigines in a mystery. This is one of my books for this year, really well written. Yaaay for MC Beaton, I watched all the Hamish Macbeth on tv a few years ago, and am now starting to read the series too. They’re fun, aren’t they? And i love the Scottish location.

    Enjoy your book haul, Eva!!!

  10. Ruthiella permalink
    December 18, 2011 8:46 pm

    I thought “The Observations was fantastic”. Bessie, the narrator, is a kick in the pants. Harris’ follow-up “Gillespie and I” is just as great. Definately both books are Sarah Water-ish. I look forward to your review!

  11. Ruthiella permalink
    December 18, 2011 8:48 pm

    I thought “The Observations was fantastic”. Bessie, the narrator, is a kick in the pants. Harris’ follow-up “Gillespie and I” is just as great. Definately both books are Sarah Waters-ish. I look forward to your review!

  12. December 22, 2011 12:40 pm

    This is inspiring me to go to the library today during my lunch hour!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

