Skip to content

Crafty, Bookish, and Seasonal Inspiration

November 29, 2011

Perhaps you enjoy making homemade gifts and have a book lover or two in your life. Or maybe you’d like to add some handcrafted holiday decorations to your house this winter! Either way, I was inspired by Ana’s wonderful post to do a round-up of links to various bookish diys. (Quick note on photos: I only use photographs that are explicitly marked as alright, which means I found the illustrations on Flickr. They illustrate the general idea of the category rather than a specific diy. Most of these links contain gorgeous photographs of the end product, but I didn’t want to have to worry about copyright!)

Holiday Decor

photo credit

Shelves

photo credit

House Decor

photo credit

Bookends

photo credit

Bags

photo credit

And you know, you could always wait until after the holiday rush and just make a few of these beauties for yourself instead (I thrifted an old dictionary to make the wreath)! And if you’re not the DIY type, there’s always Etsy. Here’s one UK store and two US ones that look promising.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 6:31 am

    Great links! I LOVE the rain gutter shelves!

    • December 15, 2011 11:44 pm

      Aren’t they awesome!? If my niece had any wall space, I’d be making some for her!

  2. November 29, 2011 8:02 am

    I love the candle holders — easy to do and pretty.

  3. November 29, 2011 8:40 am

    Beautiful!

  4. November 29, 2011 9:29 am

    Thank you for gathering these diy ideas in one place! I am going to make personalized tote bags for a niece and nephew (and maybe my daughter, if I have time), and the clutch for my best friend and for myself! I haven’t even looked at the other ideas yet . .

  5. November 29, 2011 10:42 am

    I love those book trees. I might have to give them a go!

    • December 15, 2011 11:45 pm

      I made a few last year out of National Geographics & they turned out so cute! I’m trying to find them so I can display them again, lol.

  6. November 29, 2011 11:02 am

    I think I’m going to try some of these DIY projects. Great post!

  7. November 29, 2011 11:11 am

    Not a do it yourself-er at all! But love those pics.

  8. November 29, 2011 1:15 pm

    I love the idea of decorating with bookish things. Thanks for the lovely links and photos. I am feeling inspired to try something.

  9. November 29, 2011 6:27 pm

    I love the animal bookends. Want to try making some of those, myself!

  10. November 29, 2011 10:43 pm

    I’m in love!! I really need to find someone super crafty with a ton of spare time to make me all kinds of awesome bookish gifts.

  11. November 30, 2011 10:58 pm

    What a fun post! I am sort of opting out of most holiday things this year but I might get inspired in spite of myself…

  12. December 4, 2011 1:41 pm

    love the xmas trees ,all the best stu

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

