Skip to content

But Most From Love

November 26, 2011


photo credit

“Books are food,” wrote the English critic Holbrook Jackson, “libraries are so many dishes of meat, served out for several palates. …We eat them from love or necessity, as other foods, but most from love.”

-Anne Fadiman, Ex Libris

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2011 8:26 am

    What a great quote! I love this. I hope you don’t mind that I linked it up to Weekend Cooking.

  2. November 26, 2011 9:55 am

    Such a perfect quote!

  3. November 26, 2011 10:03 am

    A gorgeous thought!

  4. November 26, 2011 11:03 am

    Aaaargh! I want those muffins so bad that I can’t even focus on the quote!

  5. November 26, 2011 2:28 pm

    Love the quote.

  6. November 26, 2011 9:31 pm

    Thanks for sharing that great quote!

  7. November 26, 2011 11:18 pm

    Books are Food – I love this!! Thanks so much for sharing it, Eva.

  8. November 27, 2011 8:48 am

    A scrumptious message indeed! Lovely post. I invite you join a Jane Austen books celebration in January 2012 as I see that she happens to be one of your favourites. Please visit my blog here http://t.co/8Q5m2PF for more information if you wish to participate.

    Cheers :)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

