Skip to content

Those Sudden Swerves of Destiny

November 19, 2011


photo credit

When I was young and highly robust, I still felt a great hunger for fairy tales; they seemed to offer the possibility of change, far beyond the boundaries of their improbable plots or fantastically illustrated pages. The metamorphoses promised more of the same, not only in fairy land, but in this world, and this instability of appearances, those sudden swerves of destiny, created the first sustaining excitement of such stories. Like romance, to which fairy tales bear a strong affinity, they could ‘remake the world in the image of desire.’

-Marina Warner, From the Beast to the Blonde: On Fairy Tales and Their Tellers

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2011 12:31 pm

    I need to read this book! I love your photo with the quote. The light that leads the way, marvelous that it’s tied to books and reading and where books can lead us.

    • November 22, 2011 4:21 pm

      It disappointed me a little, I think because I was expecting something more scholarly and less stream-of-conscious, but it’s DEFINITELY worth a read!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

