Skip to content

Library Loot: November 4th to 11th

November 11, 2011

Titles Mentioned

  • Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto
  • A Fine and Private Place by Peter Beagle*
  • One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez*
  • Ammie, Come Home by Barbara Michaels
  • The House of Spirits by Isabel Allende*
  • Indian Killer by Sherman Alexie*
  • Enchanted Hunters by Maria Tatar
  • The Dwelling by Susie Molony
  • Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri* (ebook, not pictured)
  • The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters*(ebook, not pictured)

(For those who don’t watch the vlog, I starred the titles that I’ve already read and have out for my rereading project.)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2011 6:28 am

    I must read some Sherman Alexie! His name pops out at me everywhere I go, both in real life and online.

  2. November 11, 2011 7:07 am

    I read AMMIE, COME HOME for the first time in junior high, I think. Scared me silly. It’s one of my favorite comfort reads and I totally understand your fascination with the clothes descriptions. If you decide you like it, there is a sort of sequel called SHATTERED SILK. The mystery aspect isn’t quite the same, but the clothes…ah, the clothes. Check it out if you decide you like this one.

  3. November 11, 2011 7:11 am

    I’m glad you didn’t let Thistle get down – I always love seeing her! I want to read Indian Killer and The House of Spirits.

  4. November 11, 2011 8:09 am

    I don’t think I’ve heard of Sherman Alexie. Must investigate! And A Fine and Private Place has been on my wishlist for aaaaaages, so I should just go ahead and get a copy. I think it’s out of print in the UK though, and not sure the library will have it. Amazon to the rescue perhaps.

    Also, Thistle is looking adorable. I love it when dogs stretch up and stretch their necks – looking at you and requesting a under-chin tickle at the same time. :-)

  5. November 11, 2011 10:26 am

    Your stack looks great! I still haven’t read A Fine and Private Place. Happy reading!

  6. November 11, 2011 11:02 am

    Great to see you and your Library Loot again Eva!

  7. November 11, 2011 11:33 am

    You snagged some really great books this week! One Hundred Years of Solitude is one of my all-time favorites… or so I claim, despite having only read it once! It’s nice to see you devoting so much time to re-reading, as I know I’ve read so many good books that I intend to go back to, but then always seem to neglect actually doing that!

  8. November 11, 2011 1:03 pm

    Isabel Allende is one of my favourite authors, too. I haven’t read The House of the Spirits in years, but I really enjoyed it when I did… I have two more adult books by her that are unread and I have never read her young adult trilogy.

  9. November 11, 2011 1:26 pm

    Such a great stack, Eva!!! I’m interested to read your thoughts on Interpreter of Maladies and The Little Stranger. I loved both and would consider re-reading both of those.

    Enjoy!

  10. November 11, 2011 3:30 pm

    I really need to get to Peter Beagle one of these days. I watched The Last Unicorn hundreds of times when I was a kid! And I hope you write about Kitchen. It’s a very interesting story.

  11. November 11, 2011 4:59 pm

    That is a great selection of books! Hope The Little Stranger is as entertaining for you as it was for me. Happy reading!

  12. November 12, 2011 7:37 am

    Great stack of books! I’m dying to read Indian Killer – Sherman Alexie is one of my favorite authors and I haven’t gotten to that one yet. Also, I almost checked Kitchen out of the library the other day but I already had too many in my hands. I guess it’ll have to wait until next time.

    –Rayna

  13. November 12, 2011 11:01 am

    I hope you continue to enjoy Enchanted Hunters! I read it on Thursday quite liked it, though some of the more recent children’s books that Tatar assumed the reader would be familiar with were not ones I knew so I didn’t get quite as much out of those sections as out of others.

  14. November 13, 2011 12:03 pm

    Looks like you’ve got some good books checked out from the library! I’ve read a few books by Barbara Michaels. One I really enjoyed and the other not so much so I’ll be interested in hearing your thoughts on that one when you finish. I’ve got a copy of The Little Stranger sitting on my shelf patiently waiting for me…soon I will read it :) Hope you have a great week Eva!

  15. November 13, 2011 8:45 pm

    Okay sweetie, I’m going to forgive you ’cause I love you so much–but how do you think it feels for us really old folks to hear you calling yourself old?!! :P

    I’ve been dying to read Indian Killer ever since I first picked it up in a used book store one time. I didn’t realize you’d read and loved it–makes me even more excited to read it!

  16. November 14, 2011 1:36 pm

    Eva – here, you mentioned that you were looking for some scary reads that weren’t graphic… I am reading a book of short stories by Daphne du Maurier called “Don’t Look Now” (pub 1966), and the stories are spooky but not graphic – just spooky things and coincidences etc All very well written (since it is the Dame)… You might like this?

    And Thistle is adorable. :-)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

