Skip to content

Library Loot: October 7th

October 7, 2011

Vlog (I was editing it this morning when I was still half asleep, before I’d had my mug of tea, so I forgot that there was a ‘blooper’ at the beginning and left it in. I didn’t notice my mistakeuntil I’d uploaded to Vimeo, when it would take too long to re-edit; instead, it’s preserved for posterity. Oh well! )

Books Mentioned

  • The Long Ships by Frans G. Bengtsson
  • The Calligraphers’ Night by Yasmine Ghata
  • Villain by Shuichi Yoshida
  • From the Beast to the Blonde : on Fairy Tales and Their Tellers by Marina Warner
  • Travels in a Thin Country by Sara Wheeler
22 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2011 9:13 am

    Great vlog as ever Eva love sound of the French book sounds upy street all the bet stu

  2. October 7, 2011 9:30 am

    I’m impressed that you are still getting so many books from ILL. The Austin Public Library ILL section is on hiatus at the moment – due to a number of factors. Putting in some kind of new system and also the Texas State Library had a lot of reductions in funds. Enjoy your books, Eva. I’m also glad for the cooler temps but my goodness, don’t we need rain??

    • October 8, 2011 10:26 am

      They’ve been including bookmarks about the new system for ages, but I don’t know when they’re actually switching over. Hope they don’t go on hiatus for too long! And eek re: loss of funds!

      Yeah, I’m pretty tired of the drought. :( We had about 3 minutes of heavy rain yesterday: the weather just loves to tease!

  3. October 7, 2011 9:51 am

    The Long Ships is probably very interesting historically. I look forward to your thoughts on The Calligraphers’ Night. It’s not in my library so I haven’t a clue about it. You must get The Blue Fox back, it’s well worth it. I highly recommend it in a Thursday Tea post here: http://freshinkbooks.blogspot.com/2009/04/thursday-tea_09.html
    Also: The stripped chair, it’s so you, dahling.
    I really hope the new meds work for you.
    You bookshelf photo is lovely, so organized.
    I just got Touch from the library myself so look forward to comparing notes. (your last week’s LL)
    If you can’t tell, I read all of your posts (and usually the comments), you always have the nicest photos, and fun post titles. I don’t always comment but I’m here. Take care.

    • October 8, 2011 10:26 am

      Thanl you Sandra: what a nice comment! And I don’t always comment on the blogs I’m reading, so I totally understand. :)

      I will have to try to get The Blue Fox again: I’m just not sure what my library would think of me requesting same book twice!

  4. October 7, 2011 10:00 am

    I’ll really look forward to hearing what you think of From the Beast to the Blonde! I’ve really enjoyed what I’ve read of The Long Ships, though, for one reason or another, have never finished it when I’ve had it out from the library.

  5. October 7, 2011 12:20 pm

    I look forward to seeing your thoughts on The Long Ships. I’ve been meaning to read it for a while now and even downloaded it to my Kobo. I have a hard time finding quality historical fiction set in Scandinavia, so I hope this one won’t disappoint.

  6. October 7, 2011 1:15 pm

    Like everyone else, The Long Ships caught my eye. Can’t wait to hear what you think of it. Your blooper is cute. LOVE that outfit and your hair. And, the dog makes a lovely accessory, too. ;)

    • October 8, 2011 10:29 am

      Thanks Nancy! It was my first time trying sponge curlers in ages, hehe: I was pleasantly surprised. :D

  7. October 7, 2011 1:24 pm

    I love the little blooper and I love Thistle!

  8. October 7, 2011 2:28 pm

    I can’t wait to hear what you think of Long Ships. I think I was first aware of it when it was recommended on NPR’s website. It sounded kind of swashbuckling, which could be fun!

  9. October 7, 2011 5:06 pm

    I’m really looking forward to your thoughts on From the Beast to the Blonde. In general, I am not a Marina Warner fan. I don’t think I’ve read this one in particular, but I have read a few of her others and had some issues with her arguments.

    I’m not familiar with Sara Wheeler, but anyone who’s written travelogues about Chile AND Antarctica sounds like someone whose work I’d like to pursue! :)

    • October 8, 2011 10:30 am

      I’ve just begun From Beast to the Blonde but I’m loving it so far! I haven’t gotten into any literary analysis, and I don’t have your academic background, so I wonder what I’ll think of her arguments. :)

      Terra Incognito was really neat: a very literary and British travelogue. lol

  10. October 7, 2011 7:14 pm

    I’d like to read both of Sara Wheeler’s books, especially the Antarctica one.

  11. October 8, 2011 11:21 am

    I love your hair in the video, Eva! Happy reading.

  12. October 8, 2011 2:37 pm

    I have had From Beast to the Blonde out from the library a few times now and STILL haven’t read it. At least it wasn’t ILL. I have to admit I stopped doing them because I am really bad about actually reading them when the time comes and they always seem to come in around the same time no matter how much I try to space them out… Enjoy your rereading project!

  13. October 9, 2011 3:48 am

    “Yaaay, Vikings!”

    My favorite vlogging moment yet. :-)

    As others mentioned, your hair is super cute.

  14. October 9, 2011 11:28 am

    I just wanted to butt in with my totally unconstructive comment: I adore your vlogs! Lots of literature from all corners of the world, I always jot down two or three titles after every vlog :) Cheers and take care!

  15. October 9, 2011 5:34 pm

    I’m really intrigued by the book that you liken to the feminist version of Joseph Campbell. I look forward to hearing your thoughts about it.

  16. October 9, 2011 9:13 pm

    Love your hair in this vlog! Very cute. :)

    Quite a few of the books on your pile look very interesting to me, though most particularly is The Calligrapher’s Night and Travels in a Thin Country, so I look forward to your thoughts on them. I traveled to Chile a few years ago and though we only visited Santiago and Valparaiso (it was a short two-week visit that also included Buenos Aires), I loved what I saw of the country and would love to go back for a longer period of time and poke around a bit. The people are so friendly (we made friends with our taxi driver, who told us all about his entire family, and suggested the side trip to Valparaiso) and the country is just gorgeous. I would love to live there! Anyhow, I hope you enjoy your armchair travels to Chile. :)

  17. Edie permalink
    October 11, 2011 1:08 pm

    I have been wanting to read From the Beast to the Blonde : on Fairy Tales and Their Tellers for a while now. Hopefully, it will be reprinted, since I would love to add it to my fairy tale collection.

    The Long Ships looks neat. Love that cover. Yet another book to add to the ever growing TBR! I don’t mind though, since I love your recommendations. You certainly have opened up new areas of interest to me.

    Thistle is such a sweet and patient dog and I love how she stays with you in your videos. I can’t have pets at the moment but I would love to be owned by a pug one day.

  18. October 21, 2011 9:05 pm

    The Long Ships sounds fascinating absolutely fascinating and I love the colour. Doh I have spent too much money on clothes and books lately… I do not need another… At the moment I’m obsessed by anything remotely Danish, or Scandinavian and the description on Goodreads sounds tempting.

    Late night book buying (it is currently 3am right now) not a good idea…

    I have Villain, I bought it (possibly late at night) after seeing the movie trailer somewhere and thought it looked interesting. I want to branch out with my foreign authors so I’ve been buying a few of those.

    Your library seems to have some wonderful quality books with great covers. My library, lovely as it is, seems to be populated by people who like to use books as if they are plates. I have found numerous food items and stains, as well as unpleasant smells.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

