Skip to content

A Striped Armchair, Literally

October 6, 2011


Once upon a time, there was a girl who loved books and wanted to start a blog. So she named it after her favourite (striped) reading chair in her college apartment, not forseeing that after graduating and bequeathing the chair to the next generation of students, her blog name would be a trifle random.

Flash forward a few years, and the girl was on the hunt for a second chair for her bedroom, to make a little conversation nook: it had to be small, comfy, and cheap. After scouring thrift stores for a few months, she came across the perfect chair: not only did it meet all the criteria, it was also striped! After desperately guarding it from other shoppers until her mother (the primary future user) arrived to confirm its perfection, she popped it in the back of her convertible, drove it home, and placed it in the corner to live happily ever after. And once again, her blog’s name made sense.

53 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2011 12:43 pm

    Yay for a new striped armchair!

  2. October 6, 2011 12:48 pm

    :-) congratulations on your new chair! Looks very comfy.

  3. October 6, 2011 12:51 pm

    What a great happy ending!

  4. October 6, 2011 12:52 pm

    It looks so good :) And I love curling up in a chair like that, I can never sit with my feet on the ground while reading.

  5. October 6, 2011 12:52 pm

    Great chair, Eva. I’m so happy for you!

  6. October 6, 2011 12:53 pm

    Man, that does look like a comfy chair. Is it just me, or do the best armchairs always come from thriftstores? I will be lugging my wacky, bright orange, $15 armchair around with me for the rest of my life.

    • October 8, 2011 10:31 am

      They do! And there was a bright orange one that I passed up since it wouldn’t have fit my room colour scheme. It was so tempting though. :)

  7. October 6, 2011 12:56 pm

    I love a good story with a happy ending :) That chair looks perfect for you!

  8. October 6, 2011 12:57 pm

    This is the best fairy tale ever :) It is such a cute chair, comfy and ‘just right’, kind of like your blog, come to think of it!

  9. October 6, 2011 1:05 pm

    Yay, striped armchairness!!!

  10. October 6, 2011 1:07 pm

    That looks super-comfortable! Although I’d either need an equally squooshy ottoman, or else I’d wind up draped over it sideways. :)

    • October 8, 2011 10:32 am

      There’s not enough space for an ottoman (boo to a small room!), but my mom said since her feet touch the ground she doesn’t need one. Plus, she’s like me: all about curling up. ;)

  11. October 6, 2011 1:10 pm

    Wow, it’s perfect. Congrats on your find!

  12. October 6, 2011 1:11 pm

    Yay! What a lucky find. It looks like a great reading chair.

  13. October 6, 2011 1:13 pm

    Love the chair! Hooray!

  14. October 6, 2011 1:14 pm

    Great chair! Fits perfect. :-)

  15. October 6, 2011 1:17 pm

    it’s lovely! what are you reading in the picture?

    • October 6, 2011 1:29 pm

      I’m reading Persuasion on Athie, my Nook. :)

  16. October 6, 2011 1:23 pm

    It’s a serendipitous striped armchair! Hooray!

  17. avisannschild permalink
    October 6, 2011 1:42 pm

    Yay, congrats! Love that second pic!

  18. October 6, 2011 1:59 pm

    What a comfy looking chair! I wish I had room for one in my room.

    • October 8, 2011 10:33 am

      My room’s only 10 feet by 12 feet, so I’m happily surprised that I’ve been able to create a little sitting area. :)

  19. October 6, 2011 2:18 pm

    Lovely chair! It looks very comfy indeed. :)

  20. October 6, 2011 2:43 pm

    awesome. wonderful find!

  21. October 6, 2011 2:57 pm

    “Once upon a time” is supposed to end with “and she lived happily ever after.” There, I did it for you.

    • October 8, 2011 10:33 am

      I did have ‘lived happily ever’! It’s just in the penultimate sentence. ;)

  22. October 6, 2011 3:23 pm

    Ahh! It’s perfect, all is right in the world.

  23. October 6, 2011 3:56 pm

    Oh, I like that story! Such a happy ending … well it doesn’t really end though, does it! You look very content in your chair :)

  24. October 6, 2011 3:58 pm

    Perfection!

  25. October 6, 2011 4:00 pm

    You look wonderfully comfortable in your “stripped armchair”

  26. October 6, 2011 4:31 pm

    Oh what a fabulous chair! It looks so comfy and reading-friendly!!

  27. October 6, 2011 5:26 pm

    Beautiful! I love the photo of you, Thistle, and the chair—a nice summation of the blog.

  28. October 6, 2011 5:30 pm

    I love it! :)

  29. October 6, 2011 8:22 pm

    The thrift stores here are terrible. People always find such interesting things… I never see anything…

    • October 8, 2011 10:35 am

      Aww: I’m sorry Kelly! If it makes you feel better, I spent three months NOT seeing any chairs that matched w my mental image.

  30. October 6, 2011 9:45 pm

    I am bathed in stripe-y armchair goodness! Go, Eva!
    p.s. I thought you were reading your Nook.

  31. October 7, 2011 4:05 am

    The stars align and fate brings a striped armchair back into your life. :-) Tis perfect and I love it!

  32. October 7, 2011 6:52 am

    great :)

  33. October 7, 2011 9:09 am

    Lovely! (But what happened to the gray one you got last year?)

    • October 7, 2011 9:14 am

      I’m sitting in it right now! :D This was a second chair, so that people (aka my mom) could come sit in my room w me rather than standing awkwardly or perching on my bed. lol My grey chair’s right across from it, w Thistle’s bed in the middle. It’s hilarious: the striped one is quite small, so it makes the grey one look even more oversized. I’ll have to take a photo one of these days!

  34. October 7, 2011 9:51 am

    I love it! Perfect color, and stripyness of course!

  35. October 7, 2011 10:30 am

    Look so comfy!

  36. October 7, 2011 1:12 pm

    I didn’t realize your blog was named after a real chair! Funny. Love the new one. It looks very comfortable!

  37. ana permalink
    October 7, 2011 8:29 pm

    The chair is perfection!! What a find.

    And E reading? How do you find that? Is it easier to manage with your symptoms, for example the fibro pains? What about the screen reading? Do you find that tiring at all?

    • October 8, 2011 10:38 am

      E-reading is SO much better for my health: when I have a flare-up, it’s the only kind of reading I can do (esp now that I have Sjogrens too, so my hands can get sore easily). I got the b&w Nook w ‘e-ink technology,’ and I find it just as easy as reading a regular book (and this is coming from someone who can’t read even a long short story on my computer very comfortably). In fact, sometimes I forget it’s an ereader and go to use my finger to mark my place when I’m going to ‘close’ it temporarily! lol I just wish more of the books I wanted from the library had e-versions, but I’m sure that will change over time. And there are so many free classics available, I can’t complain! ;)

      • ana permalink
        October 8, 2011 6:13 pm

        Eva, you are too kind indeed. Thanks for the answer. I am delighted to learn how useful an e reader has been for you. Reading at length from the computer has never been easy for me either.

        It is a blessing that new technology can help you manage the Sjogrens and really add to your quality of life.

        Nothing will add as much though I guess as sitting in that amazing armchair with Thistle and a good read in any form.

  38. October 8, 2011 5:29 am

    I’m kind of jealous! It looks so comfy….like a good reading chair. I’m glad your blog makes sense again now, lol. :)

  39. October 8, 2011 10:39 am

    Thank you to everyone for the good wishes! It’s funny, whenever I look at the chair now, I think of my blog and all my wonderful readers/fellow bloggers. Makes me feel all warm and fuzzy. :D

  40. October 8, 2011 10:42 am

    All I can think of is Monty Python’s “Spanish Inquisition” sketch- “BRING OUT THE COMFY CHAIR !!!”
    Nice chair ! I need one too !

  41. October 8, 2011 11:22 am

    Love the chair! You have a convertible?! ;-)

  42. October 9, 2011 5:40 pm

    Yay for finding the perfect striped armchair!

  43. October 9, 2011 8:02 pm

    Nice! You look SO cozy. I think it’s time to me to curl up on my chair like that and read a book!

  44. November 1, 2011 9:42 am

    I love it when the blog name makes sense; I really do!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

