Skip to content

Gentle and Bookish and Ever So Slightly Confused

September 24, 2011


photo credit

When we were sixteen, the books stopped coming. Who can say why? I have thought of every scenario. What is certain is that by that time, the damage was done. We were addicts, hooked on books, on their reading and on their acquisition. And so we became who we are: gentle and bookish and ever so slightly confused. It is not a bad way to be, when all is said and done. Which, for the moment, it is.

-Bill Richardson, Bachelor Brothers’ Bed and Breakfast

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2011 7:47 am

    Oh I love this.

  2. September 24, 2011 4:27 pm

    *LOVE*!! Will have to look this one up, thanks. :)

    • September 25, 2011 1:36 pm

      It’s a wonderful little book Nancy! Definitely worth getting your hands on.

  3. September 24, 2011 10:34 pm

    This touches me so much. Thank you for sharing :)

  4. September 24, 2011 11:19 pm

    Love this book :) Thanks for sharing some of it and thus recalling all my memory of reading it!

    • September 25, 2011 1:36 pm

      I reread it earlier this year, and I loved it even more the second time around! (Which I wouldn’t have thought possible.)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

