Skip to content

Library Loot: September 23rd

September 23, 2011

Once again, no vlog. I actually did try, but I’m exhausted from pain and messed up sleeping, so it was the most boring video ever. Instead, here’s another photo (with another hat tip to Yvann) of this week’s loot!

Obviously, quite a few more books than last week. And almost all of them are because of other bloggers! The Night Circus, which proves that my interest in a book is negatively correlated with its amount of hype…I put this on hold back before the publicity blitz, and now that it’s arrived I’m just eyeing it skeptically. We’ll see if I get to it. The Second Life of Samuel Tyne by Esi Edugyan is due to all of the Booker posts, which mention (Canadian) Edugyan’s second novel. I can’t resist immigration story lines! ;) While writing my thoughts on John McWhorter‘s latest book, it made me want to read more of him, so I requested The Word on the Street. Yay for pop linguistics! Melanie wrote a wonderful post on The Prodigal Daughter by Myrna Kostash which is a travelogue about the Balkan region with a focus on Orthodox Christianity, that inspired me to ILL it. I read about The Crossing Places by Elly Griff on Book Group of One, a blog I found thanks to BBAW. The combination of mystery, Norwich, and ‘happily single’ woman protagonist was irresistable. Meanwhile, I can’t figure out which blogger inspired me to request The Boat by Nam Le (I thought it was Kim, but searching her site didn’t turn up a review): I’ve barely read any Australian authors this year, which is a shame. And Jodie’s responsible for Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves, which sounds like a fun R.I.P. read by a Texan author! I picked up Voluntary Simplicity by Duane Elgin on my own, looking for inspiration. Then there are two more interlibrary loans, both due to bloggers: Dolce Bellezza is to blame for Strangers by Taichi Yamada while Simon T convinced me to request The Love Child by Edith Olivier. Rounding things out is Tam Lin by Pamela Dean, a book that’s been on my radar for years. I’m in the mood for some fairy tale-inspired fantasy!

And there you have it; I returned enough books to keep myself below my self-imposed thirty limit. But then I inexplicably went a bit crazy these past couple days requesting holds, so we’ll see what next week’s post looks like!

Have you read any of these? Any thoughts on where to start? And do you share my hesitation to read hyped books?

31 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2011 6:28 am

    I can give a 2-thumbs up to THE CROSSING PLACES. Elly Griffith’s mystery series is one of my favorites. I’ve just read the third book, THE HOUSE AT SEA’S END. I love Ruth Galloway, the protagonist and also love the mingling of crime, archeology, and an out-of-the-norm female lead.

    I’m a little wary of THE NIGHT CIRCUS myself. Lot of talk about this one. I haven’t jumped on board yet. :-)

  2. September 23, 2011 6:52 am

    Oh I just downloaded The Night Circus and am pretty pumped about it. The others I’m not really familiar with. Enjoy! And feel better!

  3. September 23, 2011 8:14 am

    Hurrah for The Love Child! I do hope you get round to reading it (it’s so short!) and would love to read your thoughts on it.

  4. September 23, 2011 8:38 am

    I just love that photo you took. And Pamela Dean’s Tam Lin is one of my absolute favorite books. I’m eager to see what you think of it!

  5. September 23, 2011 8:41 am

    I haven’t read any of these, but I’m also wary of The Night Circus because of all the hype, which I started to encounter months and months ago. I did however, read recently that the author was inspired by the work of the Punchdrunk Theatre Company, and I am in love with their work since seeing Sleep No More (twice!), so that has me a little curious, when I wasn’t at all interested before. I am, however, waiting for one of my most trusted blogger friends (like you) to read it before I decide.

    • September 24, 2011 2:17 am

      Oh I see. I’m like the canary in the coal mine. ;)

  6. September 23, 2011 8:59 am

    I know exactly what you mean about the Night Circus. I was lucky to snag a copy before the hype really started, so I am very grateful for that. If I had waited for the library as originally planned I probably wouldn’t have read it…

  7. September 23, 2011 10:16 am

    I don’t know if this was your source of inspiration, but I remember that Frances quite liked The Boat. I’ll be curious to see if you agree!

    Sorry to hear about your pain & skewed sleeping schedule – I hope you feel better soon!

    • September 24, 2011 2:17 am

      I checked, and that wasn’t the post that made me request it, but I’m excited she had good things to say about it!

  8. September 23, 2011 11:20 am

    I’m still excited about The Night Circus despite all the hype. After all – it’s still the same book it was before I read all the hype! It’s on order at my library, and I’m looking forward to getting my hands on it.

  9. September 23, 2011 12:05 pm

    I know just what you mean about The Night Circus. I read it back in August and loved it. In fact I’m first on the waiting list at the library for the audio because I want to re-experience it in that format. While it will remain one of the best books of the year for me, I’d be hesitant to read it if I was just getting to it for the first time today. I tend to avoid books once the hype gets to be too much, so I totally understand where you’re coming from on this one. Perhaps setting it aside and getting back to it in a few months would be the best move. Please don’t let it go completely though. It’s a lovely book and the elegance of the story and atmosphere it created for me as I read it is something I can highly recommend.

  10. September 23, 2011 12:39 pm

    I love the photo! I haven’t read any of those books, but I’d like you to read The Night Circus so I know if it lives up to they hype. ;)

  11. September 23, 2011 12:59 pm

    Great picture! :)

    I haven’t read any of the books on your loot, but The Prodigal Daughter and The Corssing Places both sound very interesting to me.

    And yes, I totally share your hesitation to read hyped books. I don’t usually read any book just because it’s hyped. Sometimes I kind of have to read some book I’m not so interested in, because it’s so popular among our library patrons, but usually I only read books I like whether hyped or totally obscure. :)

  12. September 23, 2011 1:46 pm

    I hardly ever like what everyone else does. :<) As interesting as this post was to read, I missed you! You could never be boring to us. I'm so sorry you aren't sleeping well and are hurting.

    • September 24, 2011 2:19 am

      Thanks Nan! Trust me, the video was a total downer: I had all of these looong pauses between words and couldn’t muster up much enthusiasm. Hopefully, I’ll be back at it next week!

  13. September 23, 2011 6:53 pm

    I haven’t read any of these but I did just check out The Night Circus because of bloggers! :-) I hope you’re feeling better soon.

  14. September 23, 2011 8:10 pm

    My gut reaction is to shy away from hyped books, but sometimes, I’ll hear a rave reaction from two polar opposite readers and it makes me go hmmmmmmmmmmmm… (a recent example is S.J. Watson’s Before I Go To Sleep…I’m working on my rave review now)

  15. September 23, 2011 11:36 pm

    Hi Eva. I’m so glad I stopped by today. I’m adding The Emily Griffiths mystery series to my list and I’m going to check out The Night Circus right now. I almost hate to admit I haven’t heard anything about it at all. Like you I have a lot of reading time because of FM but there are times my hands ache too much to hold a book or I’m just so physically uncomfortable I can’t concentrate. Sometimes I watch tv and read a book at the same time because the combination is a more effective distraction from pain. Sometimes it takes reading, watching tv and playing a game on my laptop at the same time. If that doesn’t work,,,it’s time to go to bed. Thanks for sharing your books with us. I truly hope your health will improve soon. In the meantime take care of you.
    Dianne

    • September 24, 2011 2:20 am

      Have you tried an ereader? When I’m having a flare-up, I tend to switch entirely to ebooks, because my hands don’t have to do nearly as much work! There’s still some pain from pressing the button/swiping the touch pad to turn the page, but it’s tiny compared to keeping a physical book open.

      • September 24, 2011 2:56 pm

        I’ve been thinking about an e-reader for a while now but didn’t know anyone with FM who was using one so wasn’t sure if it would be of any benefit. I’m glad to hear it makes reading easier. I am sometimes afraid that I will get to the point where I won’t be able to read at all simply because I can’t hold a book. I can’t imagine life without reading. I’m going to start saving my pennies. Thanks for this. It was a real encouragement to me. God bless you.

  16. September 24, 2011 5:11 am

    I haven’t read any of the books you requested, but that’s no surprise since that’s usually the case. I am very curious about most of them. Also, I share your wariness of The Night Circus because of the hype. But I’m sure I won’t be able to read it for a long long time, which makes me feel more confident that I’ll have a proper idea of whether I’ll like it or not when the time comes. I would love to hear your thoughts though.

  17. September 24, 2011 12:41 pm

    Similar feelings about The Night Circus but thought The Boat was a tremendous collection. Really enjoyed the stylistic variations from piece to piece.

  18. September 24, 2011 2:14 pm

    Ha! I ordered The Love Child from Abebooks months ago after Simon raved about it. Still haven’t read it, of course. It’s on the TBR pile. Someday. . . .

  19. September 24, 2011 11:23 pm

    So glad to know my meagre review inspired you to ILL Prodigal Daughter…I hope you will like it now! I found it uneven in tempo so feel free to skip around ;)

    I love the picture you’ve taken of your books — charming. I also have a copy of The Night Circus — have just begun but have am reserving opinion as yet. Will see…… I also have a copy of The Second Life of Samuel Tyne on the huge stack of to-read Canadiana. Will have to find more hours in the day to get to the bottom of that stack!

  20. September 25, 2011 6:33 am

    I do often leave hyped books until later (which does mean I forget sometimes) unless I’d heard of them before the hype. But then there are two thoughts, one – that you can discuss the books while everyone else does but two – that you’ll put others off because you’re joining all the other blogs in showing it and perhaps boring readers. However people are generally up for discussing books they’ve read whenever so leaving it is a good idea.

  21. September 25, 2011 9:39 am

    I’m really interested in hearing your thoughts on Edugyan’s book!

  22. September 25, 2011 11:49 pm

    I am waiting for The Night Circus to be added to the library catalogue! It’s not there yet which is very frustrating!

    I loved Nam Le’s The Boat – such a fabulous collection of stories! I hope you enjoy it too.

  23. September 26, 2011 4:45 am

    I just love that photo!

    • September 26, 2011 4:45 am

      Also, I have library loot this week and I keep forgetting where to link it up.

  24. September 26, 2011 11:41 am

    I hope The Night Circus is successful for you! I just absolutely loved it’s atmosphere. A perfect fall read.

  25. September 27, 2011 12:09 am

    Hurray for Tam Lin! I really think you’ll enjoy that one. It’s impossible not to love…if you are of the bookish people. :)

    I bought The Boat by Nam Le soon after it was published. I read the first story and was very impressed but didn’t read the rest. I picked it up earlier this year and wasn’t as impressed with the second story. It’s still on my shelf – I tend to read short story collections very, very slowly (over a period of years, not days or months) and I’m hoping the next time I pick it up, Le will be redeemed.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

