Skip to content

A Rare Sense of Peace

September 17, 2011


photo credit

Although having a “room of one’s own” is not possible for most women featured in my study, curling up in bed with a book of one’s own-even if it is borrowed from the prison library-can provide a rare sense of peace, solitude, fantasy, or escape in the midst of a life governed by constant struggle and the realism of others.

Reading is My Window: Books and the Art of Reading in Women’s Prisons by Megan McSweeney

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2011 8:35 am

    Beautiful quote, Eva! Made me think on how we take the pleasures of reading for granted, and how for some people, it might be all that they have got.

  2. September 17, 2011 2:50 pm

    Oh wow this is really interesting. I’ve been thinking a lot about Woolf, lately and her thoughts on a room of one’s own. Thanks for sharing this!

  3. September 18, 2011 4:23 am

    This quote immediately brought to mind Hanna in “The Reader” and how books gave meaning to her life, particularly once she is imprisoned.

  4. September 18, 2011 8:25 am

    Ooooohhhhh wants to read that book. Is it all as good as it sounds?

    • September 18, 2011 8:06 pm

      Yes! It’s awesome! I need to catch up on my backlog. :)

  5. September 18, 2011 12:20 pm

    Thanks for this quote, Eva. I sometimes volunteer for an organization caledl Books to Prisoners. They send books to people in prison all over the US. I have added Reading Is My Window to my TBR list.

    • September 18, 2011 8:06 pm

      It’s a great read Gavin, and good on you for volunteering!

  6. September 20, 2011 9:49 am

    Oh, wonderful quote! I’m going to have to look for this book. We have a nonprofit in the city where I live called the Women’s Prison Book Project and my husband and I happily make regular paperback book donations to them but we never know what it is like for the women reading in prison which makes this sound like a perfect book for me to read!

Trackbacks

  1. Notes on Current and Future Reading « So Many Books

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

