Skip to content

Library Loot: September 16th

September 16, 2011

No vlog today, because I usually make them on Thursday and yesterday my health took a nosedive. But I do have a photograph, inspired by Reading, Fuelled by Tea.

As you can see, this was a light week for me! I requested the audiobook of Amitav Ghosh’s Sea of Poppies after Teresa told me about it on Twitter. I was contemplating a reread anyway, since the second in the trilogy is about to be published, and I think listening to all of the wordplay would be great fun. I’ve had a hold on The Lantern by Deborah Lawrenson for awhile now (before Carl announced the group read, because I would’ve waited to get it in October otherwise!), waiting for it to be published; I love gothic books, so I hope this lives up to its buzz! ;) Then there are the two books I picked up on a whim: A Thousand Times More Fair was in the new nonfiction section. It’s by Kenji Yoshino, a law professor, and is about justice in Shakespeare. The premise intrigued me so much that I found his first book, Covering, which is a combination memoir and reworking of the civil rights debate. I sat down and read a few pages from each, but still couldn’t decide which I wanted more, so I popped them both in my bag. Finally, I have no idea what A Candle for St. Jude is about, but Jenny recommended it to me so I’m excited to find out!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2011 1:18 pm

    Eva, did you know that Amitav Ghosh is going to be at the Texas Book Festival next month? Just saying. LOL

    • September 17, 2011 2:11 am

      I didn’t! I am planning on going, just to meet up w bloggers. :) Are you? I think we (meaning TX bloggers) should start getting a plan together!

  2. September 16, 2011 1:22 pm

    Happy reading, interesting looking books :)

  3. September 16, 2011 1:40 pm

    Nice library loot, Eva! ‘A Candle for St.Jude’ by Rumer Godden sounds quite interesting, more because of the author. I haven’t read any of Rumer Godden’s books, but saw a movie which was made based on her book called ‘Black Narcissus’ and loved it – it has some of my favourite Christmas scenes :) Hope you enjoy ‘A Candle…’. Happy Reading!

  4. September 16, 2011 1:44 pm

    Never heard of any of them but enjoy!

  5. September 16, 2011 4:44 pm

    I just got the e-mail that the audio of Sea of Poppies is at the library for me, so I’ll be starting it soon. I agree that the wordplay should make for a good audio experience! But alas, it looks like I won’t get to see Amitav Ghosh when he comes to DC after all. :(

    • September 17, 2011 2:15 am

      Based on Kay’s comment above, the obvious solution is for you to come to the TX Book Festival next month so you can see him here. ;) We have a spare room, and it’s not too long a drive!

  6. September 16, 2011 6:00 pm

    Looks like a great pile! :) I remember your review of Sea of Poppies and I know I wrote that title down! Eventually… ;)

    Feel better soon!

  7. September 16, 2011 6:08 pm

    I can’t imagine anything nicer than an audiobook of Sea of Poppies!

  8. September 16, 2011 6:15 pm

    Oh! A Candle for St. Jude! It’s about this ballet school and the director of the school is trying to put on a really excellent performance but at the last moment she realizes one of the short ballets she has planned isn’t good enough OH NO WHAT WILL HAPPEN, and the young choreographer who invented the short ballet that now isn’t good enough is really upset. Except, neither saccharine nor precious like that synopsis made it sound. Rumer Godden has a gift for making poignant and biting things that should just be sweety-sweety-sweet. I hope you like it.

    • September 17, 2011 2:16 am

      I was happy w/o a summary, but now I’m even more excited! It sounds like a book I’ll like. :)

  9. September 16, 2011 9:19 pm

    I know. I had The Lantern out from the library and wound up returning it because of the read-long. I hope I enjoy it because I wound up buying it!

  10. September 16, 2011 11:09 pm

    I had requested The Lantern on Netgalley but wasn’t going to be able to renew it for the readalong so ended up picking it up from the library today.

    Enjoy your loot!

  11. September 17, 2011 8:05 am

    Very nice library week, Eva!

    I’ll have to move THE LANTERN up in my reading list, so I can follow along the readalong. I had hoped to re-read REBECCA first (as always, “so many books, so little time”)

  12. September 17, 2011 9:00 am

    I’ve ordered The Lantern from the library for the readalong. There is only 1 copy and 2 people ahead of me in the queue. Hopefully they’re fast readers so I get it in time.

  13. September 17, 2011 9:28 am

    Yay for tea and book photographs! A very diverse haul you have there.

  14. September 17, 2011 9:46 am

    Ooh, I just bought Sea of Poppies after hearing Ghosh talk about the sequel on the radio. Be interested to hear (no pun intended) what you think of the audio version. Sorry to hear you’re flaring. Hope it’s a short one.

    • September 18, 2011 8:17 pm

      I literally just began it last night, so I’m maybe 10 minutes into it (I was so tired, hehe), but so far so good. Narrator has a pleasant, deep voice, and can switch between accents/languages!

  15. September 18, 2011 9:31 am

    You are in for a treat with Sea of Poppies. Have not head of Candle for St. Jude. Like the sound of that one.

    • September 18, 2011 8:16 pm

      Sea of Poppies is a reread for me actually: I loved it the first time around and expect to love it more this time! :)

  16. September 18, 2011 8:23 pm

    What great finds! They all sound really good. I love that you picked up A Candle for St. Jude based on a blogger recommendation even though you have no idea what it’s about. Adds a little extra fun to starting a book!

  17. September 18, 2011 10:41 pm

    Eva, just wanted to let you know I’m doing Sea of Poppies for my current Reading Buddies book. I posted about the first half yesterday and will post about the rest in two weeks. I know you’re doing less typing, but if you’d like to come join in the discussion, you would be most welcome :-)

  18. September 19, 2011 9:08 am

    ‘An Eye for an Eye’ sounds like a really interesting premise. It puts me in mind a little of the books by William Ian Miller that I read during my MA about Old Norse literature. If my memory serves me correctly, he’s a modern lawyer who uses his experience to look at the legal systems and codes in the sagas and what light they shed on the stories. They might be worth a read if you’re interested in that sort of thing.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

