Skip to content

Library Loot: September 8th

September 9, 2011

Vlog

Covers

Titles Mentioned

  • Behind the Scenes at the Museum by Kate Atkinson
  • Mrs. Mallory Investigates by Hazel Holt
  • Death at Rainy Mountain by Mardi Oakley Medawar
  • The Story of Stuff by Annie Leonard
  • Nothing Left Over by Toinette Lippe
  • One day I will Write About this Place by Binyavanga Wainaina
  • Living, Loving, and Lying Awake at Night by Sindiwe Magona

See all the details via my LibraryThing collection!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2011 6:05 am

    I wonder if the original cover of Behind the Scenes is the one I am thinking off. With the girl on the swing? Good luck with your rereading project. I never get around to that. (Thistle looks gorgeous)

    • September 13, 2011 8:38 am

      I can’t remember the original cover, but I bet the UK version was better! ;) And thanks: I’m so excited all of her face fur is growing in so that she’s much fluffier/rounder looking. I don’t know what the rescue was thinking cutting her muzzle so short!

  2. September 9, 2011 6:23 am

    Luv the title One Day I Will Write about This Place…..

  3. September 9, 2011 11:07 am

    Oh I have both One Day I will Write… and Living, Loving… Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on both.

  4. September 9, 2011 11:50 am

    I LOVE the Mrs Malory series! As always, a lovely video. And dear, dear Thistle.

  5. September 9, 2011 12:38 pm

    Hope you enjoy Behind the Scenes... One of the reasons that I loved it so much was that it had guinea pigs in it and I had a big craze on GPs when I was a kid… Gps are not in that many books so this was a bit of a treat. :-}

    And yes, Thistle is adorable.
    liz

    • September 13, 2011 8:38 am

      That’s a fun reason! I loved Behind the Scenes when I read it back in high school: I’m curious to see what I’ll make of it this time around. :)

  6. September 9, 2011 12:47 pm

    I love the puppy! I’m so glad she worked out.

  7. September 9, 2011 1:42 pm

    Give Thistle a hug from me and enjoy your books!

  8. September 9, 2011 3:19 pm

    Behind the Scenes was my first Atkinson book and I really enjoyed it. I hope you do too! If so, I cannot recommend “Emotionally Weird” highly enough. So incredibly awesome. I think you’d enjoy it a lot!

    • September 13, 2011 8:39 am

      It’ll be a reread for me: loved it the first time I read it! It was my first book of hers too; I read Emotionally Weird in high school as well and also loved it. :D

  9. September 9, 2011 3:41 pm

    I would looooove to read Behind the Scenes at the Museum!!!! Always good to see your vlogs, Eva! I’m still committed to stunning you all with my TX accent one of these days with my own vlog. :)

  10. September 9, 2011 7:19 pm

    Nice haul! I am reading Kate Atkinson’s mystery series, which are very good. I am looking forward to what you think about Behind the Scenes at the Museum, which I’ve heard is very good. Somewhere on a book shelf i have a Mrs Mallory investigates mystery, too!

    Thistle is very cute too. :-)

  11. September 9, 2011 7:57 pm

    I’ll be looking forward to your thoughts about The Story of Stuff and Nothing Left Over. Living in a narrow, one room apartment makes me keenly aware of the tyranny of having too many things.

  12. September 10, 2011 2:25 pm

    I’ve been wanting to read The Story of Stuff. I love the little movie and have watched it online a number of times. I’m sure you’ve probably seen it, too…in fact, you may have even mentioned it in your vlog but I wouldn’t know because my computer is being a MAJOR PAIN IN THE BUTT and won’t play your vlog. Aaarrrrrgh.

    • September 13, 2011 8:40 am

      I forgot to mention the movie! Even though I’ve watched it. I shouldn’t do vlogs when I’m tired, hehe. And boo to your computer!

  13. September 10, 2011 8:13 pm

    I have not read any of them so I look forward to your thoughts!

  14. September 12, 2011 8:17 pm

    It’s nice that you have a few lighter reads amidst the non-fiction. After I’ve read a bunch of non-fiction I always need a break and something a little less intense. Enjoy all of your reads!

    • September 13, 2011 8:40 am

      I sometimes use nonfiction as my break from intense fiction! LOL

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

