Skip to content

Library Loot: September 2nd

September 2, 2011

Y’all, I must’ve had the settings different or something, but I promise when I recorded the video I did in fact have my entire head, and it was all in the frame. *sigh* But here you go, my library loot from the week! Despite it being a bit more than my recent hauls, you’ll be happy to know I’m still meeting my new goal of no more than thirty books total. ;)

Vlog (click through to view Yay, thanks to Kelly for pointing out that now Vimeo shows up in feed readers! Perhaps my head was just too large to be contained in a puny reader. ;) )


Covers (thanks to a screenshot from LT)

Titles Mentioned

  • Inside of a Dog by Alexandra Horowitz
  • Soul Murder by Andrew Nugent
  • Bethlehem Road Murder by Batya Gur
  • Rereading Women by Sandra M. Gilbert
  • The Good Muslim by Tahmima Anam
  • Hope, Human and Wild by Bill McKibben.
  • If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson.
  • Robbing the Bees by Holley Bishop
  • Cairo by Nezar AlSayyad

Get the details via my LibraryThing collection.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2011 5:39 pm

    I wanted to read Good Muslim too! and you have got 3 titles with the word “Murder” is that intentional? :)

  2. September 2, 2011 6:28 pm

    Oooh! Inside of a Dog has been on my list for a while. Enjoy, Eva!

  3. September 2, 2011 6:42 pm

    The Good Muslim and The Great Wide World both look intriguing to me.

  4. September 2, 2011 8:20 pm

    Actually, the video shows up in my feed reader now. I don’t have to click through to see it. Something changed along the way…

    Looks like a good pile of books. I have the same problem with Woodson. I read a bunch by her in 2009, I think, and then just stopped reading her. I must read something else by her soon.

  5. September 3, 2011 6:26 am

    I just got a copy of the Good Muslim — can’t wait to read it. Soul Murder also looks good.

  6. September 3, 2011 7:31 am

    wow, look at all those books!

  7. September 3, 2011 8:13 am

    If you enjoy Rereading Women you should read her most famous collection of essays. The Mad Woman in the Attic, it looks at the portrayal of women in 19th Century Literature, Jane Eyre etc.

  8. September 3, 2011 12:20 pm

    Oooh, I definitely couldn’t have left Rereading Women on the shelves! I read some of The Mad Woman in the Attic when I was a literature student, and it left a strong impression on me. Jane Eyre will never be the same again… Soul Murder sounds interesting – I’m fascinated by people in the monastic life who write fiction. I’ve never heard of Nugent though.

  9. September 3, 2011 1:04 pm

    Wonderful library loot, Eva! My favourite titles out of the ones you have got – ‘Rereading Women’ and ‘Cairo’. The title ‘Inside of a dog’ made me remember Groucho Marx’ quote – ‘Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend. Inside of a dog, it’s too dark to read’ :)

    Happy Reading!

  10. September 3, 2011 7:36 pm

    My Great Wide World by Juanita Harrison is the one that jumped out at me this week. Did you know that Larry McMurtry’s “odd shelf” (one of ’em, anyway) is “lady travelers”? I found that out when I read his book, Books.
    I recognized Sandra Gilbert’s name from my Women in Literature course. She and another Women’s Studies professor put together The Norton Anthology of Women’s Literature. It was a huge paperback with thin pages and I read it so obsessively and dog-eared and made notes that it didn’t hold up too many years. You’d have loved that gorgeous cover.

  11. September 3, 2011 11:33 pm

    OMG Thistle is so damn cute!!! And so are you :D I just love your new hair so much!! Great loot this week! I’ve really been wanting to read Robbing the Bees too….I just got another bee book, The Beekeeper’s Lament and it looks really good. I’ve been wanting to try some Woodson too…and that Hope book sounds really good. I’m with you…I could use some hope for the future! I haven’t forgotten about your email my dear! It’s just been a rough couple of weeks…but I’ll write you back soon :)

  12. September 4, 2011 4:07 pm

    If it makes you feel any better, you look totally adorable even with your head cut off. :) But sheesh, Eva, every darn one of those books sounds good! Guess I should be thankful that I have one of them–only leaves nine to potentially be added to the wish list, huh? :P

  13. September 5, 2011 9:08 am

    I loved all your books. I read A good Muslim a few days back and loved it (loved A Golden Age too). Hope you enjoy all your books

  14. September 5, 2011 12:39 pm

    Cairo: Historries of a City sounds quite promising. Since I’m thinking about starting a series on my blog called “Cairo Chronicles” I’m thinking I might have to check that book out as well.
    Murder at the Portland Variety sounds interesting since I live in Portland ! Might have to read that too.

  15. September 5, 2011 8:09 pm

    You have some great books on your list! I’m happy you liked Anam’s earlier novel; I have that one as well as The Good Muslim and am anxious to read them.

  16. September 6, 2011 5:07 am

    I really enjoyed The Good Muslim, but it’s best read after A Golden Age (I think you’ve read it.) And I’d love to take a peek at Re-reading Women! Hope you are well:)

  17. September 6, 2011 2:31 pm

    Yay – an Oregon book! :) It looks like you’ve got a lot of good choices there, and your doggy never stops being cute!

Trackbacks

  1. September 2011 Wrap-Up | live through books…

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

