Skip to content

Library Loot: August 2011

August 26, 2011

Because I haven’t done an LL post since July! :o

Vlog, in which I think the audio & visual are a bit out of sync, but I have no idea how that happened or how to fix it, so I can only apologise (feed readers, click through; those who want to see it larger, visit the Vimeo page):

Titles mentioned:
Maps for Lost Lovers by Nadeem Aslam
Shaming the Devil by Alan Jacobs
The Franchise Affair by Josephine Tey
The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers
We have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson
Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe
The Return of Captain John Emmett by Elizabeth Speller
Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
Ambiguous Adventure by Hamidou Kane
Waiting for the Wild Beasts to Vote by Ahmadou Kourouma
I, the Divine by Rabih Alameddine
Kassandra and the Wolf by Margarita Karapanou

41 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2011 7:58 am

    Your hair looks different every time I see your videos :) You look great and you have me intrigued by your books. A few of these books are on my Wishlist already. Hope you enjoy them all.

    the only one I’ve read is Things Fall Apart which I loved. oh and Rebecca too.

    • August 27, 2011 11:48 am

      Heehee: I’ve been fighting w it since it got so damaged from dying. Now I’ve decided to stick w my natural colour so it stays healthy! I’m keeping it short until it’s all natural again, so it should stay the same for the next year or so. ;)

  2. August 26, 2011 8:00 am

    Oh and I hope you can type again, not that we don’t enjoy watching your videos :)

  3. Louise permalink
    August 26, 2011 9:25 am

    I love your hair, it suits your face :-) I always love your eclectic taste of books, a great mix in your library loot!

  4. August 26, 2011 9:28 am

    I also think your hair looks lovely. Good choice.

    And good book selection. I can always count on you to get some titles that I have never heard of.

    Just wondering: why don’t you show the front covers any more? Some copyright deal?
    Just curious. Not critical at all.

    liz in texas

    • August 27, 2011 11:49 am

      Nope, no worries about copywright. It just takes a long time for me to put the covers together, which hurts my hands. But I’m going to try to remember to put them all in an LT group and then screen shot the covers to see if that works better. :)

  5. August 26, 2011 10:00 am

    I am curious about The Return of Captain John Emmett, but the library hasn’t bought a copy yet. I might have to suggest it.

  6. August 26, 2011 10:24 am

    Love the new haircut! ALSO Achebe! So happy to see that. Things Fall Apart isn’t my favorite by him but I hope you enjoy it. Lots of other fun books mentioned too. Hope you enjoy them.

    • August 27, 2011 11:49 am

      I enjoyed it when I first read it, which was ages ago! What’s your favourite novel by him?

      • August 28, 2011 8:46 am

        Hmm… Definitely Arrow of God – and it seems to be his best by consensus too. Kinna and Nana agreed ;) My second favorite by him is Man of the People. I’ve yet to read a lot of his works though.

      • August 28, 2011 8:46 am

        Glad to hear you enjoy Things Fall Apart too though. It is good just seems to turn some people off so I get worried when people read it first. Though should have known you’d not be one of them!

  7. August 26, 2011 10:50 am

    Your hair looks great! I keep checking We Have Always Lived in the Castle out from the library and then getting scared when I start to read it. I have zero tolerance for anything remotely scary and my definition of scary is pathetically broad. I, the Divine sounds amazing. Enjoy your loot!

    • August 27, 2011 11:50 am

      LOL It is quite scary (and I love scary books), so I can understand it might not be your cup of tea.

  8. August 26, 2011 11:22 am

    The only one there that I’ve read is Things Fall Apart, and that was many years ago but I remember liking it. Happy reading!

  9. August 26, 2011 12:28 pm

    Maps for Lost Lovers sounds really good. Your hair looks adorable!

  10. August 26, 2011 1:19 pm

    Love the hair! You definitely have some classics on your list this time around. Enjoy!

    • August 27, 2011 11:51 am

      It’s funny, because of my ereader the only classics I now check out from the library are either 20th century ones or translated!

  11. andilit permalink
    August 26, 2011 1:51 pm

    I really want to read We Have Always Lived in the Castle. Definitely moving it up the list. Thought of you yesterday when I took a huge bag of books home from the library. “I feel like Eve,” I thought.

    • August 27, 2011 11:52 am

      I’m all about forbidden fruit. ;) And I’m sure you rocked the giant bag of library books!

  12. andilit permalink
    August 26, 2011 1:51 pm

    Or rather, I felt like Eva, not like Eve – unless you secretly eat forbidden apples. :)

  13. August 26, 2011 2:00 pm

    Such the perfect library list! Always love to see what you’re reading, ‘though I don’t always leave a comment and I’m sorry for that. I know we all need encouragement. I certainly do.

    You’ve inspired me to leave my Library List on my blog today.
    Lots of hugs,

    Deborah/TheBookishDame
    http://abookishlibraria dot blogspot dot com

    • August 27, 2011 11:52 am

      Don’t worry about the frequency of comments: I don’t leave as many as I’d like to on other blogs! :)

  14. August 26, 2011 2:17 pm

    I love Maps for Lost Lovers, the British cover is gorgeous autumnal colours. And We Have Always Lived in the Castle and Rebecca – what a great reading selection! Enjoy x

  15. August 26, 2011 3:16 pm

    Good to see you back Eva! Sounds like you have some good things in your queue to look forward to. I love the Jackson and DuMaurier books and have reread them over and over again through the years. Enjoy all of your books!

  16. August 26, 2011 5:41 pm

    I JUST read Things Fall Apart and I absolutely loved it. Just wonderful.

    The only other one on your list I’ve read is Rebecca, which is also just lovely. :)

    And the new haircut is adorable! It really suits you!

  17. August 26, 2011 6:31 pm

    Wonderful books, Eva. I can’t wait to hear what you think of “Things Fall Apart”. It was the book that introduced me to world literature many years ago. As usual there are several books on your pile that I will add to my TBR list.

  18. August 26, 2011 7:37 pm

    Ooh, love your re-reading in September plan. I’ve been doing some re-reads for Frances’s Art of the Novella Challenge, and really enjoying it. I get so much more out of a book on the second (or third, or fourth) time through. Excited to read your thoughts on revisiting some favorites.

    And I hope your new prescriptions allow you to type freely again!

    PS – Also hope the narrator of your version of Rebecca is better than the one I once listened to, who took the wistful, nostalgic tone of that book WAY over the top. And can be a fan of wistful nostalgia, but this was out of control.

    • August 27, 2011 11:53 am

      I’ve actually just *changed* prescriptions, because it turns out my typing problems are not due ot fibro but due to another illness I apparently have (just diagnosed: sjogren’s, it’s an autoimmune one like rheumatoid arthritis). So let’s hope the steroids due their job! And boo to bad audiobook narrators.

  19. August 27, 2011 12:50 am

    I can’t watch your vlog right now, but every time I see Rebecca on someone’s list I have to say it’s one of my favourite reads! :D

    • August 27, 2011 11:54 am

      It’s one of my faves too! I’m going to reread it next month (since you can’t watch the vlog). :D

  20. August 27, 2011 1:23 am

    Have fun reading your library books. :) I’ve always wanted to read We Have Always Lived in the Castle, and you made it sound even more intriguing.

  21. Mrs. Chupchake @ definingmore permalink
    August 27, 2011 9:07 am

    Hi Eva,

    I’m new to the reading blogsphere but I had to comment. I found your blog yesterday and love the layout and the vlog. Your hair is pretty.

    I too like Rebecca.

    Enjoy your library loot :)

    • August 27, 2011 11:54 am

      Thanks for all the compliments! And welcome to the book blogosphere. :D Right now, your name is linking to a private blog…do you have a public book blog? If so, I’ll happily visit!

  22. August 27, 2011 10:11 am

    Some of those look really good! The only one I’ve red is Things Fall Apart, but now I really want to read Education of a British Protected Child.
    I really should look into ILLs. I’ve used them before for school research, but never for personal reading.

  23. August 27, 2011 11:55 am

    Thanks for the compliments on the haircut everyone! Makes me even happier about it! :D

  24. August 27, 2011 2:01 pm

    The Shirley Jackson is one of my absolute favorites! Also, love your new hairstyle! :)

  25. Ioana permalink
    August 27, 2011 4:53 pm

    It’s all your fault I want to start a blog of my own! :) Nice selections…’Rebecca’ has been on my list for a while now. My first encounter with Shirley Jackson was ‘The lottery’, waiting for your review to see if it’s worth it (worth not sleeping at night that is -major coward mode-). Nice haircut! Hope you manage to go back to your original hair color soon (that’s why I never dyed mine, low maintenance is OK in my book).

  26. August 28, 2011 6:26 am

    thanks for mention ,I mention waiting for wild beast other think kinna mention ,look forward to your reviews ,all the best stu

  27. September 1, 2011 7:45 pm

    I haven’t had good luck with Tey’s books, either. I want to like her, but I guess she’s not my style. Thistle looks pretty good for not having had a bath in ages. I’m jealous!

  28. September 2, 2011 4:10 pm

    OK, I pretty much want to read ALL of these. Grr, argh, not enough time!!

    • September 2, 2011 4:11 pm

      Ha! I meant to leave this comment on the Sunday Salon post! Sorry. But all of these too!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

