Skip to content

Remember me?

August 25, 2011


photo credit

Well, that lasted longer than expected, eh? In case crazy meds, a packed schedule of appointments, and a fibro flare-up weren’t enough, our modem also died. My mom always says bad things come in threes, and considering this month has also seen the death of our router and coma of our air conditioning (brought back to stuttering life at least until fall, when rates go down) she must be right! Fortunately, our moden has been fixed, and after a couple days of psyching myself up I’m ready to come back out of my burrow into the blogosphere. I can’t wait to see what everyone’s been up to: the almost seven hundred posts in my feed reader testify that not everyone has seen an August slump!

As for me, I’ve mainly been reading mysteries, with a couple slim nonfiction books thrown in. I do miss my usual more varied and challenging reading, but I’m just grateful that I can still enjoy comfort books. Today’s the first day my mind has felt clear, so perhaps I’ll be able to get back into my normal fare soon! In the meantime, I’m finding the novelty of reading one book at a time quite intriguing; it seems a good companion to my recent interest in downsizing my possessions. Many potential posts have been fermenting during my break; let’s hope I’ll be able to channel them into coherent, brief-ish (yes, my arms/wrists/hands have continued to protest much typing) paragraphs soon. Tomorrow I’ll be doing a Library Loot vlog, and with that I should be back on my loose schedule.

In the mean time, do fill me in if I missed anything big/fascinating/important!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 8:12 am

    Welcome back Eva!! I’ve missed you, as always :) Sorry to hear things have been hectic and crazy there but I’m glad things are mostly better. Nothing much new to report from me. Had a mini rant about sexual harassment in ya lit, am contemplating taking on a research project through next year (diversity stats in Canadian publishing, currently none are tracked). That’s about all :)

  2. August 25, 2011 8:32 am

    I’m glad to see you’re back. Hopefully things will settle down for a while.

  3. August 25, 2011 8:56 am

    Glad to see you back! Yay! Um… let’s see… I’ve moved back to school and my HP4 audiobook came in at the library today. My life is truly exciting.

  4. Liz permalink
    August 25, 2011 9:21 am

    Very glad to see you back! Welcome and hope things get a little easier for you. I can’t believe you were w/out AC in Texas. Yikes.

    I i have picked up a book you might like (and I don’t think you have read it, but who knows?). It’s called “Bury the Chains: Prophets and Rebels in the Fight to Free an Empire’s Slaves” by Adam Horschild. N-f (bien sur) and all about the movement in eighteenth century England to abolish slavery. Very very good and the author/former slave Olaudeh Equinao (you suggested his work) is mentioned a bunch of times (along w others). Anyhoo, think the book is good and up your alley…

    liz in texas

  5. August 25, 2011 10:00 am

    I’m glad to see a post from you today! I hope the new meds are working well and that you’re staying cool. :) Summer is a perfect time for reading mysteries – one year I read Sue Grafton’s alphabet mystery series from A through R in one summer!

  6. August 25, 2011 10:19 am

    Welcome back, Eva. Glad to know your three-fold summer disasters seem to be calming down. :-)

  7. August 25, 2011 10:45 am

    Hello! Hope you are feeling better! I’m looking forward to seeing what mysteries you’ve been reading:)

  8. August 25, 2011 11:02 am

    Yay, Eva! Condolences about your air conditioning. Looking forward to your vlog as always.

  9. August 25, 2011 11:11 am

    Lovely to see you back online. I miss seeing you around here.

  10. August 25, 2011 11:12 am

    Hi again! Hm, what is new with me? Not much. I love that little fox photo!

  11. August 25, 2011 11:37 am

    Glad you are back! Can’t wait to hear about what you’ve been reading. Like Chris I love the fox photo!

  12. August 25, 2011 12:37 pm

    Hurray! I’ve missed seeing you and your posts – glad you’re back!

  13. August 25, 2011 1:40 pm

    Maybe August is the month of modem death? Our modem died as well and we were internet free for a few days as a result, which you can imagine was torturous. I’ve certainly been in something of a slump though, so I can’t say that my lack of blog updates is due to the lack of capability so much as it is lack of content! :D Glad to hear you’re on the mend and bouncing back!

  14. Ioana permalink
    August 25, 2011 5:17 pm

    I also had problems with my router recently! What a coincidence. Totally relate to the need of comfort books. This week I’ve been so engrossed in the ‘Hunger games’ trilogy and I confess that now I’m commenting on your blog because there are a few chapters left from the last book and I don’t want them to end. Yes, yes, they’re not exactly serious, 18 century lit but a girl needs her contemporary YA lit from time to time (it’s getting harder to find good ones but the HG are actually good IMO). It’s great to see you posting again!

  15. August 25, 2011 6:15 pm

    Glad to see you’re back. Hope the AC and modem stay in good working order!

  16. August 25, 2011 7:05 pm

    Welcome back, Eva! The limping AC sounds HORRIBLE given the weather we’ve been having in Texas. I was in a car with spotty AC today, and it was cooler outside in the 106 degree heat than in the car. Sad, but true. :)

    Looking forward to your vlog!

  17. August 25, 2011 7:08 pm

    Welcome back, Eva!

  18. August 25, 2011 7:59 pm

    Nice to have you back… again ;)

    Not much has happenened in your absence – books have been read, posts have been written, people have twittered merrily away :)

    Oh yes, and I’m STILL stuck in German-literature land…

  19. August 25, 2011 8:29 pm

    I was just thinking about you the other day and hoping that you would be back soon. I’ve been reading mysteries as well lately and find myself immersed in Murder at the Vicarage by Agatha Christie. I just love her books and hopefully will read them all someday! I’m glad to hear that you are back!!

  20. August 25, 2011 8:52 pm

    Welcome back ! I’ve missed your posts ! Can’t wait to read more of them !

  21. August 26, 2011 12:34 am

    Our internet has been acting all kinds of crazy the last week or two, so maybe the internet just stinks everywhere! :)

    Nothing new is going on over here. I finally posted about Ceremony, which I LOVED. So glad you reviewed it and I picked up a copy. :)

  22. ana permalink
    August 26, 2011 1:22 am

    Welcome back, Eva! May September bring better weather and health. And internet access of course. We missed you.

  23. August 26, 2011 2:03 am

    Of course we remember you :) Sorry you’ve been so foggy lately, Eva :( I really wish they could find SOMETHING that really helped you. And good luck with that reading just one book thing :p I always seem to have like four going on these days, lol

  24. August 26, 2011 9:33 am

    So good to hear you’re feeling better, Eva. My comfort reading is also mysteries. I like that term ‘comfort reading’ much more than what I’ve been calling them – ‘snack food’. It really describes the whole experience so well.

    I ferment lots of posts when I’m occupied elsewhere but, alas, most never make it to my blog. I hope you do better than I, and I look forward to reading your posts.

  25. August 26, 2011 12:21 pm

    I’ve been trying to read less at once too. It feels nice. And I disappeared for a month too. The bloggisphere is quite forgiving :) hope you keep feeling well.

  26. August 28, 2011 3:48 pm

    Welcome back, Eva! I’m sorry to hear about all the disasters of the summer–especially the AC, the way the weather’s been. Hopefully everything will stay in working order for you and you can get back to enjoying your normal variety of books.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

