Skip to content

A Little Rest

August 7, 2011


photo credit

I know I just took a blogging break, but I suspect I’ll be taking another one. As regular readers know, I have fibromyalgia, a chronic illness that resides on the ‘whimsical and thus difficult to treat’ spectrum. I’ve had it since I was fifteen, but for the past two plus years, it’s been very difficult indeed. And about a week and a half ago, I began trying a new medicine, a recently released one aimed specifically at fibro. Unfortunately, it sometimes makes my moods, thoughts, and plans swing a bit manically; I can go from being full of energy and on top of the world to wanting nothing else but to curl up in my sweats with a big mug of tea and watch my favourite Netflix streaming options in the blink of an eye. Not to mention, I’m finding it a bit difficult to concentrate and think, so I can’t always read and/or blog at my usual level. It’s not as bad as it was when I first began; in fact, I’m feeling like myself more and more frequently as each day passes. So I hope it’s only the adjustment phase, and as such I’m going to be extra gentle with myself and let go of any external expectations or goals. Which means, my blogging will be idiosyncratic at best and nonexistent at worst for the next fortnight. And if my writing style seems a bit, erm, ditsy or fluttery or hyper or any number of similar adjectives (or, for that matter, thoughtlessly frank), now you know why. Honestly, it’s a bit frightening having strong chemicals fussing about with my nervous system, but let’s hope for the best. And in the meantime, well, thank the heavens for costume dramas and traditional mysteries! Not to mention understanding readers. ;)

43 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2011 6:51 am

    I hope it all settles down for you – if not, enjoy another rest (it’s OK to not blog too!) :)

  2. August 7, 2011 6:54 am

    I’m sure it’s no fun trying to get all this worked out, but here’s hoping that once your body adjusts the new meds will be a good long-term solution. Just do what you feel like doing blog-wise. Don’t push yourself!

  3. August 7, 2011 7:26 am

    I hope your body adjusts and the new medicine is just what you need to give you long term relief. My son has an auto-immune disorder so I know just how difficult, and scary, they are to treat.

  4. August 7, 2011 8:39 am

    All the best to you! Make sure you are taking care of yourself – the blogging and the reading can wait :-)

  5. Jillian ♣ permalink
    August 7, 2011 8:48 am

    Have a good rest, Eva. :-)

  6. August 7, 2011 8:53 am

    I hope things settle down soon, Eva! Enjoy the Netflix things.

  7. August 7, 2011 10:07 am

    Good luck with the new medication, I hope things even out soon!

  8. August 7, 2011 11:24 am

    Oh, Eva, new medicines can be so daunting sometimes! I hope you are right and that things continue to settle and that you find this medication to be an immense help to you! I don’t know if it’s streaming any more, but you need to find Downton Abbey. And another totally comforting miniseries is Lark Rise to Candleford.

    Feel better and know we are all rooting for you!

  9. August 7, 2011 12:01 pm

    Good luck, Eva! I hope the new medication works out.

  10. August 7, 2011 1:26 pm

    Good luck with the new meds! Here’s hoping that once your system gets used to them that they prove very helpful. :)

  11. August 7, 2011 1:31 pm

    Take it easy and good luck with the new medication.

  12. August 7, 2011 3:08 pm

    I’m glad to hear you are slowly getting better on the new medicine, and I hope that trend continues. In the mean time, feel better, and whenever you can write, we are happy to read you, but no pressure!

  13. Ioana permalink
    August 7, 2011 3:33 pm

    It’s good to read about the new medicine! Hope you’ll feel great in the future and you made a good decision to just rest, your health is more important than anything. Oh, I’m currently discovering Jane Austen and wanted to say thanks for convincing me (albeit indirectly) through your writing that it was worth reading her. I’m so hooked I keep wondering why I haven’t done it earlier (it was probably a bad translation from the original language that turned me off years ago). Good luck and we’ll be waiting patiently for your return!

  14. August 7, 2011 3:37 pm

    I’m thinking of you. I’m so glad to think there may be a medicine that helps – and of course there’s a period of adjustment. Sigh. But you’re doing exactly the right thing to take it easy and refuse any sort of pressure or expectation on yourself. Take very great care and be gentle. And get better soon! Hugs.

  15. August 7, 2011 4:05 pm

    Just take care of yourself, and I hope the new medication works out.

  16. August 7, 2011 4:12 pm

    I hope this new medication works for you and you get back to feeling like yourself soon. In the meantime, I understand your need for a break. Take care, and enjoy the costume dramas and mysteries–always wonderful to relax with.

  17. August 7, 2011 5:15 pm

    Be gentle with yourself and feel better soon.

  18. August 7, 2011 6:14 pm

    I hope you adjust quickly and that the new meds are just what you need to have longer periods of remission. Hang in there – we’re here when you feel up to it!

  19. August 7, 2011 7:52 pm

    Just take care of yourself, Eva! Hope you’ll find a lot of rest and good books.

  20. August 7, 2011 8:20 pm

    I so hope that this medication will eventually be able to make huge improvements in your quality of life, Eva. Goodness knows you deserve it!!! I think you’re incredibly wise to be freeing yourself of any pressures during this time of adjustment. And I so hope the side effects pass–I have much more than a passing acquaintance with nausea and I hate that this medication is giving you new things to deal with. In the end, I hope it will be your miracle drug though. :) In the meantime, pamper yourself, okay? *hugs*

  21. August 7, 2011 11:29 pm

    Good luck with the new medication! Hope it works out for you. Also, I’ve been following your a/c adventures via Twitter, hope you find some relief from the heat soon!

  22. August 8, 2011 6:34 am

    I hope you are feeling better soon! In the meantime, get your rest and relaxation time in. :)

  23. August 8, 2011 2:05 pm

    Get some good rest and don’t worry about taking a break! Relax! Hope you feel a billion times better whenever you return.

  24. August 8, 2011 3:00 pm

    Take care Eva. I think it is wise to allow yourself whatever time you need and not put any unnecessary expectations on yourself. I look forward to seeing you back here when you are ready and able.

  25. August 8, 2011 3:27 pm

    Definitely hoping for the best for you, dearest Eva!

  26. August 8, 2011 5:07 pm

    Good luck!

  27. August 9, 2011 9:55 am

    Oh, Eva, I didn’t know you got this so young. Do be gentle with yourself. The Netflix streaming is such a wonderful thing, and perfect for when you feel like that.

  28. August 9, 2011 10:08 am

    take it easy Eva, hope to see you blogging and well soon :)

  29. August 9, 2011 3:33 pm

    Chronic and unpredictably illnesses are so frustrating! I have IBS (which I’m sure is what all docs say when they come up against the symptoms but can’t find anything else) and can go days (but not often, weeks) with being fine and other times I can’t go far.

    I do hope your body settles with the new meds. Take care.

  30. August 9, 2011 5:48 pm

    Hoping for the BEST, Sweetie!

  31. August 9, 2011 6:31 pm

    Enjoy your rest and I hope you feel better. <3

  32. August 9, 2011 6:40 pm

    Big hugs, I know (second-hand) how hard invisible diseases are. I hope your new meds help you. Be gentle with yourself!

  33. August 10, 2011 12:54 pm

    All the best from this side of the world, Eva! We’ll be here when you return. Take care of yourself!

  34. August 10, 2011 1:18 pm

    I sincerely hope that this medication helps with your fibro and that you’re feeling loads better soon!

  35. August 10, 2011 6:51 pm

    All the best Eva. I’m sending lots of positive thoughts your way in hopes that things go well. Thinking of you!

  36. August 11, 2011 11:10 am

    hope it settles down soon Eva ,all the best stu

  37. August 12, 2011 7:52 am

    Having my own share of stress, and the beginning of the school year which requires so very much energy for me, I understand a tiny bit of your situation. I underscore tiny, as pain and medication make things much more difficult. At any rate, shall we just say we’ll post on Mathilda by the end of August? I want to free you up to read when you’re able. I’ll be sure to link to you, dear Eva, when I put up my post (which would be after I find time to read the novella) sometime around the 20th of August.

  38. August 12, 2011 11:35 pm

    So sorry this is proving difficult for you. I hope you are feeling better soon and that the new medication will work for you! It would be maddening to be at the mercy of an illness like this, but it sounds like you are dealing with it all very well! Isn’t Netflix the best with their streaming videos–it is very addictive and I’m glad to hear it offers some distraction for you. Take care of yourself!

  39. Jodie permalink
    August 16, 2011 6:00 am

    Oh I know what you mean about medication and chemicals rushing around being a scary thing, but if they work then bless them all. Good luck working through this difficult period.

  40. August 21, 2011 6:33 pm

    Eva,
    I’m sure that you know that aspartame (and other artificial sweetners) are a horrible trigger for some fibro sufferers. Avoiding these has made a huge difference(I feel so much better) in my symptoms. It’s hard though because they are lurking everywhere :). Good Luck and I hope the new med works!

  41. August 24, 2011 11:06 am

    I hope you are starting to adjust to the medicine and that things become more balanced soon on the ups and downs front. Sorry for my late comment, but I’m thinking of you nonetheless.

  42. August 31, 2011 4:39 pm

    This is a bit belated but I entirely sympathise and hope the flare has settled down again.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

