Skip to content

The Ever-Lasting Present

August 6, 2011


photo credit

Indeed what reading teaches, first and foremost, is how to sit still for long periods and confront time head-on. The dynamism is all inside, an exalted, spiritual exercise so utterly engaging that we forgot time and mortality along with all of life’s lesser woes, and simply bask in the ever-lasting present.

-Lynne Sharon Schwartz, Ruined by Reading

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2011 10:26 am

    Reading as a means of immortality….I like it!

  2. August 6, 2011 10:27 am

    hmm, I find that when I bask in the ever-lasting present, I look up and time has passed!

  3. August 6, 2011 12:09 pm

    It is wonderful to get lost in a book!

  4. August 6, 2011 3:59 pm

    I have to find the book your quote is from! I love the title: Ruined by Reading.

  5. August 6, 2011 7:55 pm

    Lovely quote! Reading develops our capacity to slow down and to absorb information — vital for critical thinking.

  6. August 6, 2011 8:57 pm

    Now, if I just had the time – my present seems far from everlasting…

  7. August 8, 2011 5:18 am

    Oh, man, I seriously love this quote! A good one heading in to a Monday…

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

