Skip to content

Library Loot: July 20th to 26th

July 22, 2011

Vlog (Feed readers have to click through: sorry about that! Also, thanks to Bianca’s much better capabilities, you can see the video in larger format on vimeo. Just in case you’ve been dreaming of seeing my head almost-life-size. j/k)

Covers (screenshot from LT)

Titles Mentioned

  • Death’s Favorite Child by Frankie Y. Bailey
  • The Ventriloquist’s Tale by Pauline Melville
  • The Sound of Butterflies by Rachael King
  • Imagined London by Anna Quindlen

See them all in a LibraryThing Collection.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2011 8:58 am

    I know I read Imagined London five or six years ago but I can’t for the life of me remember what I thought of it. I’d actually been considering reading it again since I’m in the midst of planning a trip there in September but maybe I’ll wait to hear what you think of it. The Sound of Butterflies sounds intriguing! I can’t resist books about amateur naturalists.

    Enjoy your loot! I really admire your determination to work through all the items you already have checked out. And, on a completely unrelated note, I love the map on your wall.

    • July 22, 2011 3:44 pm

      Thanks! I got it for only $8 at Barnes & Noble last fall (and it wasn’t even on sale…that’s it’s listed price).

  2. July 22, 2011 10:48 am

    Fun as always! I had pretty much stopped using the library in order to concentrate on my own books, but I have started using it a bit lately… As long as I continue to read my own books, I will keep it up, but when the library starts taking over I will have to stop again!

    • July 22, 2011 3:45 pm

      I prefer reading library books to books I own, lol, but it’s silly for me to be cycling through holds w/o reading the books!

  3. July 22, 2011 12:22 pm

    Imagined London looks so good! I love the color of your room.

  4. July 22, 2011 1:02 pm

    Good luck with your plan to read more of the books you’ve already got out. I hope it works out well!

  5. July 22, 2011 1:41 pm

    I’m most interested in the one by Quindlen. I hope to go to London next summer and actually spend time there, as opposed to flying through London to go someplace else.

  6. July 22, 2011 4:08 pm

    I like your new location! And the lighting was very good. And the map on the wall is cool (especially against that nice green color). :)

    • August 1, 2011 8:37 pm

      Thanks! I’ve had a map on my wall in every bedroom I’ve had for ages now, but this is definitely my favourite map! And I just randomly stumbled across it at B&N: yay for serendipity.

  7. July 22, 2011 6:06 pm

    I read Quindlen’s recent New York Times bestseller and was a bit disconcerted by it. I wouldn’t mind reading Imagined London, though.

  8. July 22, 2011 10:10 pm

    I love the map and the hat behind you in your video! It is tough to balance library books and the growing stack of our own books. I struggle with this every week. Good luck on getting them read.

  9. July 22, 2011 10:59 pm

    I look forward to your thoughts on Imagined London. I haven’t had great luck with Quindlen in the past, but the concept of this book is so interesting, I really want it to work.

    • August 1, 2011 8:32 pm

      I’m with you: I didn’t get along terribly well w her book about books, but I really want to love this one!

  10. July 23, 2011 4:51 am

    Oooh! I’m looking forward to hearing more about your desk! (I like desks.) I’ve had “The Sound of Butterflies” on my TBR pile for some time now. I hope you’ll enjoy it! You’re already making me want to bump it up! ^-^

    Totally random, but I love what you did with your hair here. ^-^ So pretty! I hope that your willpower will hold out and that you’ll get the books you wanted to read read! ^-^ Every time I hear you talk about your library, it sounds like bookish paradise, so it’s also nice to hear a little more about how it might not be absolutely glorious.

    • August 1, 2011 8:35 pm

      Thanks Shanra! It was SO easy; since we’ve been over 100 degrees for ages now, I’m looking for some new easy updos. lol

      My library is pretty wonderful, but sometimes I definitely go overboard! Oh, and the late fines for DVDs are ridiculous: $2 a day. Hope that makes you feel better! ;)

  11. July 23, 2011 2:19 pm

    Nice library loot, Eva! My favourite title is ‘The Sound of Butterflies’. I loved the part of the vlog between 3.40 and 3.47 :)

    Happy Reading!

  12. July 25, 2011 4:49 am

    I think I’m going to start limiting my library intake, too. I’ve overextended myself these past few weeks. Library books are just so… so… free. I can’t resist them.

    Also, I’m with you on the cover for DEATH’S FAVOURITE CHILD. That cover doesn’t belong any further on in the timestream than, say, 1994. And even in 1994, it’d have been hella dated.

    • August 1, 2011 8:36 pm

      >>Library books are just so… so… free. I can’t resist them.

      Word.

      Also, I read Death’s Favourite Child, and unfortunately I should have judged it by its cover. *sigh*

  13. July 25, 2011 2:14 pm

    I love your new backdrop.

  14. July 28, 2011 4:53 pm

    OK, and how much do I love little Thistle on your lap?!

  15. August 14, 2011 5:00 pm

    Oh Eva, this made me smile so much, thank you. I loved your comments about the cover of Deaths Favourite Child, I was giggling away. Perfect way to end half of my ‘bloggers catch up’ which seems to be taking a zillion years. That cover has got to be one of the worst I have seen in a while, and you are right, its inexcusable considering it was only published in 2000.

    Thank you so much.

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot: July 27 – August 2 « The Captive Reader

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

