Skip to content

Library Loot: July 13th to 19th

July 15, 2011

I had been up for too long when I recorded my vlog yesterday, but I promise you I was sober. Just easily distracted. ;) But look! For the first time ever, I’m not pixelated! Woohoo!
Vlog (it doesn’t show up in feed readers, so click through to watch!):

Titles mentioned:

  • A Midwife’s Tale by Laurel Thatcher Ulrich
  • The Book of Tea by Okakura Kakuzo
  • Seeing Voices by Oliver Sacks
  • The Iron Cage by Rashid Khalidi
  • Still Life by Antonia Byatt
  • In My Father’s House by Kwame Anthony Appiah
  • A Spell of Winter by Helen Dunmore
  • The Boy Next Door by Irene Sabatini
  • Black Water Rising by Attica Locke
  • Shakespeare After All by Marjorie Garber
  • Riddled with Life by Marlene Zuk
  • The Book of the City of Ladies by Christine de Piza
  • A Writer’s House in Wales by Jan Morris
  • So Far from God by Ana Castillo
  • A Novel Bookstore by Laurence Cossé
  • Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal
  • Annabel by Kathleen Winter
  • Elective Affinities by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
  • The Edible Woman by Margaret Atwood
  • Tolstoy and the Purple Chair by Nina Sankovitch
  • The Tenderness of Wolves by Stef Penney
  • Destiny Disrupted by Tamim Ansary

See them all with pretty covers, publisher info, etc. in a LibraryThing collection!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 8:06 am

    As always, fantastic looking collection. I’ve only read Annabel from that list but quite enjoyed it. Hmmm… I can’t decide if I think it would be one that you would like or not. Possibly ;)

    • July 18, 2011 6:44 am

      Lol! I remember wanting to read it after seeing your post, so I think I will. ;)

  2. July 15, 2011 9:04 am

    Wow, big difference with Bianca’s camera as opposed to your old one – it’s wonderful to be able to see both you and the books clearly and at the same time! I’ll be interested to hear what you think of Tolstoy and the Purple Chair. I have heard no-so-great things about it but nothing from anyone whose judgement I really trust. Destiny Disrupted hs been on my TBR list since I read Maphead’s review too so I hope you enjoy it!

    • July 18, 2011 6:45 am

      I know! Except I kept forgetting I didn’t have to hold the book right in front of my face. lol

  3. July 15, 2011 9:31 am

    Lots of good looking books there! I really want to read Annabel and The Tenderness of Wolves, but I haven’t got around to either of them yet. I am kind of curious about Shades of Milk & Honey. Hopefully you get to that one so you can tell me if it is worth reading.

  4. July 15, 2011 10:50 am

    I’m always amazed at your lists of books! Tolstoy and the Purple Chair is on my wish list.

  5. July 15, 2011 10:58 am

    Nice video quality! And congratulations on Bianca! I picked up A Novel Bookstore fairly recently. There was a whole display of Europa books and they all looked so intriguing to me. I hope I like it. Great list of books this week (as always) :)

  6. July 15, 2011 3:31 pm

    Lovely loot! I read Annabel a few weeks ago & totally loved it. I’ve been meaning to write a review of it ever since, but being on vacation has kind of distracted me from blogging. :) Maybe I’ll get the review done tomorrow.
    I also read Edible Woman long time ago. Not one of my favorite Atwoods, but an ok read.

    Now I’ll go and check if my library has some of the books you mentioned…

    And the quality of the video is really great! :)

  7. July 15, 2011 5:27 pm

    Lovely video. I’ve read several of the books in your library haul and am curious to see what you think of them. And you have me wanting to read something by Laurel Thatcher Ulrich.

    • July 18, 2011 6:45 am

      She’s wonderful! I can’t recommend Age of Homespun highly enough. :D

  8. July 16, 2011 5:56 am

    I am in awe of your book list! I can’t wait to hear what you think of these books, just seeing this video has made me want to read at least half of them. No I lie. Pretty much all of them. Happy reading!

  9. July 16, 2011 12:14 pm

    I finished Annabel not so long ago and thought the gender politics were a little…unsophisticated, so I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it. I;ve also read The Girl Next Door by Irene Sabatini and really enjoyed it. Oh, and A Spell of Winter is one of my very favourite books – I think it’s set in England though, and I’m pretty sure Dunmore is a Brit. Not entirely certain thought I’m definitely adding A Midwife’s Tale to my wishlist, and Shades of Milk and Honey sounds interesting.

    I’ve spent years wondering how to pronouce Goethe, but I was reliably informed a little while ago that it is gurt-er to rhyme with hurter. :-)

    • July 18, 2011 6:48 am

      Ohhh: that’s the first neg thing I’ve heard about Annabel. Thanks for setting me straight on Dunmore; I was confusing her w Helen Humphreys. Thanks also for the Goethe pronunciation: I never would’ve guessed that! Also, if you haven’t read Age of Homespun (by Laurel Thatcher Ulrich), it’s wonderfully good.

  10. July 16, 2011 1:26 pm

    wpnderful selection ,don;t think I ve read any of these look forward to your thoughts ,all the best stu

  11. July 16, 2011 4:06 pm

    I listened to/watched this vlog in the same room as my partner and he was very impressed with your selection of The Book of Tea, which is one of his all-time favorite books. I have yet to read it but he says it’s definitely not to be missed, so it’s probably in my near future. Will be curious about your thoughts!

    I’m also curious about the Ulrich title, which I hadn’t heard of, and will be interested in your reaction to the Atwood, which was maybe my least favorite of the handful of hers I’ve read. She’s very hit-and-miss for me, though, and I know many folks love her more reliably.

    Lastly, if you haven’t checked out Marjorie Garber’s books on bisexuality (Bisexuality and the Eroticism of Everyday Life) and cross-dressing (Vested Interests), I bet you would find them interesting. I don’t agree with her on all points (she gets a little over-the-top psychoanalytical at times), but I do think she’s a really smart & engaging writer.

    • July 18, 2011 6:50 am

      Thanks to your comment, I picked up The Book of Tea yesterday. It was wonderful, and I loved, loved, loved it. Want a copy for my shelves in fact. Obviously, your partner has excellent taste. ;)

      Not to sound like a broken record, but if you haven’t read any Ulrich before, I read Age of Homespun a couple years ago and loved it. (I’m sure I’ll love this one too.) I’ve read I think 5 or 6 Atwoods now, and there’s only one I didn’t love (Cat’s Eye), so I hope I get along w Edible Woman better than you.

      And my library has both those Garber books: I was planning on reading one of them as my next experience with her! Thanks for confirming that. :D

      • July 19, 2011 2:07 am

        YES, I loved loved loved The Age of Homespun myself but as of yet that’s the only Ulrich I’ve read. So glad you enjoyed The Book of Tea—between you and David it’s obvious I must pick it up soon!

  12. July 16, 2011 5:02 pm

    I’ve been wanting to read Shades of Milk and Honey every since I saw that it was listed as in the running for the Nebula Award….or some award that caused this book to catch my eye. It sounds really interesting and I’ll be looking forward to hearing your thoughts if you read it. Enjoy your loot!

  13. ana permalink
    July 16, 2011 10:19 pm

    You made me smile with your comment on German pronunciation, Eva. It took me back to reading Once in a House on Fire by Andrea Ashworth. It is a memoir set in Manchester Uk in the seventies. She writes so very well and is such a fine book. She has a Goethe moment too which I’ve always remembered fondly. If you can get it as one of your inter library loans you won’t be disappointed.

    I did read Annabel too and found it quite thought provoking. Will be very interested in your review.

    The new camera works so well. Excellent to be able to see you and the books simultaneously!! You Thistle and Bianca will be a winning team.

    • July 18, 2011 6:51 am

      Thanks for the rec! I’ll try to ILL it. :)

  14. July 22, 2011 10:53 pm

    I have A Novel Bookstore and Destiny Disrupted on my to-read list as well, though I think I’m more enthusiastic about reading the latter. Unfortunately, my library doesn’t have a copy yet but they plan to purchase/process one soon.

    The Boy Next Door sounds intriguing, onto the to-read list it goes. :)

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot: February 29 – March 6 « The Captive Reader

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

