Skip to content

Introducing Bianca

July 12, 2011


This post is brought to you by…my new Macbook Bianca! Isn’t she lovely? I expect blogging shall be even more fun now, although there will probably be a bit of a learning curve. ;)

Tell me, Apple-ites, any good tips for a newbie?

48 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2011 5:39 pm

    Woohooo!!! Congrats. She’s beautiful. :)

  2. July 12, 2011 5:39 pm

    Congratulations!! Learn all the different ways to scroll and swipe. I love two finger scrolling!

    • July 14, 2011 12:40 pm

      Ohhh: thanks! I was trying to figure out how to scroll, lol.

  3. July 12, 2011 5:42 pm

    Congrats! I’m a PC user still so I got no tips, but I hope it goes well :)

  4. July 12, 2011 5:43 pm

    You’re so presh! I love this pic.

  5. July 12, 2011 5:46 pm

    Congrats! Gorgeous picture by the way. Love the outfit, hair and the whole composition. Lovely.

    • July 14, 2011 12:40 pm

      Thanks Carl! I wish it was better in focus, but using a self-timer w no manual focus, it’s really luck of the draw. lol

  6. July 12, 2011 5:48 pm

    Congrats! Hope you two have a long, happy relationship! :D

  7. Susan in TX permalink
    July 12, 2011 5:56 pm

    Once you go Mac, you’ll never go back! :) My one word of advice, mainly for your fibro, is to use a lap desk, or even just a clipboard between you and the laptop. I deal with RA, and if I don’t put something between my legs and the battery, I definitely feel it after I’ve spent some time on my MacBook Air. The same was true of my Powerbook. Enjoy! (It’s also worth it to go to a free tutorial session at the Apple store.)

  8. July 12, 2011 5:57 pm

    I know you have trouble typing: I highly recommend trying Dragon Dictation. It is really awesome! Several authors (Richard Powers among them) do all of their writing just by talking to their Mac.

    Enjoy!

  9. July 12, 2011 6:05 pm

    Congratulations, Eva!! So exciting.

    I second BermudaOnion’s recommendation to learn the “gestures” commands built into the trackpad. I use two-finger scrolling constantly, as well as the 4-finger up-sweep (that sweeps all your windows away and shows you your desktop). The 4-finger down-sweep (shows you miniature versions of all open windows) is super useful too. If you get the urge to do end-of-year stats, Numbers (the Excel replacement) has some excellent graph-making capabilities. Have fun, lady!

    • July 14, 2011 12:41 pm

      Do not tempt me w graphs! I’m too nerdy as it is. :p

  10. July 12, 2011 6:21 pm

    that’s great! I love my macbook – though admittedly I mainly use my PC for blogging since that’s were all my photos and files are saved. One of these days I’ll make the full conversion. Enjoy!

  11. July 12, 2011 7:14 pm

    What a lovely picture! Enjoy!

  12. July 12, 2011 7:20 pm

    I am a lifelong Mac user so I feel like I have no tips as everything is second-nature to me now. But I feel like that is the joy of a Mac: so intuitive and user-friendly and RELIABLE. You will love Bianca!

  13. July 12, 2011 7:22 pm

    A new computer, how fun! I’m a PC user so no tips, but do enjoy!

  14. July 12, 2011 8:02 pm

    How exciting! Congratulations!

  15. July 12, 2011 8:17 pm

    Congratulations! PS–She’s twice your size!

  16. July 12, 2011 8:23 pm

    Absolutely lovely! I’m hoping to get a new laptop in the near future and I am seriously considering an Apple. Hope you enjoy!

    • July 14, 2011 12:42 pm

      I’d definitely recommend you consider it seriously! I’m shocked at how much more straight-forward it is than a new PC; it literally worked right out of the box. :D And the battery life is crazy awesome!

  17. July 12, 2011 8:28 pm

    That’s great on your new computer. Enjoy!

  18. July 12, 2011 9:18 pm

    Congratulations Eva. I have a MacBook Pro and I love it. You will never want another PC after using your Mac!

    • July 14, 2011 12:43 pm

      Yep, I’ve already told Bianca she better live to be a grand old lady, because I don’t want another PC. ;)

  19. July 12, 2011 10:52 pm

    Very exciting. I’m typing away on a cheap Toshiba so I have no tips. Just have a good time.

    • July 14, 2011 12:43 pm

      My old computer was a cheap Toshiba that finally just refused to turn on. But Apple will recycle it for free at least. ;)

  20. July 13, 2011 12:40 am

    Congratulations – I moved to a Mac over five years ago, and I can’t think of using a Windows computer anymore (at home).

    There are scores of multitouch functions which you should try and make use of. Scrolling using two fingers, and seeing all the open windows you have using four fingers (just swiping down on the trackpad, without actually pressing down). It’s amazing… I keep trying to do that work, and when I can’t, I’m like… oh no.

  21. July 13, 2011 12:59 am

    How fun! I’m pretty certain that I’m making the switch back to a Mac now too. I started on a Mac when I was a kid, switched to PCs in college but now I think I’m ready to change back! I’ve been using my husband’s MacBook Air sometimes while my computer is busy dying and I’ve enjoyed it.

    One fun thing, a two finger tap does a right click! It’s better than trying to get down into the corner to click.

    • July 14, 2011 12:44 pm

      LOL @ the phrase “my computer is busy dying!” My old one spent half its life dying. :(

  22. July 13, 2011 7:00 am

    Enjoy! I have a Mac and don’t think it is as intuitive as people keep saying but I didn’t have much problem at all adjusting. Get to know your control and command keys and you’ll be fine? (reading all these comments is actually teaching me a few things. What is this two-finger-tap to do a rt click??? I know not this trick!!) I need to find a book on the Page and Numbers applications because they don’t behave at all like I want them to – I still can’t figure out how to format a doc. That’s me being too lazy to sit through the tutorial videos at Apple.com) I’ll probably come to YOU for questions in 6 months! :)

    • July 14, 2011 12:45 pm

      I’m finding it pretty intuitive, but it probably helps that I’ve used friends’ Macs before! I never really do docs, so that’s probably why I’m finding it easier to adjust, lol.

  23. July 13, 2011 7:54 am

    I adore my macbook and I hope you will too! I’d recommend taking advantage of all mac’s user friendly systems for keeping track of photos and files. Everything is so easy to use, it makes my life simpler.

    • July 14, 2011 12:46 pm

      Ohhh: that’s exciting! I love taking photos and have way too many. ;)

  24. July 13, 2011 9:48 am

    Awesome Eva! I’ve been a mac user for almost a year and won’t be going back to pc. as for tips…i’m learning from your other commenters. i didn’t know about the 2 and 4 finger swipes. :)

    have fun with bianca!

  25. July 13, 2011 10:29 am

    Conratulations, Eva, you and Bianca are lovely together!

  26. July 13, 2011 11:30 am

    I’m a PC user so no tips.

    get yourself a laptop stand it’ll help circulate air to the fans and prolong the life

  27. July 14, 2011 3:38 pm

    I don’t have a Macbook but I have a iCube desktop which I LOVE. Never going back to PC (although my laptop is still a PC). Enjoy!

  28. July 14, 2011 7:01 pm

    Hahaha, your Macbook appears to be about the same size as you are. This is your first Mac? I feel like I should switch to Mac but I feel like I can’t be bothered relearning an entire new operating system after many years of Windows use. I am lazy that way. Also because Macs are expensive and I am very poor.

    • July 18, 2011 4:53 am

      Yes it is! The os is pretty easy to learn, but I get the poor thing. I got the cheapest option and it was still $1K. I comfort myself that it should last a lot longer than a PC, so I’ll still be getting my money’s worth.

  29. July 14, 2011 7:54 pm

    Eva, you are too adorable for words. Congratulations on Bianca. I just got an iMac a couple of months ago and I adore it. I know I won’t be going back to a PC. The only thing I had to do when I got mine was fix my mouse to have two buttons, but since you got a laptop, you don’t have to worry about that! Enjoy her!

  30. July 14, 2011 9:46 pm

    She is quite lovely ! And the new laptop looks great too !
    -m

  31. July 14, 2011 11:51 pm

    Crispin (my MacBook Pro) and I offer up our congratulations! We’re still figuring each other out (especially delete vs fn – delete…I can never remember which one does what) when I want to backspace). However, I forgive him lots because his battery life rocks! Although I’m convinced the M key is an upside down W.

    • July 18, 2011 4:51 am

      I didn’t realise you could fn + delete to get delete! I thought you were just stuck with backspace, lol. I just discovered yesterday there’s no card reader. :o

  32. July 16, 2011 1:27 pm

    have fun together eva ,i m a pc guy but would love a mac one day ,all the best stu

  33. July 17, 2011 7:51 am

    Oooh, I’d love to have a Macbook. Hello, Bianca! Be good for Eva! :D

  34. July 18, 2011 4:48 am

    Congratulations Eva! Bianca looks cool! I love the fact that you give beautiful names! How is your beautiful friend Hettie doing? :)

    • July 18, 2011 4:51 am

      Hettie got a flat actually! So I have to replace the intertube. But TX summer is like winter in other places, in that it makes it impossible to be outside without health risk for a lot of the day. So I was only riding her during the early, early morning (I would go to the park w/in a mile form home with Thistle). Still, I need to fix her poor back tire!

  35. July 19, 2011 3:47 pm

    I’ve been an Apple convert for the last two years and I absolutely love my macbook:)

  36. July 21, 2011 11:48 am

    Welcome to the Mac family! I had to start using a Mac for work over 4 years ago and almost immediately my home pc fell into disuse. Now hubby and I each have our own MacBooks in addition to our work ones. Over Christmas break, when we both had to work from home for a couple days, we had 4 MacBooks in the house lol.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

