Skip to content

Library Loot: July 6th to 12th

July 8, 2011

This is so late in the day! But trust me, I wasn’t up to recording a video yesterday and then I slept like fifteen hours, so I got it recorded as soon as I could. ;) (Update: just the small amount of typing I did for this post is making my arm rage against me, so my radio silence might last a few more days. *sigh*)

Vlog (feed readers remember to click through!):

Titles Mentioned:

  • The Little Friend by Donna Tartt
  • The Summer Book by Tove Jansson
  • Among Others by Jo Walton
  • The Black Sheep by Honore de Balzac
  • Amrita by Banana Yoshimoto
  • Lord Hornblower by by C.S. Forester
  • Echoes from the Dead by Johan Theorin
  • The Shortest Way to Hades by Sarah Caudwell
  • On Black Sisters Street by Chika Unigwe
  • Reading Is My Window by Megan Sweeney
  • The Day Lasts More than a Hundred Years by Chingiz Aitmatov
  • Now Is the Time to Open Your Heart by Alice Walker
  • The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything by James Martin (forgot to mention, but it’s on my Nook!)
  • Red River by Lalita Tademy
  • Henry V by Shakespeare
  • Murder Being Once Done by Ruth Rendell
  • Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison
  • The Vagrants by Yiyun Li
  • The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Jostova
  • Defend the Realm by Christopher Andrew
  • Read My Pins by Madeline Albright
  • Physics of the Impossible by Michio Kaku

See all the details and pretty covers via my LibraryThing Collection!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2011 5:40 pm

    I really enjoyed The Swan Thieves and hope you do too.

  2. July 8, 2011 6:04 pm

    Oh The Summer Book is so wonderful! It’s been years since I read any of the Hornblower books but they were a solid summer reading staple through my early teens – I always equate adventure stories with warm weather for some reason. I still haven’t read anything by Jo Walton, though Tooth and Claw is definitely on my TBR, so I’ll be interested to hear what you think of Among Others. I hope you enjoy everything and are able to rest up!

  3. Sarah permalink
    July 8, 2011 6:53 pm

    I loved Read My Pins so I’m curious as to how it was reading it on an e-reader. I’m a big fan of coffee table books and love poring over big colourful pictures. Do the pictures still do the jewels justice? Does your e-reader have a zoom feature?

    This is my first time commenting, but I love your blog and have followed it for about 6 months, and I’m constantly adding books you mention to my own “to read” list, which recently passed 100….I’m starting to get that sinking feeling that I might not read all the books I want in this lifetime!

    • July 11, 2011 3:16 am

      Hi Sarah: thanks for the comment! May I suggest looking at your TBR list as a pool of potentials instead of an actual list? That might help make you excited as it gets longer, rather than feeling overwhelmed! Just think, soon you’ll have a book on there for any mood possible. ;)

      I didn’t realise Read My Pins was a coffee table book until I was already into it; I can’t say my black and white Nook did the photos justice. But the text was neat, and even without colour it was fun to look at her pins!

  4. July 8, 2011 7:02 pm

    Hope you feel better soon. I’m glad that the eReader helps you to continue to read even when your hands/arms are tired.

  5. July 8, 2011 8:55 pm

    I really enjoyed Among Others! Have you read Fall by Colin McAdam? He is a Canadian author and that book takes place in a boarding school. It jumped into my head when I was listening to you say you liked books set there.

    I need to read Red River. I enjoyed Cane River and have wanted that book since it came out, but still hasn’t happened yet.

    Hope you feel better soon!

    • July 11, 2011 3:19 am

      No, but it’s on my TBR list now! Thnx. :)

  6. July 8, 2011 9:51 pm

    You have some great titles there!

    Where do you get most of your ebooks from? I just got a NookColor, so I have been on a downloading kick. :)

    i hope you feel better soon!

    • July 11, 2011 3:20 am

      These were from my library’s ebranch. For free ones, I mainly see Manybooks.net and Girlebooks: have fun!

  7. July 9, 2011 3:02 am

    I’ve never read any of the books you’ve mentioned, but as always lots of them sound very interesting to me! In particular I’ve been curious about The Swan Thieves – a lot of bloggers reviewed it a while ago but I never got around to it despite enjoying The Historian. I’ll be interested to see what you think.

    I hope your flare-up goes away soon!

  8. July 9, 2011 6:24 am

    Oooh! Physics of the Impossible is one of my husband’s favorites. Enjoy your loot, Eva!

  9. July 9, 2011 8:37 am

    As always, a great list of books. I haven’t picked up any of these lately except for On Black Sisters Street which I’m interested in hearing your thoughts on.

  10. July 9, 2011 10:11 am

    Just finished Tartt’s The Secret History for the fifth time since I first read it years ago; love that book so much I can’t even find the words to review it. I’m just dwelling in the atmosphere she created until the next time I read it again…Have yet to read The Little Friend, but I haven’t heard much praise about it.

    You always have such a compelling list of fine library finds…do you have the time to read them all? You must read so incredibly fast!

    Yoshimoto’s Amrita is new to me, too…

    I downloaded Mary Shelley’s Mathilde and plan on reading that in August for Frances’ Novella Challenge. I hope you’ll still read it ‘with me’. It looks wonderful! XO

    • July 11, 2011 3:20 am

      Nope, I don’t read all of the books I bring home! I’m not a v fast reader either, although I do have more time than most. ;) And yep, definitely still planning on Mathilde in August: should we start on the 1st?

  11. July 9, 2011 2:04 pm

    I enjoyed The Vagrants. I hope you enjoy it too. The MI5 book sounds very interesting. I also like books about spies.
    Happy reading !

  12. July 9, 2011 2:34 pm

    I haven’t read a lot of Scandinavian crime fiction but I enjoyed Echoes from the Dead. I loved Theorin’s second novel, The Darkest Room, too.

    • July 11, 2011 3:21 am

      Helen! It was your recent post on his second one that prompted me to get his first! So thnx; sorry I couldn’t remember in vlog.

  13. July 9, 2011 7:20 pm

    I’m on the precipice of buying a Nook.

    • July 12, 2011 6:08 am

      I LOVE my Nook, and the ‘new’ generation makes me very jealous, since it addresses the only problems I have with mine. ;) Just make sure you’ll be able to buy books in Korea!

  14. July 10, 2011 7:03 pm

    Hope you feel better soon Eva. I really loved Among Others. I didn’t read it for a blog tour but as a readalong with Kailana. It was such a cute book and as a bookworm I think you’ll love it. I hope so anyway :)

  15. ana permalink
    July 11, 2011 2:26 am

    Thought The Vagrants was an excellent novel Was lucky to hear the author speak later at Sydney Writers’ Festival. She is so inspirational. But the book stands on its own as an important story so very well crafted. Enjoy!!! It is lovely to be able to recommend a book and feel fairly certain that you will find it just as good.

    Do hope you feel stronger soon. This year has been a tough one for you. Your spirit keeps you going I sense. We are all sending lots of good wishes your way.

    • July 11, 2011 3:21 am

      Thanks Ana: I’ll be sure to get to it before it expires! And thank you for the good health wishes. :)

  16. July 11, 2011 2:09 pm

    I’ll be really curious to know what you think of The Little Friend. I know that a lot of folks did not like it and thought it didn’t live up to Secret History. Haven’t tried it myself…yet.

  17. July 22, 2011 10:29 pm

    I hope you’re feeling better! :)

    My request for The Summer Book just came in today (I’ll go pick it up tomorrow). Like you, I’ve seen lots of very positive reviews of the book, but only have a vague idea of what it’s about. More than a few reviewers have said it should be read in summer, so it may be a last hurrah celebration of 2011’s summer season for me. Have you had a chance to read it yet?

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

