Skip to content

The Universe Unfolding a Little

July 2, 2011


photo credit

When I walk into a bookstore, any bookstore, first thing in the morning, I’m flooded with a sense of hushed excitement. I shouldn’t feel this way. I’ve spent most of my adult life working in bookstores, either as a bookseller or a publisher’s sales rep, and even though I no longer work in the business, as an incurable reader I find myself in a bookstore at least five times a week. Shouldn’t I be blase about it all now? In the quiet of such a morning, however, the store’s displays stacked squarely and its shelves tidy and promising, I know that this is no mere shop. When a bookstore opens its doors, the rest of the world enters, too, the day’s weather and the day’s news, the streams of customers, and of course the boxes of books and the many other worlds they contain-books of facts and truths, books newly written and those first read centuries before, books of great relevance and of absolute banality. Standing in the middle of this confluence, I can’t help but feel the possibility of the universe unfolding a little, once upon a time.

-The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop by Lewis Buzbee

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2011 10:39 am

    I love this quote. There’s nothing better than feeling excitement when you first walk into a bookstore or library. It’s like the world is opening up to you.

  2. July 2, 2011 11:12 am

    Great quote and great picture, too. It’s odd that bookstores are both a means of opening the world up and shutting the world out at the same time. I use them to find the world and to escape from the world myself.

  3. July 2, 2011 11:24 am

    I loved that book!

  4. July 2, 2011 11:50 am

    I enjoyed Buzbee’s book – anything by a bibliophile is bound to grab me!

  5. July 2, 2011 12:29 pm

    I love the photograph you chose to accompany this post, and of course, the post itself. I feel exactly the same way about bookshops, only I don’t manage to get to them five times a week.

    Sometimes, when I worry about the world (will there be enough food? will diseases overtake us all?) I worry about the loss of the printed word. The loss of bookstores, and pages, and the fragrance of the binding or the gloss of the leather (if one is lucky enough to hold such a fine edition). Posts like this make me realize a few of us, at least, will do our best to keep it all around. No reading only on an iPhone for us! :)

  6. July 3, 2011 3:21 am

    I adore that book!

  7. July 3, 2011 7:31 am

    Love that quote. Now to find the book.

  8. July 3, 2011 9:42 am

    The quote is great, it really puts down on paper what I fell when I go to a bookshop.
    I love Livraria Lello (the bookshop on the photo), I go there every time I can!

  9. July 3, 2011 11:16 am

    I love that feeling, too. Though I’m not a morning person ;) I need to read that book!

  10. July 4, 2011 4:13 pm

    Wow, So beautiful. Love the quote as well.

  11. July 8, 2011 10:56 am

    That’s a wonderful Quote and fits perfectly with the picture. Thanks for chosing my shot for this.

    • July 8, 2011 4:02 pm

      Thanks for making your stunning photo available via Creative Commons! :D

  12. July 12, 2011 11:49 pm

    thanks so much for putting up my mere words with that stunning shot. sweet.

  13. Linus permalink
    July 30, 2011 2:31 am

    The bookstore in the picture is called lello and sons, in the city of Porto – Portugal

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

