Skip to content

Allow It to Slowly Melt Inside You

June 25, 2011


photo credit

…reading verse can be like eating chocolate, so much more pleasureable when you allow it to slowly melt inside you, so much less rewarding when you snap off big chunks and bolt them whole, all but untasted.

The Ode Less Travelled by Stephen Fry

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2011 6:57 am

    What a delectable quote! I love it. So true as well. I find myself less inclined to rush through books and feel the pressure of all those waiting to be read but immerse myself in the current one, blocking everything else out.

    • June 26, 2011 4:01 pm

      Fry was talking about poetry, v novels, but I have to immerse myself too; I can’t pick up a book unless I know I have the time to read at least 30 pages. I like to read in 50-70 pg chunks.

  2. June 25, 2011 9:46 am

    Love it! But I struggle with this admittedly, sometimes I’ve able to read slowly and truly enjoy every word (usually most successful with really beautifully written prose) but sometimes I just have to read more quickly, I need to know what happens!

    I’m glad to see that you’ve start to figure out how to blog again regularly Eva, I missed seeing your posts!

    • June 26, 2011 4:02 pm

      I agree: I can’t imagine letting, say, a mystery melt inside of me! I have to know who did it. ;) Fry was talking about poetry, of which I still haven’t managed to become a regular reader. One of these days! And thanks for the welcome back: I missed all my blogging friends!

  3. June 25, 2011 11:11 am

    Like!

  4. June 25, 2011 1:46 pm

    Oh, Eva, what a fantastic quote! I often need to remind myself of this, and these are perfect words with which to do it. You always find the best quotes (and photos to go with them)!

    • June 26, 2011 4:03 pm

      Thnx Erin! So far, I’ve been able to rely on quotes I’ve typed out from my previous reading. We’ll see how much longer it lasts!

  5. June 25, 2011 3:10 pm

    Nice quote. I think, however, that my selfdicipline is much better then it comes to reading than with chocolate. :)

    • June 26, 2011 4:03 pm

      Lol! I love the expensive kind of chocolate: dark, fair trade, organic, etc. so I only let myself eat one square a day. ;)

  6. Wendi permalink
    June 25, 2011 10:14 pm

    My life has been stressful lately and I’ve found that I’ve turned to poetry to get me through. Prose just didn’t speak to my heart and soul the way I needed it to. I’ve noticed that through some of the darkest periods of my life I’ve turned to poetry to get me through and so this quote speaks to me.

    • June 26, 2011 4:03 pm

      I admire that Wendi! I’ve yet to become a regular poetry reader, but I want to.

  7. June 26, 2011 2:26 am

    Beautiful quote, Eva! I have Stephen Fry’s ‘The Ode Less Travelled’ on my bookshelf, and I am still reading it. The above quote applies not just to poetry but to this book too. Glad to know that you are enjoying it.

    • June 26, 2011 3:58 pm

      I actually read this one a couple of years ago! :) I used to type out my favourite passages from all of the books that I blogged about, so I have a pretty good storehouse of bookish quotes. hehe

      • June 29, 2011 2:55 pm

        Wow! That is interesting and awesome!

  8. June 26, 2011 9:47 pm

    I haven’t studied poetry in a while, but savoring each word is the only way to go. I love reading prose by poets, and I have the same philosophy when reading their books.

  9. June 27, 2011 5:37 am

    Oh, Mr. Fry. I love you.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

