Skip to content

Eeek! My apologies!

June 20, 2011


photo credit

I worked on my categories tonight, changing and merging things so that there are just a few left to facilitate browsing. But I just discovered that editing a post’s categories makes it show up as just-published in Google Reader (I’m not sure if other feed readers do that, since I only use GR). I’m so embarrassed and sorry about that: please just mark them all read. I’m blushing and cringing at the idea of y’all actually reading some of my early posts. On the plus side, my categories are now much tidier. ;) (If you’re curious, you can see the new, streamlined ones plus explanations on my directories page.) And the kitten photo is just to distract you from the inconvenience. I’m crossing my fingers it’ll work: book bloggers seem to be cat people in general!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 3:39 am

    Awww. *hugs* Don’t worry about it too much, hun. People’ll understand, especially with this post on top explaining what happened. It’s happened to me in the past too. People have always been very nice about it. (Especially since you can’t see it happen unless you’ve added your own blog to your feedreader/Google Reader…)

    The categories look good to me! I hope they’ll work for you! ^-^

  2. June 20, 2011 4:37 am

    Wow, I thought you might have just been REALLY productive and banged out that many posts! AND though I am NOT a cat person, preferring puppies, thank you, I am appeased by the kitten. ;O)

  3. June 20, 2011 6:54 am

    Oh technology! It’s a blessing and a burden. And a kitty makes me happy every time. :)

  4. June 20, 2011 8:21 am

    Uh seriously? GReader does that? One of my goals this summer is to clean up my categories because they’re all over the place. Maybe I’ll do a PSA announcing it so people know that I’m not spamming them.
    So actually, your ‘oops’ is very beneficial. At least to me. Heehee.

    • June 21, 2011 11:06 am

      Don’t make your PSA until the end, otherwise it won’t be on top in feed readers! lol And for some reason, it only did it on certain posts; I definitely changed the categories on more than 30 or whatever GR published. So who knows what was going on.

  5. June 20, 2011 8:37 am

    I recall having a similar muddle when I moved back to Blogger from WordPress and re-categorized my posts…in so doing I “published” like thousands of them. Sigh…I know what you mean about the embarrassment, and I particularly feel shy about some of the earliest posts I wrote. Oh well, we’re loved or we’re not, right? I think it’s safe to say many of us have done this at one time or another, and as I say to my students, “A clean job site is a happy job site”, so all is not lost. XO

    • June 21, 2011 11:09 am

      Yes! Sometimes I’m tempted to just make all of my older posts private, hehe. And my short new categories list is making me very happy every time I work on a post, so it’s definitely for the best!

  6. June 20, 2011 12:02 pm

    Your modified directories page is nice! I love that picture of the kitten :)

  7. June 20, 2011 5:09 pm

    Actually, that’s good news…it means I have less posts to read in my feed reader than I thought! ;-)

  8. June 20, 2011 6:47 pm

    I have to go back and fill in some categories, too. I think several of us do this periodically. And I always love a kitten photo!

  9. June 20, 2011 8:24 pm

    No prob.The same thing happened to me a few months ago when I added the sub-category of “Iran”. I think it also shows up as a new post on some folks’ Blogger blogs.

  10. June 20, 2011 8:55 pm

    Wow, I didn’t realize that would happen if you mess with categories. That’s really frustrating!

    • June 21, 2011 11:12 am

      Isn’t it?! But it only seems to happen sometimes; I had to go back and add Library Loot & Bookish Quote categories back in (accidentally deleted them), and that didn’t republish anything.

  11. June 21, 2011 2:46 pm

    This is my least favorite thing about WordPress. I’ve been trying to clean up some posts from my old blog for the past year and hate how I have to flood people’s GoogleReaders to do so!

  12. June 21, 2011 6:16 pm

    No worries Eva. I’m actually more of a dog person since I am allergic to cats but LOVE cats and sure wish I could have one. I may end up commenting on the old posts because I will enjoy reading them!

  13. June 21, 2011 8:02 pm

    Oh jeez, I hate it when people re-publish their old….awwww, look, a cute kitten!

    Good thing I’m so easily distractable. ;-D

  14. June 22, 2011 6:48 pm

    ha ha, no problem. I sort my reader from oldest to newest, so I didn’t realize what was going on at first, despite being surprised by so many ‘new’ posts from you in my reader. Then you mentioned it being October and I figured it out. Anyway, “The Ghost Reader” is now on my to-read list thanks to the republished posts, so the mishap was not in vain!

    • June 24, 2011 4:10 am

      LOL I’m glad I could spread The Ghost Reader love! Still squirming at the thought of some of my early, 2007 posts being republished. But oh well: at the time I liked them. ;)

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Salon: On Labelling Books « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

