Skip to content

Library Loot: June 15th to 21st

June 17, 2011

Vlog (remember to click through if you’re in a feed reader):

Books Mentioned:
Gardens in the Dunes by Leslie Marmon Silko
The Ground Beneath Her Feet by Salman Rushdie
White Teeth by Zadie Smith
The Unnatural History of Cypress Parish by Elise Blackwell
Tooth and Claw by Jo Walton
Inheritance by Lan Samantha Chang
Swami and Friends by R. K. Narayan
Camilla’s Roses by Bernice L. McFadden
Wading Home by Rosalyn Story
Urban Injustice by David Hilfiker
Spellbound by Karen Palmer
Sex at Dawn by Christopher Ryan and Cacilda Jethá
The Innocence of the Devil by Nawal El Saadawi
The Honor Code by Kwame Anthony Appiah
Tiger Hills by Sarita Mandanna
The Conversations at Curlow Creek by David Malouf
The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters

35 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 6:19 am

    I had to sleep with the light on after reading The Little Stranger!

  2. June 17, 2011 6:32 am

    v. good loot there!

    I’ve read one R.K. Narayan but I didn’t really enjoy it that much although my brother has read loads of his so, you know different strokes…

    I have Woman at Point Zero by Nawal El Saadawi but haven’t read it yet

  3. June 17, 2011 6:48 am

    Interesting list of books, I’m especially excited to see Urban Injustice as I recently read it and am working on writing up a review! I hope you enjoy it :) Also really excited to see some Nawal El Saadawi there. That’s one I don’t have and haven’t read so can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it as well.

    • June 19, 2011 11:54 am

      I should be starting the Saadawi tomorrow! :)

  4. June 17, 2011 6:50 am

    I love Thistle. Look how perfectly well-behaved. Give a huge kiss from me! :)

    Glad that you’ve been back Eva.

    • June 18, 2011 5:48 am

      That’s what she’s like *all the time*. Crazy, right? I’ll definitely pass along the kiss; she gets plenty of them all the time. ;)

  5. June 17, 2011 9:38 am

    First of all, you are so cute! I just realized you vlog. I read through a feeder and just noticed your note to “click through”.

    Now, that’s a nice loot you got. I think I’d use my library even more if it had the selection yours seems to have. I like owning most of my books but often it’s the only way I can get them. My city’s public library system is not great. Even after numerous requests for books to be added to the inventory. You’re really fortunate. I think I should blog about this is…LOL!

    • June 18, 2011 5:49 am

      I am fortunate! My city is over a million people, so it’s definitely got the resources, but I feel so lucky for all the books I can get. :)

      Thanks for the compliment, and I’ll have to remember to tell people to click through every week! I wish Vimeo showed up in feed readers.

  6. June 17, 2011 9:53 am

    What a great loot and now I can stop being embarrassed about the size of my loot! :D Everything by Nawal El Saadawi is completely checked out from my libraries (maybe everyone in my city is lurking on the feminist classics projects? ;) ) and I still haven’t been able to convince my library to get some Jo Walton.

    • June 18, 2011 5:50 am

      The more you check out from the library, the better their numbers and the more funding they get! So it’s kind of a civic duty to get huge piles of books, isn’t it? ;)

      • June 19, 2011 12:49 pm

        I love this reasoning :)

      • June 20, 2011 3:16 pm

        Me, too. I’ll have to remember that and hold my head high next time a loot half the library instead of looking extremely embarrassed and trying to, very unsuccessully, hide all those books :D

  7. June 17, 2011 10:43 am

    Lots of good looking books there. I hope you enjoy them!!

  8. June 17, 2011 12:39 pm

    The Little Stranger is so good! I hope you like it.

  9. June 17, 2011 2:12 pm

    I love that you mentioned where you heard about the books you checked out this week. I can’t remember if you’ve done that in past Library Loots, maybe because I’m looking for new resources I’ve just started noticing. I’m excited to hear your thoughts on Nawal El Saadawi, White Teeth, and Urban Justice especially.

    • June 18, 2011 5:51 am

      I think I usually mention it, especially if it’s another blogger! But a lot of books I come across completely randomly, hehe.

  10. June 17, 2011 2:15 pm

    Will be really interested to see what you think of White Teeth because I’ve only ever got a few pages into it.

  11. June 17, 2011 3:15 pm

    It’s so true what you say about how interesting it is to observe what’s selling in different places. My friend Marie Christine & I had a good time when I was in France looking around bookstores together and comparing notes on what we’d read and what was popular in France versus the US. They read a lot of Eastern European lit over there that I’d never even heard of, although with your Russian background you may be more up-to-date than I. In particular she recommended Magda Szabó, Patrick Süskind, and Sandor Márai, but given the number of books I picked up on my trip I doubt I’ll be investigating them any time soon!

    • June 18, 2011 5:54 am

      My Russian background was all politics stuff, rather than lit! But I have read two of Sandor Marai’s novels; they’re interested but have definite tones of the chauvinistic male. I enjoyed Embers far more than Esther’s Inheritance! I’ve heard of Suskind and have Perfume around here somewhere; I saw the movie and so I keep putting off reading the book! lol And Szabo is completely new to me; I’ll have to look into her, especially since she’s a central European *woman* writer. ;)

  12. June 17, 2011 3:45 pm

    I hope you throughly enjoy Camilla’s Roses!

    • June 19, 2011 12:59 am

      Thank you; I loved Sugar and enjoyed Glorious, so I have high hopes! The audiobook’s first cd was too mesed up to listen to, but I’ve told the library and they’re getting the other copy of the audiobook for me. Can’t wait to start it. :)

  13. June 17, 2011 7:43 pm

    My goodness, that would do me for the next few months!

    • June 18, 2011 5:55 am

      Remember I don’t read all the books I get from the library! :)

  14. June 18, 2011 3:43 am

    Great books as usual, a few more to add to my wishlist. The Little Stranger is good, but I hunted out people who’d read it afterwards to see what their view on it was – Night Watch, is really good. Like you I’m spacing out my Sarah Waters I just have Affinity to read left.

    • June 18, 2011 5:55 am

      Ohhh, Affinity was my second. :) After this, I’ll just have Night Watch left; she better get writing!

  15. June 18, 2011 10:11 am

    look forward to your thoughts on the blackwell ,she did a interview for me last year ,Narayan is great I ve read a few of his books recently reviewed painter of signs ,some other great book I read ground beneth her feet as it was a u2 song title when it came out great book ,all the best stu

    • June 19, 2011 1:00 am

      I ended up giving up on the Blackwell; the narrator was quite awkward, and an hour in I just wasn’t invested in it. But I might try it in paper some time!

  16. June 18, 2011 12:40 pm

    You are so right. It is really interesting to see what authors and books are on the bestseller lists in other countries. P.S Thistle is such a sweet, mellow little pup!

  17. June 18, 2011 11:07 pm

    I don’t know why, but I’ve been shying away from Zadie Smith all these years. Perhaps I’ll try her essays first.

    • June 19, 2011 1:00 am

      Her essays are sooooo good! Except for the last one on David Foster Wallace, but then I have no interest in him. ;)

  18. June 18, 2011 11:15 pm

    I will be interested in hearing your thoughts on Sarah Waters’ book when you get around to it (if you have not already done so). I don’t have that one on the shelf, but I have The Night Watch and while I want to read it, I also want to save it. I’ve heard it’s not *quite* as good as her others, but I love the WWII setting for it.

    • June 19, 2011 1:01 am

      I haven’t gotten to the Waters yet; soon though! See, I’m not big on WWII, which is why I decided to skip over The Night Watch for now. I’m sure I’ll read it next year though. :)

  19. June 19, 2011 11:35 am

    Wonderful library loot, Eva! Hope you enjoy ‘Swami and Friends’. It is one of my favourite books. Narayan’s other books – ‘The Bachelor of Arts’, ‘The English Teacher’ and ‘The Guide’ – are also extremely good. I am hearing a lot about Nawal El Saadawi these days and so can’t wait to read your thoughts on her book. Happy Reading!

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot: June 22-June 28 | Maphead's Book Blog

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

