Skip to content

Doors Kept Opening

June 11, 2011


photo credit

What she was finding also was how one book led to another, doors kept opening wherever she turned, and the days weren’t long enough for the reading she wanted to do.

The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2011 7:03 am

    This is so true! It’s like the books are holding hands. When I finish reading one book, she (the book) says, “Look who’s with me! Have you met her yet?” And that book is holding hands with a whole string of others.

  2. June 11, 2011 7:24 am

    So very true!

  3. June 11, 2011 7:35 am

    Such a true and fantastic quote!!!

  4. June 11, 2011 9:59 am

    I love that quote. :) And love the picture you’ve chosen to go with it.

  5. June 11, 2011 10:14 am

    That is one of my favorite quotes from The Uncommon Reader. :-)

  6. June 11, 2011 10:57 am

    Beautiful quote, Eva! The days are definitely not long enough for the reading I want to do :)

  7. June 11, 2011 11:52 am

    This is also true of blog reading. One thing leads to another and before you know it you have six books on hold at the library, another six coming from amazon and a list of six that you think you might have to travel to London to buy if you had any money, which you don’t because of amazon, your local bookstores and the fines you incur at the library because you have that bottomless stack of library books and you can’t bear to return the ones you haven’t read yet. And, like Ceri, I really love that photo. Thanks for this.

  8. June 11, 2011 12:15 pm

    This is so true! I love this quote Eva.

  9. June 11, 2011 2:41 pm

    Ah how very true. This is a beautiful picture. I love it!

  10. June 11, 2011 4:18 pm

    Great quote from a great book! Love the picture too! :)

  11. June 11, 2011 7:11 pm

    Oh, so completely true! Love the image….and the quote.

  12. June 12, 2011 4:59 am

    Yep!!!

  13. June 13, 2011 3:26 pm

    I loved that novella, and love the quote you chose to showcase here. It is so true!

  14. June 13, 2011 4:07 pm

    now I want to reread this book! Except I leant it to my mother and have never seen it again …. :(

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

