Skip to content

Library Loot: June 8th to 14th

June 10, 2011

Here’s my Library Loot vlog! (Please forgive my orange hair; I’m bored of dyeing it and thus in the process of going back to my natural colour, which will probably take a bit of trial and error. Unexpected upside of chronic illness: I don’t go out of the house too much, so hair colour crises aren’t as painful. Also, apologies for my awkwardness; I’m out of practice!)

Books mentioned:
Throwim Way Leg by Tim Flannery
Trickster Travels by Natalie Zemon Davis
Tear This Heart Out by Angeles Mastretta
Frida : a Biography of Frida Kahlo by Hayden Herrera
Thus was Adonis Murdered by Sarah Caudwell
Opera 101 by Fred Plotkin
The Scapegoat by Daphne du Maurier
Jonah’s Gourd Vine by Zora Neale Hurston
Minaret by Leila Aboulela
The Broken Teaglass by Emily Arsenault
In Search of Snow by Luis Alberto Urrea
The Unknown Sigrid Undset : Jenny and Other Works trans. by Tiina Nunnaly
The Last Lingua Franca by Nicholas Ostler
Becoming a Heroine by Rachel M. Brownstein
The Chronicles of Chrestomanci, Vol. 2 by Diana Wynne Jones

Books I also got out on Wednesday and had in a separate bag and thus forgot about until after uploading my vlog:
The Postmistress by Sarah Blake (for my book club)
The Oresteia by Aeschylus, translated by Robert Fagles (Fagles is my classics homeboy, and I’ve wanted to read Aeschylus’ cycle since loving Anne Carson’s untraditional Oresteia earlier this year.)
The Toughest Indian in the World by Sherman Alexie (part of my decision to spend the month reading fiction authors I already love)
The Hungry Tide by Amitav Ghosh (ditto)

25 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 6:13 am

    Fun to see you back vlogging. Some great choices.

  2. June 10, 2011 8:25 am

    Your vlog is worth watching just to see the adorable Thistle! She looks like a great reading buddy!

  3. June 10, 2011 10:08 am

    wonderful to see you back Eva and as ever a wonderful selection ,all the best stu

  4. June 10, 2011 10:43 am

    So excited to see you get Fagles’ Oresteia! My favorite! Ohhh I’m excited for you. :)

  5. June 10, 2011 12:00 pm

    The Sigrid Undset book called out to me this time. On the nonfiction side, The Last Lingua Franca looked pretty tasty.

  6. June 10, 2011 1:49 pm

    I’m interested in hearing your thoughts about the Postmistress…Glad you’re back!!!

    • June 10, 2011 11:14 pm

      I answered Marg re: the Postmistress (somehow I scrolled past your comment), so I’m c&ping here:

      I didn’t like The Postmistress, but I don’t think that was the book’s fault. It’s just not the style that appeals to me! :) (For one thing, I pretty much never get along w WWII books, lol.)

      Thanks for the welcome back! :)

  7. FleurFisher permalink
    June 10, 2011 2:33 pm

    It’s lovely to see your books again, and I’ve added one or two to my library wishlist. Thistle is lovely, and very good to settle down through all that book talk,

  8. June 10, 2011 5:32 pm

    You don’t seem awkward at all in this vlog, Eva, but rather completely at ease!

    I hope you enjoy Sarah Caudwell’s book — I loved it and promptly acquired all her other books (she only wrote four), though I haven’t read any of the others yet. I hope you’ll let us know what you think of it! I’m also curious about the other mystery — I haven’t heard of that author before. Have you tried Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs series? I’ve only read the first one, but I loved it.

    No need to answer my comment if you don’t feel up to it (even though I asked you a question)!

    • June 10, 2011 11:12 pm

      I did read the first Maisie Dobbs and did not love it. I have been told on Twitter, though, that I’d probably enjoy the later books so I might give the fifth or so a go! :) It’s so sad she only wrote four; reminds me of Kate Ross, another British lawyer who wrote 4 mystery novels (they’re v good).

      • June 11, 2011 3:46 pm

        Ah too bad you didn’t enjoy the first Maisie Dobbs! (I just read your review.) Thanks for mentioning Kate Ross — I hadn’t heard of her before but will keep a look out for her books!

      • June 12, 2011 4:36 pm

        Kate Ross is out of print (boo), so I hope you can get ahold of her! And I do plan on giving Maisie another try one of these days, maybe on audio. I do heart audiobooks.

  9. June 10, 2011 6:01 pm

    As usual you have mentioned quite a few that pique my interest. I’d love to read everything by DuMaurier and you have reminded me that I’d like to do that. P.S your dog is ADORABLE!

  10. June 10, 2011 6:43 pm

    Fabulous loot as always, Eva. :) And I love your orange hair. ;-) hehe.

    • June 12, 2011 4:37 pm

      Aww: thanks! I’ve been feeling very self-conscious about it, and keep reminding myself not to give up and dye it darker again. ;)

  11. Marg permalink
    June 10, 2011 6:47 pm

    I will be interested to hear what you think of The Postmistress. I liked it a lot, and one of the middle parts has one of the strongest WWII narratives I have read.

    I really need to go back and read more Luis Alberto Urrea. I read The Hummingbird’s Daughter years and years ago and really enjoyed it, but haven’t read anymore from him yet.

    • June 10, 2011 11:13 pm

      I didn’t like The Postmistress, but I don’t think that was the book’s fault. It’s just not the style that appeals to me! :) (For one thing, I pretty much never get along w WWII books, lol.)

  12. June 10, 2011 8:45 pm

    This was fun to watch as usual :) I’m always looking for new mysteries as well so I’ll be interested in hearing your thoughts on those. Enjoy your loot!

  13. June 10, 2011 10:15 pm

    I’ve had Frida: A Biography of Frida Kahlo on my TBR list for ages. I look forward to your thoughts on it.

  14. June 11, 2011 11:23 am

    Wonderful Library Loot, Eva! Nice to see Zora Neale Hurston and Sigrid Undset there :) I have read the first volume of Undset’s ‘Kristin Lavransdatter’ and I loved it till then. I have to read the next two volumes now. ‘The Broken Teaglass’ by Emily Arsenault looks wonderful! I am adding it to my ‘TBR’ list. Nice to see ‘The Oresteia’ in your extended list. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it! Happy Reading!

    • June 11, 2011 11:25 am

      Forgot to mention one more thing. I love Thistle – she is so adorable!

  15. June 11, 2011 3:17 pm

    Soooo good to see you vblogging once again ! I’ve missed them terribly ! Since I loved Ostler’s Empires of the Word I dying to read your review of his latest book. Tricker Travels sounds good too !
    Once again, nice to see you !!!

  16. June 11, 2011 4:47 pm

    Lovely to see you back on vlogging and blogging! :) Scandinavian crime novels are very popular here in Finland and there’s every now and then talk about why Finnish crime novels are not as popular abroad as the Swedish ones. (Always a friendly rivarly bewteen Finland and Sweden in everything! ;)) I must confess that I have not yet found a Scandinavian crime novel that would interest me. There are some Finnish crime novels I have enjoyed reading, but not a single Swedish or Norwegian one!

    Trikster Travels sounds very interesting. I’m also looking forward to reading what you think of Minaret. I just borrowed another book by Aboulela a while ago, but have not yet read it.

    • June 12, 2011 4:37 pm

      Ohhh: tell me the Finnish ones and I’ll try to track them down! :)

  17. June 15, 2011 12:31 am

    Yay, Chrestomanci! Yay, The Broken Teaglass! I read that in 2009 (holy crap that was a while ago), and I think my favorite part was the word nerdiness.

    I haven’t been to the library in MONTHS. I miss going. :(

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

