Skip to content

Its Own Way

April 9, 2011


photo credit

The Novel, that most accessible, democratic of literary forms, must establish its contract with its reader. It may be helped or hindered by all sorts of extraneous influences: cover design, encrustations of quotation from admiring reviewers, and the like. But it must also make its own way in the world.

-John Mullan, How Novels Work

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2011 6:11 am

    Love that photo!

  2. April 9, 2011 10:23 am

    Yes, indeed novels need to make their own way in the world!
    The quote intrigued my so much that I immediately reserved this book from the library. I want to find out what else he says about novels.

  3. April 11, 2011 8:51 pm

    great quote and I love that photo. Are you enjoying that book? I have it on my list somewhere…

  4. April 13, 2011 9:45 am

    Thank you for posting this! I love the image and the quote.

  5. April 14, 2011 8:14 am

    What a lovely quote!

  6. April 16, 2011 6:09 am

    Fabulous quote and I love the picture you’ve chosen for it too. :D

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

