Skip to content

Nothing But Her Own Taste and Whim

April 2, 2011

photo credit

“Doris Derman was the first person, aside from teachers, I heard speak with authority about books and writers. But her authority was different; she spoke not from a height but from within the precinct of the initiated. She had opinions, and they were based on nothing but her own taste and whim. This was unheard of in my convent-school world of hierarchy and certainty, where references to authority were … authoritative.”

-Patricia Hampl, “Relics of Saint Katherine”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2011 8:12 am

    I love this photo. Vintage photos tend to capture the simple pleasures so much better.

    • April 3, 2011 2:48 am

      I just love the style of vintage women! ;)

  2. April 2, 2011 10:38 am

    A reading acquaintance introduced me to Patricia Hampl’s works a few years back. They’re wonderful indeed. Enjoy!

    • April 3, 2011 2:48 am

      This is from an essay I read few years back; I should try out some of her fiction!

  3. April 2, 2011 7:24 pm

    What a fantastic photo!!

  4. April 4, 2011 6:18 am

    I really like that quote (and the photo!). I spent so much time during the past few years trying to read what I was “supposed” to read. But reading is much more enjoyable when you just read what you want to read, regardless of what other people say about the books. I’m currently trying to make a transition to reading whatever I want regardless of lists and reviews.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

