Skip to content

Technical Difficulties

January 24, 2011


photo credit

For the past few days, every time I’ve attempted to open a browser on my computer, it immediately crashes. Hopefully, I’ll have it all sorted out by tomorrow or Wednesday, but that’s why I haven’t really been around! Normal blogging, tweeting and commenting should resume soon. :) In the meantime, look at that puppy! I really want a dog, but my parents are not dog people, so for now I can only admire from afar. *sigh* (Oh, and if anyone is contemplating buying a Toshiba, I’d recommend rethinking that.)

37 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 11:52 am

    sorry to hear that eva hope you get it sorted soon ,all the best stu

  2. January 24, 2011 12:28 pm

    Sorry to hear you’re having computer problems. :(

  3. January 24, 2011 1:32 pm

    I second that about Toshibas! I had one and it was *horrible*.

  4. January 24, 2011 1:50 pm

    no fun… we’ll be here when you get back!

  5. January 24, 2011 2:11 pm

    Ouch. Hope it clears up soon!

  6. January 24, 2011 2:16 pm

    Sorry to hear about the computer and the lack of puppy… and I third the opinion on Toshibas!

  7. January 24, 2011 2:26 pm

    Hi Eva, I just came across Oliver Sacks’ The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat today, and have set it aside on your recommendation. Thanks! I also came across a new release called The Tell-Tale Brain: A Neuroscientist’s Quest for What Makes Us Human, by V. S. Ramachandran. It sounds like something you might enjoy, in the spirit of Sacks. Maybe.
    And I give you puppies to help, too. These are my boys.

    • Ruthiella permalink
      January 25, 2011 1:54 pm

      Your dogs are ADORABLE!

  8. January 24, 2011 2:46 pm

    Awww! Cutest dog ever!!!

    And hey! I have a Toshiba. They’ve been good to me, but I know computer experiences are varied.

  9. January 24, 2011 3:10 pm

    Hope it gets sorted out soon. Bummer.

  10. January 24, 2011 4:31 pm

    Sucky! Hope it’ll clear up soon! :)

  11. January 24, 2011 4:41 pm

    PUPPY!!

  12. January 24, 2011 5:05 pm

    (I have a toshiba too and there are numerous issues with it. Had it for almost five years though. I really really want a new laptop. sigh. But it still mostly works, so not getting a new one any time soon. Which is good since I don’t have room in the budget for a new one.)

    I’m not a dog person — have always hated them and actually have had for most of my life an irrational fear of them. (My heart would start racing and I’d get all clammy-palmed and nervous when I saw a dog coming towards me.) But one of my friends, who I met two years ago, has an Australian Shepherd named May and over the past two years I’ve just fallen in love with her. She’s so HUMAN-like and smart and sweet. So anyway, I don’t have my irrational fear of dogs anymore — liking May cured me of hating all dogs! Which is good. Because that was a pain since everyone I know has a dog.

  13. January 24, 2011 5:30 pm

    That dog? Adorable.

    Toshibas? My roommate has one and she has so many problems with them.

  14. January 24, 2011 6:20 pm

    I’m sorry your computer’s giving you grief. But OMG, what adorable puppyness! I miss my puppy sooooo much.

  15. January 24, 2011 6:47 pm

    Aw, I’m sorry you’re having problems. I was a little nervous when I got my Toshiba, because my little sister has had nothing but trouble with hers, but I’ve had a really good experience with it. Their support staff was really helpful. I hope your computer becomes healed soon! Shall I post pictures of my puppy to cheer you?

  16. January 24, 2011 6:49 pm

    I hope your computer feels better soon! There is nothing worse than a sick computer!

  17. January 24, 2011 7:42 pm

    Computer issues just plain suck, don’t they?

    But hey, that’s a cute puppy I get to stare at! :) I really want a puppy too! I grew up with yellow labs with my parents. When I moved in with Matt last year, he already had a cat (Hemi) and then over the course of the last year, we took in two kittens (Sparty and Lily). The first one, Sparty, was on purpose since Hemi seemed lonely, and we found Lily abandoned in the park where I work (people can be so cruel).

    And while I love my kitties and am slowly becoming the crazy cat lady, I really miss having a dog. Matt promised me that when we get a house I can have a puppy and you better believe that I will remind him of that. :)

  18. January 24, 2011 8:12 pm

    My computer problems necessitated an overnight stay at the computer hospital. I hope “she” gets to come home tomorrow because I am totally tired of borrowing my friend’s computer or going to the library to get online. My little red laptop is needed at home. I send best get-well wishes to your computer, too.

  19. January 24, 2011 9:04 pm

    Oh NO! Poor computer…:O/

    And that PUPPY is absolutely ridiculous!

    We have a four and a half year old pit/ridge-back mix who we rescued as a very chubby, soft, wrinkly three month old puppy.

    I still see that cute, wrinkly thing, even now…though he is a very muscular, sleek and trim, thank you very much, he would like to say. ;O)

  20. January 24, 2011 9:44 pm

    Ick! Hope the technical stuff gets worked out soon–and thanks for the heads-up.
    Such a cute puppy…

  21. January 25, 2011 2:41 am

    Nothing more annoying than a computer problem, but I have to say I wrote my PhD on a Toshiba with no problems at all. By the way, I want the puppy too!

  22. bookgazing permalink
    January 25, 2011 3:54 am

    Technical problems are a pain, as most of us can’t fix the big ones on our own. Love the puppy so much, wrinkly and shiny at the same time.

  23. January 25, 2011 8:44 am

    Sorry about the computer issues but my Toshiba laptop has been plugging along for years now with no problems! I hope you have a good week, Eva.

  24. January 25, 2011 1:27 pm

    Oh, I can totally relate to problems with computers…I haven’t had any for awhile (knock wood!), but I did have problems with my Firefox about a year ago. So far, so good.

    Yesterday my computer wouldn’t turn on, but it was a “surge protector” issue which I sorted out on my own.

    Good luck! Cute dog, too.

  25. January 25, 2011 4:27 pm

    Sorry to hear about the technical difficulties, but that puppy is simply adorable! :)

  26. January 26, 2011 6:56 pm

    I love your blog, so I awarded you the Stylish Blogger Award. Hope your computer difficulties get worked out soon!

  27. January 27, 2011 12:12 pm

    Another alternative to buying a pet is to volunteer at your local animal shelter (if you can keep your heart from breaking).

  28. January 27, 2011 9:57 pm

    Oh no! Best of luck with the computer issues.

  29. February 12, 2011 9:05 pm

    Hope you come back soon, Eva!

  30. February 17, 2011 7:12 pm

    Hope to see you back soon! Miss you!

  31. February 18, 2011 11:00 am

    Hope you’re able to come back online soon, Eva! We miss you!

  32. February 22, 2011 10:53 am

    Ditto on nixing the Toshiba. They sold me a TV without a mute button.

    Whoever heard of such a thing?

    And yes, your words are missed!

  33. Karenne S permalink
    February 22, 2011 6:39 pm

    Eva,
    Hope you are well. I miss reading your posts and look forward to when you get back online.
    Sincerely,
    Karenne

  34. February 23, 2011 10:17 pm

    Hi Eva,

    I hope you are feeling ok. Hope to see you online soon. Missing your presence!

    Hugs!

  35. February 28, 2011 10:21 am

    Hello Eva, just a note to say I haven’t forgotten you! I hope you are well:)

  36. March 2, 2011 6:29 pm

    Eva, been thinking of you. I do hope that you are feeling okay.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

