Skip to content

The Mirrors

January 22, 2011


photo credit

Books are the mirrors in which we see ourselves.
-Rudolpho Anaya

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 9:54 am

    My Yale professor always warned us to be careful when interpreting Canterbury Tales. He ask, “Are you reading the Tales, or are they reading you?”

  2. January 22, 2011 9:59 am

    Love the photo and quote Eva ,all the best stu

  3. January 22, 2011 10:39 am

    Amazing quote. So relevant to what I’ve been reading and reflecting on, lately.

  4. January 22, 2011 2:53 pm

    Love this quote!

  5. January 22, 2011 4:02 pm

    This picture is so darling! I want a little print with the quote underneath!

  6. January 22, 2011 7:37 pm

    Damn straight, if you’ll forgive my language. I think it’s a human impulse to respond to everything we hear or read by saying “yea! when I…” or “yea! my…” We’re naturally self-centered, which I think is a self-preserving feature. Only with one, two, or if we’re lucky, three people in the world can we afford to not put ourselves first; in a state of nature we all have to put ourselves first. My husband, mother, and father might make an ultimate sacrifice for me, but not too many (any?) others. So I think it’s an essential human instinct to focus on oneself; I consciously work to focus outside the self, and I think if we’re honest, we all do. So yes, books and everything else are the mirrors through which we see ourselves. It takes an effort to see just the book – or whatever it is.

  7. January 23, 2011 6:37 am

    Fantastic quote Eva.

  8. January 23, 2011 4:40 pm

    I love both the quote and the photo!!! These photo and book quotes you’re doing are fun, Eva :-)

  9. Mary permalink
    January 28, 2011 1:39 pm

    I read this in The Shadow of the Wind, and thought it was Zafn`s quote.

  10. February 27, 2011 6:43 am

    What a perfect quote. I do not often feel that way about quotes, but this one rings so true :)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

