Skip to content

Library Loot: January 12th to 18th

January 14, 2011

(Last day to enter my giveaway! It’s open to all book bloggers anywhere in the world!)

I woke up this morning and realised I hadn’t recorded my vlog yet! So I had to wait until there was at least some sunlight to help my poor webcam, and then I had to wait for Vimeo to process the file. I’m in the middle of a fibro flare-up, so I’m pretty much exhausted just getting the covers and links together today: I’m too tired to try to add typed commentary. But I did ramble on in the vlog. ;) Forgive my exhausted-looking face; when I’m in this much pain, it’s exhausting just to be awake (while sleeping brings its own problems). And now I’m going to go curl up with a book, or perhaps a DVD.

Video (if you’re in a feed reader, click through):

Covers/Linked Titles:

Running the Books by Avi Steinberg, Pedaling Revolution by Jeff Mapes, Enlightened Sexism by Susan Douglas


The New Nobility by Andrei Soldatov, The Imaginations of Unreasonable Men by Bill Shore, Dogtown by Elyssa East


The Robber Bridegroom by Eudora Welty, Curfewed Night by Basharat Peer, The Orphan Girl and Other Stories by Buchi Offodile


Globish by Robert McCrum, The Duppy by Anthony Winkler, Stealing the Mystic Lamb by Noah Charney


The Shadowy Horses by Susanna Kearsley, Hijas Americanas by Rosie Molinary, Tents in the Clouds by Monica Jackson and Elizabeth Star


Passing by Brooke Kroeger, The Passport in America by Craig Robertson, The King of Elfland’s Daughter by Lord Dunsany


Well-Read Lives by Barbara Sicherman, The Blue Fox by Sjon


The Three Incestuous Sisters by Audrey Niffenegger

68 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 11:55 am

    I look forward to see what you make of The King of Elfland’s Daughter; I’ve never explored pre-Tolkien fantasy.

    • January 16, 2011 11:45 am

      I’m very excited to try it! I’ve read Lud-in-the-Mist, but that’s the only pre-Tolkien fantasy experience I have.

  2. January 14, 2011 11:56 am

    I hope you are feeling better soon. Eudora Welty has been a lifetime favorite. Hope you enjoy her book–and her stories, if you get a chance.

    • January 16, 2011 11:46 am

      I have the collected stories of Welty on my shelves; I love short stories, so I’ll definitely be reading them one of these days!

  3. January 14, 2011 12:03 pm

    Sorry about the bad day. Sometimes they really stink, don’t they! I think you’re great doing this much. Next time I have a snorter I’ll remember you and just get on with things.

  4. January 14, 2011 12:28 pm

    I’m on the hold list for Running the Books and I can’t wait to get it. It has a surprisingly long hold list, so I’m just waiting patiently. These all look great!

    • January 16, 2011 11:46 am

      I was surprised by how long I had to wait for Running the Books: I think it’s been a couple months!

  5. January 14, 2011 12:36 pm

    I added The Blue Fox and The King of Elfland’s Daughter to my TBR list :) I hope you’re feeling better, soon!

  6. January 14, 2011 12:40 pm

    And I hope you feel better soon :(

  7. January 14, 2011 12:59 pm

    I am so sorry you feel poorly. Hope you are better soon.

  8. January 14, 2011 1:22 pm

    I’ve had my eye on The New Nobility (because who doesn’t love reading about Russian spies?) so I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it! I read Enlightened Sexism last year and though I generally agree with Douglas’ arguments I wasn’t terribly impressed by the way she made them – hope your experience with it is better!

    Hope you feel better soon.

    • January 16, 2011 11:47 am

      Good to know re: the Douglas. I’ll probably abandon it if her writing style annoys me! I’m heartless like that. ;)

  9. January 14, 2011 1:38 pm

    Running the Books was SO great! I really enjoyed it. I wrote about it some, like here. And thanks for making me aware of Pedaling Revolution; as a fairly fanatical cyclist, bike racer, and former bike messenger, I am interested, and hadn’t heard about it. Enjoy!

    • January 16, 2011 11:47 am

      Good to know Julia! I hope you enjoy Pedaling Revolution. :)

  10. January 14, 2011 2:02 pm

    Such a wonderful loot once again! I already put a hold on Globis, as it sounds really interesting and luckily our library has it. The Duppy sounds totally hilarious. :) I would love to read it someday.
    I hope that you’ll feel much better soon.

    • January 16, 2011 11:48 am

      I actually have no idea what The Duppy’s about: I’m glad it sounds hilarious though! And thanks for the well wishes. :)

  11. Marg permalink
    January 14, 2011 2:10 pm

    Yay! Kearsley! Now I am nervous as to whether you will enjoy the book or not!

    • January 16, 2011 11:49 am

      I actually read it this morning and LOVED it! So no need to be nervous!

      • Marg permalink
        January 16, 2011 1:49 pm

        Cool! I am so glad. Now, we need to get you a copy of The Winter Sea!

  12. January 14, 2011 3:22 pm

    Sorry about the fibro, I know that’s painful. Did you have time to watch any Upstairs Downstairs yet? I have the first 2 discs from the library but I’ve only watched one episode so far.

    I’m interested in your Eudora Welty selection — I have a copy of Delta Wedding I’m hoping to read soon, I read a couple of pages the other day and it looks very good. I’ve not read her but heard so many good things.

    • January 16, 2011 11:50 am

      Thanks Karen. :) I’ve only watched the first epi of Upstairs Downstairs; I didn’t realise how old it was, and I’m not sure if I like the production values. lol

      I loved Delta Wedding: I hope you do too!

  13. January 14, 2011 4:11 pm

    I hope you’re feeling better, Eva! You have, indeed, provided me with some nonfiction to add to my fiction-heavy lineup. The only one of these I’d already heard of was Running the Books; the rest are new to me. I love the wide range of topics your library loot always encompasses.

  14. January 14, 2011 6:02 pm

    OK, watching your library loot vlog while the window to my library’s website is open is just a bad idea…I’ve been working so hard to get my number of checked-out books down, and now I just added a whole bunch more holds! I’m sorry you’ve been feeling ill, and I hope the flare-up dies down soon.

  15. January 14, 2011 6:19 pm

    I’m such a huge fan of Niffeneggers, loving The Time Traveler’s Wife and most recently The Bookmobile. I want to read The Three Incestuous Sisters as you have checked out, and Her Fearful Symmetry which is waiting for me on my fireside shelves.

    • January 16, 2011 11:50 am

      I loved TTW! I did not love HFS, but I hope you do. :)

  16. January 14, 2011 7:20 pm

    I’d like to see what you think of the New Nobility.

    • January 16, 2011 11:51 am

      Looks like between you and Claire I need to read that one sooner rather than later! ;)

  17. January 14, 2011 9:21 pm

    My library doesn’t have Running of the Books! What!

    I love the blog and I’ve given you an award over at my blog if you want to check it out:

    http://hawthornescarlet.blogspot.com/2011/01/long-overdue.html

    • January 16, 2011 11:52 am

      Thanks Laura! Too weird about your library.

  18. January 15, 2011 1:27 am

    I love how the books block more and more of the window as the vlog progresses. I wondered if you were going to end up eliminating the natural light entirely!

    • January 16, 2011 11:52 am

      LOL: yeah that was the flaw in my plan! But I was worried if I kept piling them on the chair arms they’d crash.

  19. January 15, 2011 9:09 am

    Oohhh! I really want to read Running the Books. I have a weird obsession with prison documentaries and prison culture, so this sounds really interesting and right up my alley. I’ve been feeding this weird interest by watching the National Geographic documentary series, Lockdown, on Apple TV.

    • January 16, 2011 11:53 am

      It does sound perfect for you! Have you read True Notebooks by Mark Salzman? It’s about his experience teaching a creative writing class in a LA juvenile detention facility. Very good!

  20. Christa permalink
    January 15, 2011 9:27 am

    I just added The King of Elfland’s Daughter to my TBR list. I love fantasy which I originally did not. Back when I was in high school it was my least favorite genre but now it’s one of my favorites. I hope you feel better soon!

    • January 16, 2011 11:54 am

      How interesting! Did a specific book make you change your mind? When I was younger, I was more into high/epic fantasy; nowadays, I’ve noticed I go for urban fantasy more often than not. I’m not sure why though!

      • Christa permalink
        January 17, 2011 9:46 am

        Yes as silly as it sounds the Harry Potter series was what introduced me to the genre. However when the LotR movies came out I decided I wanted to read them including The Hobbit before I saw the movies. I think it was LotR that made me love the genre.

  21. January 15, 2011 11:38 am

    Hope you feel better soon, Eva!

    Love your LL, as usual :) The book about the passport looks fascinating, as do Passing, Enlightened Sexism and Well-Read Lives.

    • January 16, 2011 11:55 am

      Thanks Bina! I’m in the middle of Well-Read Lives now: it’s soooooooo good.

  22. January 15, 2011 12:18 pm

    Yay for Dogtown! I just started it but I like the narrative writing style so far. I read Running the Books last year and liked it, but didn’t love it. I thought it needed a bit more editing (but then again I had an ARC of it so many it changed a bit). The book on Passing sounds interesting but I think I’ll wait to hear what you think of it before I request it from the library.

    I should be able to start The History of White People by tomorrow; just have to finish one of the other books I’m reading first so I don’t have TOO many going at once. It better be good, after that long, looooooonggg wait. ;)

    • January 16, 2011 11:55 am

      Good to know re: Running the Books! I finished up Dogtown this morning; it’s not what I was expecting, but I can see why others would like it. ;)

      I’ve set History of White People to the side: let me know when you’re around the 200 page mark and I’ll pick it back up!

  23. January 15, 2011 2:19 pm

    Hope you’re feeling better soon, just spent the day with my mum whose fibro also seems to have flared up, not nice to watch someone in pain.

    I’m reading The Duppy at the moment, I hadn’t read the blurb I just grabbed it for the Caribbean Reads Challenge, so not what I was expecting but great and such a contrast to War and Peace which I’m reading at the same time.

    • January 16, 2011 11:56 am

      What a coincidence re: The Duppy! I haven’t read the blurb either, so I have no clue what it’s about. :)

      I hope your mom’s fibro calms down soon. :(

  24. January 15, 2011 4:45 pm

    I’m curious about the Niffenegger and the Welty. Excellent choices.

  25. January 15, 2011 4:48 pm

    Hope you’re starting to feel better, Eva! I’ve added a couple of the books you highlighted to my list, but I wanted to pass along a DVD/TV recommendation for you since you’re not feeling well. PBS is airing the BBC’s “Downton Abbey” on Sundays, and I immediately thought you might like it. The first episode is available online.

    • January 16, 2011 11:57 am

      Thanks so much for the rec Christina! I’m a huge fan of PBS’ Masterpiece Classics programming, so I’ve already watched the first episode of Downton Abbey. I can’t wait for the second tonight! You definitely have me pegged. :D

  26. January 15, 2011 4:51 pm

    Great loot! My husband owns a copy of the biking book and liked it. I hope you’re feeling better soon, but I know sometimes that takes a while. Enjoy your reading!

    • January 16, 2011 11:57 am

      Thanks Alyce! I’m glad to hear your husband liked Pedal Revolution. :)

  27. January 15, 2011 9:38 pm

    I’m looking to read some of Niffenegger’s graphic novels, so I can’t wait to hear what you think of Incestuous Sisters!

  28. January 15, 2011 10:40 pm

    I hope you feel better soon– get some rest!!

    • January 16, 2011 11:58 am

      Thanks! I’ve been taking it easy. :)

  29. January 16, 2011 12:26 am

    My mom and I discovered the Three Incestuous Sisters at The King’s English bookstore in Salt Lake City (awesome store) and she promptly bought a copy and put it on her coffee table. Needless to say, not many or the ladies who come to play bridge mention it.

    PB

  30. January 16, 2011 6:50 pm

    Hi Eva, I hope you are feeling better or feel better soon! You always have such interesting looking library loots :)

    I meant to comment when you posted a picture of your new bike, but never did – the bike looks nice! I love to bike as transportation, in skirts, and have found inspiration in two great blogs by women who do so – Let’s Go Ride a Bike and Lovely Bicycle! (I know there are more woman bike blogs out there, but those are the two I read the most).

  31. January 16, 2011 10:14 pm

    I look forward to reading your review Globish. I’ve seen it around and I can’t wait to read your review.

  32. January 17, 2011 6:52 pm

    I always enjoy your library vlogs Eva! So you said you have been on quite a kick with Icelandic novels. It sounds like you are reading more literary books but have you checked out any of the crime books? Lots of very good stuff coming from there, in particular Arnaldur Indridason (I probably spelled his name all sorts of wrong! ha). I had to put the Night Bookmobile on hold recently too as I saw several bloggers mentioning it. Can’t wait to read it.

  33. January 19, 2011 3:25 pm

    Sorry to hear you aren’t feeling well. Since I am late to comment I am hoping you are feeling better by now. I’m so happy for all of the great non-fiction recommendations since that is what I love to read the most these days!

  34. January 20, 2011 12:17 am

    I’ve got Running the Books coming from the library too-seems it’s very popular here also. I’m dying to know what a duppy is. And I loved The Blue Fox and will definitely read it again. I reviewed it (briefly and no spoilers) here if it interests you:
    http://freshinkbooks.blogspot.com/2009/04/thursday-tea_09.html

    Enjoy your loot!

  35. January 20, 2011 2:18 pm

    Ahhhh I want to read them all! Enlightened Sexism is on my Kindle tbr. A few others I want to read from your list – especially The Imagination of Unreasonable Men, Hijas Americanas and The Orphan Girl and Other Stories. I hope you are feeling better!

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Caught My Interest « Reflections from the Hinterland
  2. January 2011: Monthly Summary « live through books…

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

