Skip to content

Photographic Interlude: What I’ve Been Up To

December 31, 2010

I didn’t plan on taking a break for the holidays, but between one thing and another it ended up being the best option (I promise I’ll catch up on replying to all of your comments shortly). But just because I wasn’t blogging doesn’t mean I wasn’t busy! ;)

I walked around our neighbourhood with my niece, taking photos of Christmas lights.

I’ve been getting to know my new Nook (still looking for the perfect name).

I visited a seventeenth century mission…

…and took silly photos.

And yesterday evening, I used my Christmas money from my grandmother and great aunt to buy myself a vintage three-speed cruiser from a nice man who in addition to knowing about old bicycles also keeps chickens in his backyard.

I’ve been wanting an upright step-through bicycle with fenders and chain case for awhile now, but the ones in stores are far too expensive for my non-existent budget. So I was delighted to see a perfectly ride-able, adorable one in just my size pop up on Craig’s List for precisely the amount my Christmas checks came to. I’ve already begun crocheting a dress guard for it, so all that’s left is to get a basket and a bell for it to be perfect!

I’ve also been planning a lovely giveaway for you readers, together with the people of Cafe Press. You’ll hear more about it on Monday, but in case you haven’t heard of Cafe Press, here’s the blurb they would like to be introduced with: find millions of hats & caps, custom iPhone cases and gifts for Valentine’s Day at CafePress!

I hope everyone enjoyed the holidays as much as I did. See you in 2011! ;)

97 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2010 11:09 am

    Congratulations on the new (to you) set of wheels! Hope you have a lovely New Year. :)

  2. December 31, 2010 11:44 am

    Oh wow, Eva. I love your new bike. Cool! Happy New Year!

  3. December 31, 2010 11:48 am

    What a lovely set of photographs. I love the idea of you riding around on your new bicycle with a wicker basket on front!

    • January 8, 2011 2:55 am

      Thanks Helen! I’ve found the basket, so I’ll have to take another photograph. :D

  4. December 31, 2010 12:15 pm

    Great photos Eva! What a great bargain on the bike! Hope you have a great new year! :)

  5. December 31, 2010 12:49 pm

    Looks (and sounds) like a wonderful holiday break! Enjoy your bike and have a very Happy New Year!

    • January 8, 2011 2:55 am

      Thank you Claire! Hope you enjoyed your Vancouver New Year. :D

  6. December 31, 2010 1:31 pm

    I’m getting to know my new Nook too. Maybe if I name it, it will seem more human…:)
    Happy New Year!

    • January 8, 2011 2:56 am

      I’m all about naming inanimate objects! :)

  7. December 31, 2010 1:57 pm

    Glad you’ve been having such a fun break – Happy New Year to you, Eva!

    • January 8, 2011 2:56 am

      Thanks Litlove! Happy New Year to you as well. :)

  8. December 31, 2010 2:02 pm

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Fantastic photos and awesome find with the bike!

    • January 8, 2011 2:56 am

      I felt lucky to come across the bike! :D

  9. December 31, 2010 3:11 pm

    Eva, nice to know what you’ve been up to down the road from me – I’m in Austin by the way. Hope that you have a very Happy New Year! I wish you much joy and lots of good reading in 2011.

    • January 8, 2011 2:56 am

      I didn’t realise that Kay! We’ll have to organise a southern Texas book bloggers get together, since I missed the Oct book festival. :)

  10. December 31, 2010 3:24 pm

    Love the photographs, especially of the Christmas light(s). I love taking random pictures and the bicycle looks like fun. Hope you have a wonderful New Year!!

    • January 8, 2011 2:57 am

      I’m trying to take more random pictures! (Thinking about doing the shot a day thing.) The bicycle’s definitely fun. :D

  11. December 31, 2010 3:38 pm

    Congratulations on finding your perfect bike! :) And Happy New Year!

  12. December 31, 2010 4:02 pm

    Make sure you also get a helmet for your bike if you don’t already have one! I am very anti-people not wearing helmets when they ride bikes!

    Did you wind up getting a nook Color or the original nook? It looks like the original, which I tried out but found too laggy and not great with a battery for my liking. I was checking out the color ones in the store and they had me considering foresaking My Little Psony. (Only her battery life is way too good to trade in for something that only gets about 8 hours… that would not have got us through the MN – TN car ride yesterday!)

    • January 8, 2011 2:59 am

      Have you seen this video? ;)

      I went with the original: I wanted the eInk technology. I’ve learned when I need to ‘flip’ the page in order to read without interruptions; I tell it to flip a couple sentences before I’m at the end of a page and then there’s no lag. So I’m quite happy with it, but I’m not a tech person.

  13. December 31, 2010 4:37 pm

    I’ve always wanted a bike like that for tolling around town. A little wooden basket for library books…I hope you enjoy it! And Happy New Year!

    • January 8, 2011 2:59 am

      I’m going to need some strong metal rear baskets for the number of library books I get! ;)

  14. December 31, 2010 6:06 pm

    Glad to hear you had a great holiday. Happy new year!

    • January 8, 2011 2:59 am

      Thanks Vasilly! Hope you had a nice new year. :)

  15. December 31, 2010 6:53 pm

    What a lovely bike, Eva! Thanks for the photos and have a Happy New Year!

  16. December 31, 2010 8:00 pm

    Fun photos, and I LOVE your new bicycle!

    • January 8, 2011 3:00 am

      Thanks Daphne! I can’t imagine trying to cycle around San Francisco: my thighs are cringing just imagining those hills. ;)

  17. December 31, 2010 8:14 pm

    Happy New Year, Eva!

  18. Ruth permalink
    December 31, 2010 8:46 pm

    Eva, I love your new bike. I don’t know if you are a fan of PBS Masterpiece, but last week they aired a comedy drama called Framed which was set in a small Welsh village. There were many scenes in the show where the one room school teacher (played by the lovely Eve Myles) would be seen riding her vintage bicycle up and down the roads of the village. I instantly thought that this was what I might do in the new year – find myself a nice bicycle with a basket and make trips to the library on it or ride to the park to feed the ducks.

    Let us know how you like your nook. My husband gave me an Amazon Kindle for Christmas. I’m not sure how I like it yet. I’m not sure how often I will be using it. I’m not ready yet to give up reading hard copies of regular books. I have only ordered one book to my Kindle thus far – Terry Pratchet’s I Shall Wear Midnight. The one thing that I am really enjoying with the Kindle is visiting the Kindle store and being able to access the internet on the Kindle. The latter was a big surprise. I didn’t know I could get on the internet with the Kindle. I thought it was only for books, magazines, and newspapers. Blessings and a Happy New Year

    • January 8, 2011 3:02 am

      I am a big PBS Masterpiece girl: I love Eve Myles, and her bicycle was so cute. Good luck finding your own!

      I’ll definitely do up a post about my Nook when I’ve gotten to know it better. I wanted it so I could read obscure classics more easily, and so far it’s done a brilliant job at that. I was surprised to see I could go online too!

  19. January 1, 2011 4:13 am

    Happy 2011!

    That looks like a nice bike! And you visited a mission, that must have been interesting..

    • January 8, 2011 3:02 am

      Yep! It’s not quite my dream Dutch style, but it’s still fun. :) The mission was marvelous; I can’t wait to go explore the others.

  20. January 1, 2011 9:38 am

    Happy new year Eva! And nice bike :)

  21. January 1, 2011 9:43 am

    Happy New Year and enjoy the bike! He/she/it (will you name the steed?) looks like a vintage classic.

    • January 8, 2011 3:03 am

      Definitely! She’s a girl, and her name is Hettie. :)

  22. January 1, 2011 9:44 am

    Happy new year, Eva! That is a lovely bike. The basket and bell would be perfect.

    • January 8, 2011 3:03 am

      I’ve found the basket; still on a quest for a lovely bell. The ones available locally are all quite ugly; I might have to order online.

  23. January 1, 2011 10:55 am

    Happy New Year! I loved your beautiful photos!

    I do a photo meme on Saturdays, and you’d be welcome to leave a link if you want to.

    • January 8, 2011 3:04 am

      Thank you Alyce! I shall try to remember to link. :)

  24. January 1, 2011 11:05 am

    That is the perfect bike, one like I have been looking for for years! Enjoy.
    Glad to hear you had a nice holiday doing things with your family and taking some fun photos :) All the best in 2011!

    • January 8, 2011 3:04 am

      Thanks: I hope you find your perfect bike too! :)

  25. January 1, 2011 1:00 pm

    love the bike Eva ,happy new year to you all the best for the coming year

    • January 8, 2011 3:04 am

      Thanks Stu! I hope it’s a good year for you as well. :)

  26. January 1, 2011 1:08 pm

    I love your new bike! I can totally see you cruising around on it.

  27. January 1, 2011 1:53 pm

    Great photos ! I like the one of you and the door !

    • January 8, 2011 3:05 am

      Thank you! Some other people totally walked by while I was posing for that one; I’m sure they thought I was silly. ;)

  28. January 1, 2011 3:26 pm

    Cool! Your cruiser is beautiful and it sounds like you had a wonderful holiday. WElcome to the dark side, fellow Nook owner!! Haha!

    • January 8, 2011 3:05 am

      I didn’t realise it was the dark side, but I’m glad to be here! ;)

  29. January 1, 2011 4:38 pm

    What a great bike, I can just see you riding around with a basket filled with books :) Happy 2011!

    • January 8, 2011 3:06 am

      Thanks Bina! I want to install a couple rear baskets for my books, so I don’t worry about their weight throwing things off balance. But I have been tossing a couple in my front basket!

  30. January 1, 2011 5:16 pm

    Happy New Year! You are too cute! How is the nook working for you? I’ve been flirting with the idea of jumping on the ebook bandwagon…

    • January 8, 2011 3:07 am

      Thanks TY! The Nook’s working great for me so far: I’ll post about it in a month or so. :)

  31. January 1, 2011 7:15 pm

    Happy 2011, Eva! We’ve missed you and I can’t wait to read about the books you read while away from the blog. I’m sure you’ve read countless good books.

    Your bike is adorable! Have fun riding it.

    • January 8, 2011 3:08 am

      Thanks Iliana! I actually had a reading slump, but I’ve still got a few good books to talk about. :)

  32. January 1, 2011 7:21 pm

    Fabulous Christmas present to yourself — Happy new year!

    • January 8, 2011 3:09 am

      Thanks Candace! My grandmother & great-aunt were amused to hear I’d got myself a 60s bicycle with their checks. :) Happy New Year to you as well!

  33. January 1, 2011 7:31 pm

    Love the bike! Hope your journeys out are happy ones. And don’t forget to name the bike too just like Flavia. :)

    • January 8, 2011 3:09 am

      Thanks Frances! I’ve named her Hettie; I forgot Flavia named her bicycle as well. :)

  34. January 1, 2011 8:00 pm

    Congrats on the new nook… I’m curious to know how you, who reads so much, find it.

    • January 8, 2011 3:10 am

      I’ll definitely be doing a write-up on it once I’ve gotten to know it better! :)

  35. January 1, 2011 11:34 pm

    Great pictures Eva. Glad to see you have been having some fun during the holidays. I can’t wait to hear what you decide to name your Nook. I never thought about naming my Kindle but maybe I should!

    • January 8, 2011 3:10 am

      Thanks! As I posted today, I’ve named it Athie. :D I name everything, hehe.

  36. January 1, 2011 11:52 pm

    What a great bike! I’m so envious. My partner decided it was time for me to graduate to cleats (or clipless pedals) this Christmas. If you dont know what this means, basically you get special shoes and new pedals which you clip into. My experience so far has been disasterous with a serious fall occuring every time I’ve tried. I would just love to have a bike like yours instead – it’s just gorgeous.

    • January 8, 2011 3:11 am

      Eek! I hadn’t heard of that before, but it sounds quite stressful. Sounds like you need to tell your partner that he’s mistaken. ;) Or just get yourself a cruiser when he’s not looking! ;)

  37. January 2, 2011 9:16 am

    Oo, nice bike. My sister loves vintage bicycles, and is always buying crappy ones and fixing them up, but she lives in a slightly sketchy neighborhood, so they keep getting stolen. I bet she’d be very envious if she could see yours.

    • January 8, 2011 3:12 am

      Aww: your poor sister! I’m so nervous that someone’s going to steal Hettie (my bicycle), although my dad says no one will want her because she’s older. I’m hoping that’s the case! (Of course, I use a lock, but I think I need another one for the rear tire.)

  38. January 2, 2011 9:54 am

    Wow, fun! i might be a geek but I’m actually more excited about the bike acquisition than the Nook. :O) Enjoy your fun stuff!

    • January 8, 2011 3:12 am

      I don’t think that makes you a geek! :)

  39. January 2, 2011 10:11 am

    Your bike looks awesome! I hope you enjoy it.

    • January 8, 2011 3:13 am

      Thanks Dorothy! I’ve definitely been enjoying it. :D

  40. January 2, 2011 10:37 am

    I can’t imagine a more delightful time spent than finding a bike and visiting a mission and taking photos!

    Here’s my Sunday Salon post: http://www.readerbuzz.blogspot.com

  41. January 2, 2011 4:31 pm

    I love your pictures, Eva. (Can I just ask, what camera do you use? (I’m planning on buying a new one for my birthday.))

    I also love your bike. That’s exactly the kind of one I’d ride. :D Love the vintage look.

    • January 8, 2011 3:19 am

      Of course! I use a Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS7. I received it for Christmas last year, after doing lots of research, and I LOVE it. For a point-and-shoot, it has great lens (both macro capability and a 12x optical zoom) and lots of scene options. It’s very user-friendly; when I’m feeling lazy, I pick a scene or put it on intelligent auto and always like the results. And when I’m not feeling lazy, I can play with various settings. The only thing I can’t do is manually change the aperture on its own, but I think only one point-and-shoot (a very expensive Canon) has that. It’s been able to take every shot I’ve asked of it, and I’m always happy with the results. Anyway, all my friends & family are jealous of it, if that helps your decision! ;)

  42. January 2, 2011 8:28 pm

    Yay on the new Nook! I can’t wait to find out what you end up naming it. The bike story is awesome. You MUST take pictures when you get the basket and the bell!

    • January 8, 2011 3:20 am

      I’ve found the basket (still searching for the perfect bell), so I’ll put up some new photos soon! And as I posted today, my Nook’s name is Athie. :)

  43. January 3, 2011 5:39 am

    What a cute bicycle! I hope you will have some fantastic rides on it.

    • January 8, 2011 3:20 am

      Thanks Willa! I’ve gone on a few rides now, and they’ve been lovely. :)

  44. January 3, 2011 10:41 am

    What a delightful holiday season you’ve been having! Love the new bike, and the mission looks gorgeous.

    • January 8, 2011 3:21 am

      The mission is stunning! Unfortunately, the church itself is closed for renovation at the moment, but at least the grounds are there. :)

  45. January 3, 2011 6:26 pm

    Happy New Year! It sounds like your busyness was fun. I love the pictures from the mission!

  46. January 4, 2011 9:33 am

    Just a quick comment to say Happy New Year and I love your bike! What a lovely Christmas gift to yourself.

    • January 8, 2011 3:22 am

      Thank you Lesley! Happy New Year to you as well. :)

  47. January 5, 2011 5:12 pm

    I love your bike! So lovely. I too have been bitten by the bicycle bug and currently am saving up for one myself. I am new to your site and I love the layout. We have many things in common especially books. I am looking forward to reading your blog this year. I too have started a book blog and hope you stop by and visit me one day! : )

    Happy Reading!

    Phaedra

    • January 8, 2011 3:22 am

      Thanks for the compliments Phaedra! I’m off to visit your blog. :)

  48. January 6, 2011 11:24 am

    “getting to know my new Nook (still looking for the perfect name)” This cracks me up. My husband got me a Kindle for Christmas and I named it (Argus, Odysseus’ dog in The Odyssey) and he thought I was crazy. Love the bike too!

    • January 8, 2011 3:23 am

      You’re not crazy! I name everything. :D Argus is a great name too.

Trackbacks

  1. Introducing Hettie! « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

