Skip to content

The How, and When, and Why, and What of Reading

December 11, 2010


photo credit

So this is supposed to be about the how, and when, and why, and what of reading-about the way that, when reading is going well, one book that leads to another and to another, a paper trail of theme and meaning; and how, when it’s going badly, when books don’t stick or take, when your mood and the mood of the book are fighting like cats, you’d rather do anything but attempt the next paragraph, or reread the last one for the tenth time.
-Nick Hornby, The Polysyllabic Spree

18 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 1:39 pm

    Ah, if this isn’t true, I don’t know what is…:O)

  2. December 11, 2010 1:57 pm

    Beautiful quote, Eva! I can totally relate to it! The picture of the kitten is so beautiful! We once had a kitten like this – it was black and white – which used to ‘growl’ at us like this, when it was not in a good mood or if it was in an aggressive mood :)

    • December 13, 2010 3:52 am

      I might have decided to use this quote just so I could have a kitten picture. ;) lol at your kitten!

  3. December 11, 2010 6:08 pm

    I love when one book leads to the next in the paper trail of themes :)

  4. December 11, 2010 8:13 pm

    Awww, teh kitty!

    • December 13, 2010 3:52 am

      I know, right?! I spent like an hour on Flckr looking at all the kitten pictures…it was so hard to narrow it down to one. :D

  5. December 11, 2010 11:09 pm

    Oh, that Nick Hornby! He really knows how to tell it!

  6. December 11, 2010 11:21 pm

    So true.

    And I love the kitty. :)

  7. December 12, 2010 4:26 am

    That’s perfect :)

  8. December 12, 2010 7:10 am

    Been there too!

  9. December 12, 2010 7:25 am

    that was wonderful…especially the last line!

  10. December 12, 2010 12:26 pm

    *sneaks up to The Polysyllabic Spree on the out-from-the-library book shelf* Can’t wait to read it!

    • December 13, 2010 3:53 am

      Heehee: sneak very, very quietly. ;)

  11. December 12, 2010 3:25 pm

    That is so true!

  12. stujallen permalink
    December 12, 2010 3:45 pm

    Great quote from a wonderfully bookish book ,all the best stu

  13. December 13, 2010 4:05 pm

    Yes! I LOVE Nick Hornby’s Believer essays! I’ve only gotten to The Polysyllabic Spree, but the others await me on my shelf. It’s all so darn quotable, too!

Trackbacks

  1. ‘The Complete Pollysyllabic Spree’ by Nick Hornby « Between a Rock and a Hardcover
  2. The Pleasures of Rereading « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

