Skip to content

Housekeeping Odds and Ends (including a chance to vote!)

December 1, 2010


photo credit

I’ve been trying to figure out a loose blogging schedule lately, just a general idea of what types of posts I want to do and how often. But since I’m having a hard time deciding on frequency, I thought I’d ask y’all what you enjoy seeing! And yes, I know this is my blog and I should just do what makes me happy, but all of these types of posts make me happy. ;) What I’ve done is listed the different types of posts I plan on focusing on in the future, provided a link to a representative post so you know what I’m talking about, and asked how frequently you’d ideally see each one. So there are six little polls instead of one large one, each with the same format. You can vote anonymously and without leaving a comment, so even if you read my blog and never comment, I’d love for you to take a moment and vote. I’ll leave them all open for a week, and I want to thank you in advance for your input. It’s really helpful to me!

In other news, I finally joined LibraryThing. I thought that since I was going to be arranging all of my books soon anyway, now was as good a time as ever to catalogue them! I’m also hoping that this will be a good answer to that perennial book blogging question: how to track your wishlist. I chose the same username that I have on Twitter for simplicity’s sake: BiblioEva. I haven’t actually done anything on it yet, but I’ll let you know when I’ve got my home library entered so you can check it out. And apparently one can have friends on LT? So if you’re also on there and would like to friend me, that would be lovely. And if you have any advice to offer, comment away!

Finally, I just remembered a discovery I made awhile ago and forced out of my head. Apparently, on free WordPress blogs, viewers who are not signed in to a WordPress account sometimes see Google advertisements. *sigh* So if you read my blog without a WP account, and you’ve wondered about those advertisements, I just wanted to say that it wasn’t my decision, I didn’t even know they existed until a couple months ago, and I certainly don’t see any profit from them. I think the only way to get rid of them is to upgrade to a paying account or move back to Blogger. The former is financially unfeasable at the moment, and as far as the latter goes, I strongly prefer WP’s approach to comments, so I’m staying put. But as someone who agrees with this message, I find WP’s policy depressing to say the least.

83 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 7:31 am

    I never see any ads on WordPress, on my blog or anyone else’s, so I’m surprised to hear they exist. Is this because being a blogger I have an account?

    • December 3, 2010 1:26 pm

      Yep: if you’re logged in, you’ll never see them. And they don’t always appear even if you’re not logged in…just sometimes. Weird, right?

  2. December 1, 2010 7:38 am

    I didn’t know about the ads either:( Maybe because I use WP as well but probably because I tend to read most posts through my readers…

    • December 3, 2010 1:26 pm

      Yeah: I don’t think it’s something they advertise! At least they don’t show up in feed readers.

  3. December 1, 2010 7:39 am

    huh, I did not know that about WP and advertisements. ugh

    • December 3, 2010 1:27 pm

      I don’t think they *always* show up, if that’s any comfort!

  4. December 1, 2010 7:42 am

    I don’t have a WP account, and I don’t see any ads – at least not right now I don’t. Do they only show up every once in a while?

    I voted in the polls and friended you on LT. I’m yourotherleft there. :)

    • December 3, 2010 1:27 pm

      Yep: I think it’s sporadic when they appear. Thanks for voting/LT friending me!

  5. December 1, 2010 7:44 am

    I had no idea about the WP policy. How annoying.

    • December 3, 2010 1:28 pm

      Isn’t it? But I think the rest outweighs that drawback.

  6. December 1, 2010 8:06 am

    Great poll!

    Ads? Yuck, didn’t know that.

    About LibraryThing: I just searched for you (to send a friend request) and couldn’t find you … I’m lindsacl there.

    • December 3, 2010 1:43 pm

      I’ve added you! :) I don’t know why I wasn’t showing up in a member search. :(

  7. December 1, 2010 8:12 am

    I didn’t know you were on twitter – so I’ve gone and found you! Ditto on librarything – I love librarything.

    BTW – in reply to your nutella comment on my blog, I also don’t eat gluten – I occasionally buy GF bread, but mostly I just eat it straight out of the jar with a teaspoon *embarassed*

    • December 3, 2010 1:44 pm

      I didn’t know that you were on Twitter! lol I’m glad we’re friends there now (and on LT). :)

      I eat Nutella straight out of the jar with a teaspoon too. hehe That’s what I meant when I said it was too sweet for me to eat more than a couple teaspoons at a time.

  8. FleurFisher permalink
    December 1, 2010 8:19 am

    I really don’t like that WordPress policy, but I like other things too much to leave.

    And I generally love whatever you write about, but I’ll fill in a few polls now.

    • December 3, 2010 1:44 pm

      Thanks for doing the polls Jane! I’m w/ you re: WP.

  9. December 1, 2010 8:34 am

    I’m not a wordpress person, but I’ve never seen any adverts on here so I wouldn’t worry. I loke librarything, but I don’t find my books on their all that easy to use – although goodreads is way worse!

    • December 3, 2010 1:45 pm

      Oh good: thanks for the reassurance Katrina! :)

      I’ve been adding tags as I go for my wishlist, so I’m hoping that’ll help me keep it sorted. Haven’t decided if I should tag the books that I actually own.

  10. December 1, 2010 8:44 am

    I love Library Thing. It does a lot of stats for you too, which is great!

    • December 3, 2010 1:46 pm

      I’m glad to see another fan! What kinds of stats?

  11. December 1, 2010 8:58 am

    Done voting. I had joined LT too but I think you could enter only less than 200 books or something like that. I prefer GoodReads.

    I wondered about the ads too, so annoying

    • December 3, 2010 1:51 pm

      Thanks for voting! And for clarifying your ads comment. ;)

      I went ahead and purchased a year long membership in LT so I don’ t have the 200 limit. But I can understand why that would push you towards GoodReads!

  12. December 1, 2010 8:59 am

    Not on your your blog, I meant ads on my mine.

  13. December 1, 2010 9:23 am

    I just joined LibraryThing yesterday too! I haven’t really figured it out yet, to be honest it overwhelms me, but I will have to add you as a friend when I get the chance!

    • December 3, 2010 1:52 pm

      It overwhelms me too! Right now, I’m just using it to keep track of books I see on other blogs and want to read. I figure I’ll start using it more as time goes on. :)

  14. December 1, 2010 10:44 am

    I thought that the polls were fun. Also, I agree with VioletCrush about preferring goodreads. If you join over there, we can be friends :)

    • December 3, 2010 1:52 pm

      Or you can join LT and we can be friends there! ;) lol: I honestly completely forgot about Goodreads when I signed up for LT.

  15. December 1, 2010 11:15 am

    Ads? Really? Well… that is annoying!

    Moving on, I really love all your post types so had a hard time voting. I will admit that one of the votes (for book lists) I may have set a longer time than I honestly would love to see if only because my wishlist couldn’t deal with tooo often :D

    Oh, and I added you on LT :D I love perusing people’s libraries on it!

    • December 3, 2010 1:53 pm

      Lmao @ your voting reasons for book lists!

      I hope I’ll have my actual library up on LT by the end of the year, and then you can peruse away! ;)

  16. December 1, 2010 11:16 am

    Ah, the endless wishlist dilemma. I am on LT (for cataloging purposes) and on GoodReads (to track what I’m reading at the moment), yet I somehow need a THIRD way to keep track of my wishlist. It’s really ridiculous. Anyway, friended you on LT, and hope that works out for you! I love the tagging capabilities on there, and their lack of ads.

    • December 3, 2010 1:57 pm

      lol! I’m hoping LT works for me as a wishlist sorter…otherwise, who knows what I’ll do!

  17. December 1, 2010 11:49 am

    Great poll. I like all the different types of posts you have listed.

  18. December 1, 2010 12:04 pm

    I have had LibraryThing for years and it used to be up-to-date, but now it is very outdated. I even got Goodreads, but I haven’t really used that either. I keep meaning to start again, but haven’t got that far yet. I would want to start entirely from scratch.

    • December 3, 2010 1:58 pm

      Yeah: I think I had Shelfari a few years ago and recorded at least some of the books that I own, but it’s ridiculously out of date now. That’s why I wanted to start fresh! :)

  19. December 1, 2010 12:12 pm

    Voted! :) I don’t have a WP account, but I have not seen any ads while visiting your blog. I started cataloguing my books into LibraryThing, but I’m still a long way from completing the task… It’s sort of fun, though, going through one’s books & then seeing them listed there on the site.

    Greetings,
    Tiina

    • December 3, 2010 1:59 pm

      Thanks Tiina, for voting and reassurance re: ads! :)

  20. December 1, 2010 12:36 pm

    I haven’t noticed any advertisements, but then . . . I’ve been kind of bad about visiting other blogs. I’m trying to amend that, this week. I voted!

  21. December 1, 2010 1:17 pm

    Oh, I wish you had a GoodReads account! I realize it is incredibly similar to LibraryThing, but of the two, I really prefer GoodReads (in part because of the geeky progress bar that can track where you are in whatever you’re reading). I do have a LibraryThing account but it is pretty much defunct at this point.

    Also, I had no idea about the wordpress thing… I hope the google ads bit isn’t also true if you are self-hosted but use the wordpress software (which is what I do)!

    • December 3, 2010 1:59 pm

      Maybe I’ll get a Goodreads account for what I’m currently reading? Although I think I’m far too lazy to update it every time I’ve read more pages, lol. I’m almost sure you wouldn’t have googleads if you’re paying them!

  22. December 1, 2010 1:18 pm

    Huh, I’ve never seen an ad on a free WordPress blog. That’s a disappointing policy and would be one of many reasons I’ve gone self-hosted. You can self-host for something like $5/month (mine is about £5) and that gives you complete freedom – so maybe not possible right now, but something you might want to consider in the future.

    I’m glad to see you on LibraryThing! I love it and it’s actually what got me book blogging in the first place. I’ll go add you as a friend, hope you don’t mind. :)

    • December 3, 2010 2:01 pm

      I might consider it in the future, but I’m not sure I’m willing to pay even $60 a year just to avoid ads that most people don’t see. lol I can think of other things I’d rather spend money on! :)

      I’m excited you’ve added me as a friend on LT: of course I don’t mind!

  23. December 1, 2010 1:26 pm

    Glad you joined LibraryThing! I think LT is one of the Best.Things.Ever.
    I “friended” you today :)

    • December 3, 2010 2:01 pm

      lol! Makes me happy to see such enthusiasm. :)

  24. December 1, 2010 1:51 pm

    I’ve been experiencing the same thing–wondering how often I should post and what I should post on–I’ve been feeling very blah and think it shows in what I write. Your posts are always amazing–I wish I had the energy and ideas you have as you always generate such great discussions. I don’t leave comments as often as I like but I always enjoy visiting here. So, that’s probably not all that helpful to you–will you share your results? I’m curious (well, a little nosy) about what other readers think. I’m also a LT member, so next time I log in I will look for you!

    • December 3, 2010 3:53 pm

      You know, your blog is one of the first I came across, and I’ve always loved reading it and looked up to, so your comment took me by (pleasant) surprise! I haven’t noticed anything ‘blah’ in your posts lately, but I’d be happy to share the results. :) You can click on ‘look at results’ and see the percentages whenever you’d like: at some point next week I can go over them in a post and say what surprised me. :)

  25. December 1, 2010 2:08 pm

    Ads have started to appear on my blog too and I get nothing from them. I checked into it and you can pay $30 a year to get rid of the ads, but I don’t want to spend the money.

    • December 3, 2010 3:54 pm

      I don’t want to spend the money either!

  26. December 1, 2010 3:24 pm

    Man, do I not like Blogger, for much the same reason I don’t like LibraryThing–ugly design! I’m so shallow, yeesh. I’m on GoodReads, if you ever find yourself over there. :)

    I hope you settle on a schedule soon–I’m one of those people whose tendency to sloth can only be tamed with downright compulsive scheduling, so my schedule really works for me.

    • December 3, 2010 3:55 pm

      lol! I don’t think that’s shallow. :) LT’s design doesn’t bother me, but I just popped over to GoodReads, and I do think it’s nicer looking! I think in my mind I was confusing GoodReads and Shelfari, so that’s why I decided to just go with LT. Now I feel like I have MORE dilemmas. lol

    • December 3, 2010 3:58 pm

      I’ve done a little more browsing at GoodReads, and I don’t like the ads, so I’ll be staying on LT. But I do like GoodReads’ colour scheme better!

  27. December 1, 2010 3:31 pm

    I’m a LT member — have been for a few years! Did you opt for the lifetime membership, or are you starting out free (200 books max, I beleive)? Once you get past 200 books, it’s worth it (IMO) to do the $25 lifetime thing. I did — and with the few books I’ve recieved through the Early Reviewers program (although I don’t think you need to be a lifetime member to be an Early Reviewer), it paid for itself :-).

    That all said, I couldn’t find you. I’m ValerieAndBooks there (I beleive the searches are case-sensitive, so maybe that’s why I couldn’t find you).

    I haven’t gotten into the other bookish places such as good reads or shelfari — one place is good enough for me.

    BTW I noticed the comment about eating nutella from a spoon — I’m guilty of that nearly everyday :-).

    And, as for ads, I haven’t noticed them on your site.

    • December 3, 2010 3:58 pm

      I decided to start with an annual membership, and if I use it enough I’ll plump for the lfietime one! I’ve added you; I wasn’t showing up in searches yesterday, but I am today. Maybe I was too new then?

      Glad you haven’t noticed any ads!

  28. December 1, 2010 5:11 pm

    On WordPress, the free snow started today. Granted not everyone likes it and you may have had enough snow in Colorado, ;) but in case you didn’t know about it, it is free and you get it under Appearances/Extras.

    • December 3, 2010 4:08 pm

      I’m in Texas now, so the only snow I’ll see if the faux kind! I’ll probably add it to my blog soon: thanks for telling me. :)

  29. December 1, 2010 6:34 pm

    I hope the polls help you figure out your scheduling. I’m on LibraryThing but don’t use it very often, I spend more time on Goodreads and have blogging friends there.

    • December 3, 2010 4:08 pm

      I didn’t realise there was a GoodReads/LT divide! Now I want to be on both. lol

  30. December 1, 2010 7:00 pm

    I like LibraryThing a lot and have used it for years to catalog books I own and have read. And I’ve gotten some terrific books through their Early Review program. (Small Island, Sea of Poppies) The tagging feature is really nifty, but I don’t really take advantage of it. I’ve been thinking about whether I can find a way to use tags that will enable me to get rid of my spreadsheet that I use to track trends in my reading (publication dates, author nationalities, etc.).

    As for my wishlist, I use GoodReads for that. I tried it on LT, but I found it unwieldy to turn a wishlist book into a book I had obtained. This was only a problem because I wanted my LT catalog to show which edition I actually read. (What can I say? I like accurate records ;) ) Anyway, GoodReads makes it really easy to switch editions.

    • December 3, 2010 4:10 pm

      I’ll have to look into their Early Review program: I’ve read and loved both of those! :) I want to use tags for nationality mainly, I think…I’m still trying to decide if I should tag genres/topics too. I want to, but I need a system! lol

      Since I tend to read books off my wishlist from the actual library, I won’t have to worry about adding them to my personal library catalogue. But I can understand how that would get annoying!

  31. December 1, 2010 7:11 pm

    Oh, wow, I definitely didn’t know about the WordPress ads. I hope visitors to my blog have not thought I am in it for gain. :p

    I friended you on LibraryThing, but I am almost never on there and do not exactly understand what you do with it apart from cataloging my books. Cataloging books is quite nice though.

    • December 3, 2010 4:11 pm

      I’m mainly planning on using it for cataloging too…I spend too much time on the internet already!

  32. December 1, 2010 11:33 pm

    Interesting post, Eva! I had an interesting time voting :)

    On ads on WordPress – that is something which happens when an account is given free, but surprisingly, I haven’t seen any ads in WordPress till now.

    • December 3, 2010 4:10 pm

      Well, since you’re logged into a WP account, you won’t see them. :)

  33. December 2, 2010 6:02 am

    I voted! I do think you need to do what’s comfortable for you — but regardless, I’ll keep reading.

    I’m on Library Thing and have added most of my more recent books but not my accumulated personal library from the last *mumble* years. Do yourself a favor and spend the $10 on the CueCat or other scanner. It really speeds up the process of entering books.

    I don’t use LT enough.

    • December 3, 2010 4:11 pm

      Thanks Candace! :)

      I really want that CueCat: it’s so cute! lol

  34. December 2, 2010 6:44 am

    I voted too. :-) I love your posts in general, Eva, so do whatever you feel like doing!

    I’m not on LT, but I did join Goodreads recently and love being on there. I understand that they’re similar.

    • December 3, 2010 4:17 pm

      Thank you Joanna! :) I picked LT because I’d heard more about it and I don’t like ads, but now I’m wishing I could have both. lol

  35. December 2, 2010 8:11 am

    Hi, Eva:
    I’m a little late, but I wanted to stop by and thank you for visiting my blog and leaving such nice comments! I’m glad I discovered your blog now.

    I’ve heard about LibraryThing but I’ve never checked it out…it sounds to me like a nice project for the winter.

  36. December 2, 2010 8:35 am

    I wasn’t aware of the ads but then I have an ad-block on my browser through choice (I don’t see the annoying ones on Facebook, for example, either). As I pay/self-host WP then mine -I imagine- will be ad-free.

    I am on LibraryThing as bunnyb but it is only to catalogue by Persephone and Virago collections, for my own records – will add you though!

    • December 3, 2010 4:18 pm

      If you’re logged into a WP account, you wouldn’t see the ads regardless. But that ad-block sounds neat! Which browser do you use?

  37. December 2, 2010 5:00 pm

    Just voted :)
    Hope you find a blogging schedule that works for you Eva. I sort of had one at one point and I should get back to it. More and more I find I’m scrambling at the end of the day to put something together.

    • December 3, 2010 4:19 pm

      Thanks Iliana! The polls have really helped me decide on a schedule, and I think I’ve got one sorted now. I definitely find it’s easier to blog when I have an idea of what I should be typing!

  38. December 2, 2010 5:03 pm

    I don’t even remember what I voted above. Just post what you want whenever you want! I love your blog, even though my commenting is more sporadic than it was in the past.

  39. December 2, 2010 6:16 pm

    Just a little note to say that of course love it whenever you post; I don’t comment too often right now (so tired!!) but I enjoy your reviews and chitchat!

  40. December 2, 2010 9:06 pm

    Haha, I think I “recommended” you write way more posts each week than there are days in a week! Sorry about that. :)

    Also, I too am on LT but have yet to pay for a membership so for now I use it only to catalog my Early Reviewer’s books (which you should totally join, free books, and really good ones usually too). I’m thinking about upgrading to a paid membership, though, and adding my entire existing library as well as a virtual TBR list. Let me know your thoughts on it and perhaps I’ll actually start paying for the thing. ;)

    And, I had no idea about the WP ads. Boo.

    • December 3, 2010 4:20 pm

      I’ll definitely join Early Reviewers! I went ahead and paid for an annual membership, since you can choose what level you want to pay at. If I like it enough at the end of a year, I’ll upgrade to lifetime. ;)

      Also, lol @ wanting to do more posts than there are in a week! That’s my whole problem!

  41. December 9, 2010 10:06 pm

    I just voted and it looks like you will be doing plenty of blog posts based on the results so far!

  42. December 12, 2010 8:37 am

    I’m “catching up” with my reader. Well not so much catching up, but I came across your post and I voted and now I’m simply shocked to learn that people who do not have a wordpress account see advertising on my blog. I don’t want that! It makes me seriously consider upgrading, if only I had the money and the skills..

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

