Skip to content

One Thousand!

November 29, 2010


photo credit

millennium (mɪˈlɛnɪəm)
— n pl -nia -niums

4. a thousandth anniversary

Yep, today is the millennium of A Striped Armchair: this makes one thousand published posts! Crazy, right? I thought I’d go on a bit of retrospective today, sharing with you some my favourite posts (for simplicity’s sake, I haven’t included any ‘review’ posts). Total self-indulgence, but it’s taken almost four years to get here, so I’ll enjoy it while I can. ;) Go make yourself a cup of tea, settle down in a comfy chair (bonus points if it’s striped!), help yourself to one of those balloons, and let’s get started.

While I tend to look I posted back at my early writing and cringe, I did love this post about rereading, which includes:

For me, the important thing about rereading is that the story really becomes a part of me. When I read a book once, it might affect me deeply, and I might be stunned by the beauty of it all, but eventually things begin to get hazy. Whereas if I reread it, the characters end up becoming part of an extended family, people I might not to talk to much, but the relationship is always there when I need it. :) 

My ode to The Pagemaster and Wishbone has gotten more views than any other post I’ve written. Hilarious, right? Some of my other favourite posts from 2008: In Which I Prove, Once and For All, I Am Hopelessly Addicted to Books (in which I showed just how many books I could pack in a bag), Fantasy at Any Age (chronicling my life-long love for fantasy books), Weekly Geeks: a Social Issue (a list of books about human trafficking), and Books to Keep You Up at Night (a reading list themed around an upcoming read-a-thon that is one of my most popular posts years later). I also wrote one of my favourite posts ever: Book sluts, reading moods, and giveaways oh my!. It was a humorous take on the types of books I love to read and reasons why I picked up books. Here’s a taste, but if you read one post that I’ve linked to today, read this one:

At first I thought, “Heck yeah, I’m a book slut!” (I might have thought it a bit more strongly in my head, but you can use your imaginations) And around certain kinds of books, I definitely am. If the book boasts an author name of non-English origin, I’ll throw myself at it. Who cares if it’s about a war (and thus guaranteed to be depressing), or insanely post-modern, or has an ugly cover? If it’s international, I want a piece of it. Then there’s a book size. And for this reader, size does matter. If a bookhas a definite heft, I’m going to want to bring it home. And if it’s a an international biggie, it can count on an extended stay. 

While I think I became a more solid blogger in 2009, not as many posts jumped out at me. There were a few though! I vlogged for the first time (look how short my hair was!), did a fun You Might Be a Book Blogger If… post, and made two huge lists of books that celebrate women for the Women Unbound Challenge: books I’d read and books I wanted to read.

This year, I think I hit my stride…I started including a broader mix of posts, I redesigned my blog’s appearance to reflect me better, I’ve started a few ‘features’ recently that I really enjoy doing, and all-in-all I’m really happy with the type of blogger I’ve become. Which is to say, I have several favourite posts from this year! On the semi-political front, I talked about race in reading and celebrated vaginae. I wrote a couple posts on how I read, as well as one describing my ideal home library. Finally, my posts on Why I Love Being a Book Blogger and My Book Blogging Manifesto make me smile.

Whew! It’s been quite a ride, and the reason I’ve stuck with blogging so long is really of the relationships I’ve formed with fellow book bloggers. I’ve taken quite a few breaks this year, some voluntarily and some due to circumstances beyond my control, and each one has reinforced how much I love doing this. So here’s to another 1,000 posts!

60 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 7:04 am

    Congratulations! I hope to be reading your posts for years to come!

  2. November 29, 2010 7:14 am

    Congrats, Eva!

  3. JoV permalink
    November 29, 2010 7:30 am

    OMG!! 1000??!!! I hope to get there one day, but it would take me a long time to do it. :(

    Congratulations.

  4. November 29, 2010 7:39 am

    Congrats, Eva :D

  5. November 29, 2010 8:25 am

    And they haven’t just been ANY 1000 posts; they are incredibly rich and in-depth expositions on what you’ve read or want to read. Congratulations!

  6. November 29, 2010 8:42 am

    Congratulations Eva! What a benchmark. Keep at the good work because I love reading your blog and I always find too many books to put on my wishlist;P

  7. November 29, 2010 8:43 am

    Congrats, Eva! Your posts are always a highlight of my internet–reading day. :O)

  8. November 29, 2010 8:53 am

    CONGRATULATIONS!

    And thank you so much for linking to your 2008 posts–I’ve only been following you since last year, so it’s wonderful to see them. :) Here’s to a 1,000 more!

  9. November 29, 2010 9:22 am

    Congratulations, Eva! I love reading your posts and seeing your library loot!

  10. November 29, 2010 9:58 am

    Congratulations, Eva. And do keep them coming as we love to hear from you.

  11. November 29, 2010 10:22 am

    Congrats! I am looking forward to reading more of your posts. You make the blogosphere a better place.

  12. November 29, 2010 10:38 am

    Congratulations, Eva! That’s quite a milestone and I’m looking forward to your next 1000!

  13. November 29, 2010 10:48 am

    Congrats, Eva! Looking forward to thousands more!

  14. November 29, 2010 11:26 am

    Congratulations – thanks for including all the links – it was fun to go back and read.

  15. November 29, 2010 12:11 pm

    congratulations! Love what you have to say about those ‘hefty’ international books :)

  16. November 29, 2010 1:29 pm

    *opens a bottle of champagne*

    Congrats! :)

  17. November 29, 2010 1:47 pm

    Wow, what an accomplishment! Love your retrospective; it’s well-earned. And very cool that you feel you’ve grown so much as a blogger over the course of these posts; that’s an aspect of blogging that doesn’t get mentioned very much, the personal-growth angle. Anyway, congratulations!!

  18. November 29, 2010 2:28 pm

    Congratulations and all the best for the future !

  19. November 29, 2010 2:40 pm

    How cool. I loved the post about how many books you packed for your trip, makes me feel less strange about the fact that I’m already thinking about which book and how many I should take to New York (I’m not going till November and will barely have time to read). I can’t bare the idea of running out like I did last time I went on holiday.

  20. November 29, 2010 3:21 pm

    Congrats Eva!

  21. November 29, 2010 3:41 pm

    Well done, and here’s to another thousand :)

  22. She permalink
    November 29, 2010 4:47 pm

    Yay for 1000 posts. How awesome!

  23. November 29, 2010 5:26 pm

    Congratulations! The book blogging world is a much richer place because it has you in it :)

  24. November 29, 2010 5:32 pm

    Congrats, Eva!

  25. November 29, 2010 5:36 pm

    Yay Eva! Congrats, I love visiting your blog and seeing what’s up :) I just realized that I’ve been blogging a little over a year

  26. November 29, 2010 5:47 pm

    Yay Eva! And I was thrilled that you did your first vlog because it was how I realized I’d been mispronouncing your name. LOL. :)

  27. November 29, 2010 6:22 pm

    Congratulations! Here’s to a thousand more. :)

  28. November 29, 2010 6:23 pm

    Lady, you deserve some confetti. So happy you’re here and posting away!

  29. November 29, 2010 6:46 pm

    Well done Eva! You’re an inspiration to us all. :p (But really though.)

  30. November 29, 2010 7:43 pm

    Congrats!! So glad your blogging. My thousandth is coming up soon too, I think.

  31. November 29, 2010 7:46 pm

    Wow, congrats! :D

  32. November 29, 2010 7:50 pm

    A thousand! Wow. Congrats, congrats! I hope to be reading your posts for years to come.

  33. November 29, 2010 7:50 pm

    Congrats! 1,000 is an awesome number. :-)

  34. November 29, 2010 8:48 pm

    Happy Millenium Eva! Love that you highlighted your favorite posts. I may miss some of them and am going to read them later! I’ve blogged for 3 years plus but only have a third of your number.

  35. November 29, 2010 9:09 pm

    Wow ! Congrats indeed !

  36. November 29, 2010 9:32 pm

    Wow :D Congrats Eva :D I’m looking forward to 1000 more posts too!!

  37. November 29, 2010 10:38 pm

    Happy 1000 posts! I have to say that one of my favorite posts from A Striped Armchair is the “Books to Keep You Up Post”. I think I might have visited that post a million times the first year it was published. Congrats on reaching 1k and here’s to a thousand more!

  38. November 29, 2010 11:42 pm

    Congratulations, Eva! One thousand posts is quite an accomplishment. I hope I’ll be able to read the next thousand, and the next…

  39. Kathleen permalink
    November 30, 2010 12:25 am

    Congratulations on 1000 posts! That is so awesome Eva!!

  40. November 30, 2010 2:19 am

    Congratulations, it’s quite an achievement :)

  41. November 30, 2010 2:48 am

    Congratulations, Eva! You have been so very productive – we began about the same time and I’m only on 800. Here’s to the next 1,000 for you!

  42. November 30, 2010 2:56 am

    Congratulations Eva! This is really wonderful! That celebratory picture of balloons is beautiful! And your hair does look short in your first vlog :) I read your post on ‘re-reading’ and discovered some of my favourite books there – ‘The Master and Margarita’, ‘The Name of the Rose’ (glad to know that you liked it – it is one of my alltime favourite books) and ‘Shantaram’. Have you read the book ‘Rereadings : Seventeen writers revisit books they love’ edited by Anne Fadiman? If you haven’t, I will highly recommend it).

    I am hoping to read your favourite posts that you have linked here, soon.

  43. Jillian permalink
    November 30, 2010 5:27 am

    Yay! Congrats! :-)

  44. November 30, 2010 7:20 am

    Congratulations Eva! I admire you for being able to go back and re-read your posts. For me it would be a nightmare, like listening to my own recorded voice.

    My favorite posts since I begun reading you (earlier this year) were exactly the two you’ve mentioned here about reading in colour and celebrating the vagina. You made Book Blogging history!

  45. November 30, 2010 8:02 am

    Congratulations… what a milestone!!

  46. November 30, 2010 9:04 am

    Congratulations!! I can’t even imagine having so many posts–my blog is almost a year old and I only have 160, even if about half are weekly memes. But 1000 is such a milestone!! Amazing :)

  47. November 30, 2010 10:20 am

    Congrats! I loved the post about packing books into the bag….my husband tried giving me a limit like that on our honeymoon (was it bad I took so many books on my honeymoon) and he learned never to do that again. I fit so many books in there that he thought I cheated. :)

    Here’s to another 1000!

  48. November 30, 2010 3:16 pm

    Congratulations! What a wonderful achievement! You really are an inspiration for us all, Eva.

    Greetings,
    Tiina

  49. November 30, 2010 8:12 pm

    Congrats on reaching such a momentous milestone! You certainly give us all something to strive for when it comes to the breadth and the intellectual rigor of your posts… We’re certainly a better community for having you in it! :D

  50. Nut permalink
    December 1, 2010 9:26 am

    Congrats Eva! To more great posts in future. Your blog has certainly enrich me!

  51. December 2, 2010 2:37 am

    Congratulations. I’m surprised to hear this to be honest. I would have thought you reach 1000 some time ago. I remember, back when I first tried to run a book give-a-way, you gave me very helpful advice. As though you’d been doing them for years.

    I hope you’ll do another 1000. Yours is one of my favorite book blogs.

  52. December 2, 2010 2:32 pm

    I’m a few days late, but congratulations on this momentous occasion! What a milestone. 1000 is a LOT of posts!

  53. December 2, 2010 4:57 pm

    Congrats Eva! Here’s to the next 1,000!

  54. December 2, 2010 5:04 pm

    congrats on 1000! It’s fun to see your favorite posts in the past years!

  55. December 4, 2010 11:27 am

    Congratulations Eva! Since I started reading your blog in 2009, I enjoyed the links to the earlier posts, especially the ‘book sluts’ one. It’s true that there are certain books that are like catnip to me, and then others barely turn my head. :)

  56. December 6, 2010 8:09 pm

    Oh, what a fun look back post :-) I must admit I didn’t actually click-through on any of the links you shared above BUT that is only because I have a strict deadline of being off blogosphere in about two minutes. Otherwise, I’d be all over your book slut post like a frat boy after too much PBR.

  57. December 7, 2010 1:17 am

    Whoo-hoo, congrats on your 1000th post! That’s impressive. And thanks for picking out some favourites for us to discover or rediscover!

  58. December 8, 2010 6:45 am

    Congratulations on 1000 posts Eva, that is a huge accomplishment!! I’m so happy to have found your blog and been able to follow along at least on the more recent parts of your journey! Here’s to thousands more :)

  59. December 23, 2010 3:40 pm

    Congrats on 1,000 posts! I loved reading through some of your older posts. You quickly became on of my favorite book blogs when I started blogging and I’m so glad I found you quickly. Thank you for being part of such a rich and wonderful online community.

Trackbacks

  1. Of Blogiversaries and Reading Trends « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

