Skip to content

A Long Time Ago

November 20, 2010


photo credit

A long time ago, I opened a book, and this is what I found inside: a whole new world. It isn’t the world I live in, although sometimes it looks a lot like it. Sometimes, though, it feels closest to my world when it doesn’t look like it at all. This world is enormous, yet it all fits inside an everyday object. I don’t have to keep everything I find there, but what I choose to take with me is more precious than anything I own, and there is always more where that came from. The world I found was inside a book, and then that world turned out to be made of even more books, each of which led to yet another world. It goes on and on forever.
-Laura Miller, The Magician’s Book

24 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2010 5:27 am

    I am really enjoying these quote posts of yours :) This is another one that I am sure many of us recognise.

    • November 21, 2010 8:35 am

      Thanks! I think it’s definitely going to become a regular thing: I’m enjoy making them. :) And I have so many quotes from over the years! Haven’t decided if I’ll do just reading ones or all kinds of ones.

  2. November 20, 2010 6:10 am

    Beautiful quote, Eva! It made remember how the character Philip Carey in the novel ‘Of Human Bondage’ by W.Somerset Maugham discovers the world inside a book and loses himself in it.

    • November 21, 2010 8:36 am

      I haven’t read Of Human Bondage yet! My first Maugham experience earlier this year (Cakes and Ale) did not go over so well, so I’m a bit hesitant to give him another go. I’m sure I’ll get over it eventually. ;)

      • November 30, 2010 2:35 am

        Sorry to know that your first Maugham experience didn’t go well. Hope you get to try one of his other works in the future and enjoy the experience.

  3. November 20, 2010 6:26 am

    This is such a beautiful and powerful quote! I love this. Keep the great quote posts coming!

    • November 21, 2010 8:36 am

      Thanks! I think I’ll be doing one every Saturday from now on. :)

  4. November 20, 2010 7:35 am

    I love the quote and the photo.

  5. November 20, 2010 9:08 am

    That’s a great quote! And I really like the photo (and I’m fascinated how often German seems to pop up in Engl/Am. books and pictures).

    • November 21, 2010 8:37 am

      I’m not sure if this is an American/English picture. :) But it’s so lovely, isn’t it? I wish boys still dressed that way: so precious!

      • November 22, 2010 8:43 am

        Have you seen Le Petit Nicolas/ Little Nicolas? The adaptation is super cute and the boys are all dressed like that :)

      • November 22, 2010 11:38 pm

        I haven’t! My library doesn’t have it, but when I rejoin Netflix I’ll be sure to request it. If I ever have a son, he’s going to hate me because I’m totally going to put him in vests & shorts & socks. hehe

  6. November 20, 2010 11:18 am

    Lovely quote. Thanks for reminding me that I’d wanted to read Miller’s book. I think she’s an interesting critic. Interesting choice of reading matter that young man has chosen…

    • November 21, 2010 8:38 am

      This was my first experience with her, and I definitely want to read more of her criticism now! He’s reading an almanac, right? I don’t speak German, so I just assumed that’s what it was since the words look similar to English.

  7. November 20, 2010 12:44 pm

    Everything you’ve posted from The Magician’s Book so far has been amazing! It’s going onto my TBR list, even before you’ve posted your review.

    I also wanted to say that you find the best pictures to accompany your posts!

    • November 21, 2010 8:38 am

      I’m waiting to post my review, but yep: it’s an amazing book! Thanks: I love Flckr and WeHeartIt for photos. :D

  8. November 20, 2010 5:35 pm

    OK, I really have to read that book :)

    • November 21, 2010 8:39 am

      Haha: my nefarious plot to get people to read The Magician’s Book without even reviewing it is working! It’s easily one of my top five reads this year, and I was resentful to return it to the library…I want a copy for myself!

  9. November 21, 2010 5:33 am

    Fantastic quote, I think I need to read this book in the future, I was a bit unsure of it but that quote seems to have sold it to me.

    • November 21, 2010 8:39 am

      I was very unsure of it before reading it, and now it’s one of my top reads of the year!

  10. November 25, 2010 8:19 am

    I love this quote. I keep marking the post as unread so I can revisit it.

Trackbacks

  1. The Magician’s Book (thoughts) « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

