Skip to content

A Curious Feeling

November 13, 2010


photo credit
One of the disadvantages of almost universal education was the fact that all kinds of persons acquired familiarity with one’s favourite writers. It gave one a curious feeling; it was like seeing a drunken stranger wrapped in one’s dressing-gown.
-Stella Gibbons, Cold Comfort Farm

21 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2010 5:11 pm

    That’s a beautiful picture, thanks for sharing!

  2. November 13, 2010 6:21 pm

    I love that quote! Cold Comfort Farm is already on my list, but this little taste makes me want to read it even more!

    • November 14, 2010 3:29 pm

      It’s a fun one! I’ve got Nightingale Wood waiting for me at the library: I can’t wait to read more Gibbons. :)

  3. November 13, 2010 8:38 pm

    I never understand when people feel that way – I’m always madly excited to discover other people have read books I’ve read. If they’re lovely people then yay! and if they’re terrible people, then pretty much still yay, I have a reason to think slightly better of them.

    (But I did like that line.)

    • November 14, 2010 3:33 pm

      I’m excited when people I like love my favourite authors! But when people I don’t like love them I get a bit of an odd feeling. lol I’m a bit possessive like that. ;)

  4. November 13, 2010 9:23 pm

    I agree with Jenny — it’s so annoying when people I dislike like the same books as me! How dare they?

    • November 14, 2010 3:34 pm

      I think Jenny was expressing the opposite sentiment, but I’m with you Karen! :D

  5. November 14, 2010 4:29 am

    Cold Comfort Farm is on my list of books for 2011. I fear the list might be a little too long, but who knows?

  6. November 14, 2010 8:45 am

    Lovely. I guess I’d better give that novel a second chance. I DNF’d it years ago. Maybe I wasn’t in the mood.

    • November 14, 2010 3:34 pm

      I skimmed over the satirical passages, not going to lie. But I loved the non-satirical ones.

  7. November 14, 2010 9:59 am

    I love this quote. And I love the Audrey Hepburn photo–it’s one of my favorites of her :)

    • November 14, 2010 3:37 pm

      I always love seeing actresses reading! :D

  8. November 14, 2010 10:32 am

    Love the quote, though I do love finding that others love my favorite authors too. Must add the book to my wish list!

    • November 14, 2010 6:05 pm

      If I like the person, I love connecting over authors. Otherwise…I get a bit miffed. hehe

  9. November 14, 2010 1:46 pm

    Beautiful quote and oh so true.

  10. November 14, 2010 11:23 pm

    Beautiful quote, Eva! I actually like it when others have read my favourite authors and books. But if they have handled the book poorly – leave the pages dog-eared or have spilled something on the book, then I feel sad.

    That picture is very beautiful – Audrey Hepburn is so lovely :)

  11. November 15, 2010 5:26 am

    I LOVE this quote! It’s at once satirically snobby and partially revealing. I think, sometimes, I find that I think good books belong only to me, as if they were written for just a few select people and everyone else should sit around reading The DaVinci Code. Oh and I do prefer blondes, but Audrey Hepburn makes a beautiful name for Brunettes. :O)

  12. jane permalink
    November 16, 2010 6:51 am

    What a brilliant quote – so honest! Loving a novel can be so intimate and revealing and it’s rather disconcerting to discover that someone else has loved it too, especially if it’s someone who you aren’t overly fond of. BUT, i’ve bonded with many a person over a surprising discovery that we liked the same books. You really can get to know someone fast through their taste in books!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

