Skip to content

My Weekend Plans

November 5, 2010

Filling in my newly-painted bookshelves:

Trying out a gluten-free bread recipe from the Flying Apron cookbook:

Listening to The Avett Brothers:

Curling up under a cosy blanket with a classic mystery:

And going thrifting to find some blouses that work with my new red hair (!):

Have a great weekend y’all! See you on Sunday. :)

111 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2010 8:55 am

    Love love love the new hair, Eva! How autumnal and drop-dead gorgeous! :D

    Your cozy, classic mystery looks delightful! I am in such a reading slump – all I want to do is read, and yet everything I pick up fails to capture my attention, which is dreadful. Hopefully I can snap out of it this weekend!

    • November 8, 2010 10:35 am

      Thanks Steph! :)

      I hate reading slumps: they make everything in my life feel off and I can’t force them to go away no matter how hard I try. I hope yours ends very soon!

  2. November 5, 2010 9:02 am

    Does a gluten free diet help your fibromyalgia? I know a number of people on the gluten free diet because of celiac disease, but one lady I know gave up her pain pills for rheumatoid arthritis after going gluten free.

    You have the same color red hair as my sister did when she was young. She had a temper, so I’ve always associated red hair with angry women.

    • November 8, 2010 10:36 am

      I’m gluten intolerant, so that’s why I’m on a GF diet, but it does help avoid flare-ups. :) lol @ your sister!

  3. November 5, 2010 9:21 am

    Oh my goodness but you are hawt as a redhead! Not to objectify you but it suits you. Autumnal colours for blouses will work well both with shade and season.

    • November 8, 2010 10:36 am

      Thanks Claire! Objectify away with comments like that. ;)

  4. November 5, 2010 9:30 am

    Love the red hair! It’s perfect for fall.

  5. November 5, 2010 9:32 am

    Love the hair! let us know if the gf bread is a success – I try to be gf but rarely find good bread.

    • November 8, 2010 10:37 am

      Thanks Verity! I’m making the bread today (was missing an ingredient that I didn’t pick up until yesterday), so I’ll let you know how it goes. :) I find GF bread to be generally substandard too. *sigh*

  6. November 5, 2010 9:53 am

    Love the red hair. It really looks good on you.
    VERY Jealous of your bookshelves. I still have piles in various rooms and need to find a place to put some shelves for my TBR stash.

    • November 8, 2010 10:38 am

      Thanks Shonna! It’s nice to have the three bookcases, especially now that we’ve painted them. :D However, I think I’m going to have to cull some books to make them all fit!

  7. November 5, 2010 10:42 am

    Your hair color looks so natural on you! I love, love, love it!

    Sounds like a pretty good weekend to me–hope you enjoy every second!

  8. FleurFisher permalink
    November 5, 2010 10:43 am

    Love the hair and very curious about the book. I hope your weekend is as lovely as it sounds.

    • November 8, 2010 10:38 am

      Thank you Fleur: it was! :) The book is well worth a read; I should be talking about it this week.

  9. November 5, 2010 11:00 am

    loving the red hair, Eva!

  10. November 5, 2010 11:02 am

    Love the new red hair and want to hear about how the baking goes! (Unfortunately, your link to the cookbook doesn’t work.) Have a great weekend!

    • November 8, 2010 10:39 am

      Thanks! Sorry the link didn’t work; some publishers need to learn how to make their websites user friendly! Here’s the LibraryThing page: http://www.librarything.com/work/9195100

      • November 8, 2010 11:01 am

        Thanks, Eva — that looks like a fantastic cookbook. (I’m also gluten-intolerant, so I’m very curious to hear how your baking turned out!)

  11. November 5, 2010 11:35 am

    LOOOOVE the shelves, love the bread, looove love love the hair. Seriously cute. I need to post pics of my newly-red hair.

    • November 8, 2010 10:39 am

      Thanks Andi! We’re both redheads now?! Fun!

  12. November 5, 2010 11:38 am

    I love your new hair color! Also, your weekend sounds really great. I hope you enjoy it. Oh, and leave space for a couple of Adichie books somewhere on there, I will be mailing them sooooon!!!! :D

    • November 8, 2010 10:40 am

      Thanks Amy! There’s ALWAYS space for Adichie on my shelves! :D

  13. November 5, 2010 11:51 am

    Sounds like a great way to spend the weekend. You make a fabulous redhead!

  14. November 5, 2010 11:51 am

    The red hair looks fantastic on you! Looks like a good weekend, enjoy yourself. :)

  15. November 5, 2010 12:03 pm

    You make a completely ADORABLE redhead. It is so awesome. Looks like you are going to have an amazing weekend!! Have fun!

  16. November 5, 2010 12:12 pm

    Your reading room looks so lovely! Green and purple gives me warm, fuzzy Zelda flashbacks. :) And your hair looks supercute; it’s a great color for you.

    • November 8, 2010 10:44 am

      I haven’t heard of Zelda! But I was inspired by Penelope. :) Thanks for the hair compliment!

  17. November 5, 2010 12:14 pm

    You make a beautiful redhead!

    I hope you share your thoughts on the book because I bought it on a whim and am hoping it’s good.

    • November 8, 2010 10:44 am

      Thanks Kristen! :) It was a good whim: the book’s definitely fun!

  18. November 5, 2010 1:01 pm

    I love the bookshelves and the new hair color!

  19. November 5, 2010 1:50 pm

    I almost checked that book out from the library today!!! Can’t wait to hear if it’s any good.

    • November 8, 2010 10:44 am

      I think you’d definitely enjoy it! It’s funny to think we use the same library now. :)

  20. November 5, 2010 2:00 pm

    ohmygosh, the red hair looks AMAZING on you Eva!! Enjoy your weekend. :)

  21. November 5, 2010 2:30 pm

    Love the new hair color. Happy weekend!

  22. November 5, 2010 2:36 pm

    Love the hair color. Have a great weekend!

  23. November 5, 2010 2:37 pm

    Hair looks fantastic, as do the bookshelves! Congrats on settling in a bit, & have a lovely weekend, lady. :-)

  24. November 5, 2010 3:31 pm

    Sounds like you have a fantastic weekend ahead of you!

  25. November 5, 2010 4:46 pm

    Ha! I live up the hill from the Flying Apron Bakery. I just saw the cookbook today and it is definitely on my wish list. I adore your new hair color, it brings out that sparkle in your eyes!

    • November 8, 2010 10:46 am

      I’m so jealous Gavin! The cookbook’s great looking; once I try out a few recipes I might review it. :) And thanks for the compliment!

  26. November 5, 2010 4:50 pm

    Red is a great color on you! Sounds like you’re in for a fun weekend!

  27. November 5, 2010 4:52 pm

    Wow! Love the hair!! Have a great weekend, Eva :)

  28. November 5, 2010 5:24 pm

    Girl! Look at you and your awesome new hair! I love it! You are so brave – I am way too chicken ever to dye my hair. I always think of the time poor Anne Shirley dyed her hair green by accident. But if I were ever going to do it, I’d dye it exactly that color.

    Also, I love the Avett Brothers. I like “Will You Return?” the best. Maybe.

    • November 8, 2010 10:47 am

      lol! Anne Shirley was totally my inspiration for going red. But that green dye accident was definitely running through my head while waiting for the dye to work! If you want to match, it’s Clairol Light Auburn. lol

      I can’t choose a favourite Avett Brothers song.

  29. November 5, 2010 5:54 pm

    I love the red hair! I went red for a little while and I really miss it.

    I can’t wait to see pictures of your finished bookshelves, with books! We’re moving in the middle of the month and I can’t wait to reorganize mine, and determine which books to put up.

    I try to eat gluten-free when possible. It certainly helps my pain from the arthritis, so I hope it helps you too!

    Enjoy your weekend!

    • November 8, 2010 10:49 am

      I wasn’t able to arrange my books this weekend, because my parents had to move all of my stuff into my reading room to fix the ceiling in my bedroom! lol But when I FINALLY get them arranged, I’ll definitely be including photos. :)

      I’m gluten intolerant, so I have to eat entirely GF; I’ve been doing it for about a year and a half now, so I’ve adjusted. But I’d love to find a good bread recipe!

      Also, I’m enjoying the red although a bit worried about it fading.

      • November 8, 2010 1:07 pm

        Mine faded a bit. I’ve since dyed my hair darker (brown) and using a color safe shampoo is the only way the color stays in longer.

  30. November 5, 2010 6:15 pm

    Zomg! Beautiful hair!!! It looks great on you, especially with that teal shirt. I love it! Great for fall and winter. Love the bookshelves too :)

  31. November 5, 2010 6:27 pm

    Fun hair! I love it!!

  32. November 5, 2010 6:57 pm

    Being I have a huge weakness for redheads I thoroughly approve of your new hair ! Nicely done !!

    • November 8, 2010 10:51 am

      Thanks! I swear, since I’ve dyed it, all my guy friends have informed me of their weakness for redheads. I had no idea! ;)

  33. November 5, 2010 7:38 pm

    Love all of this! Love your hair. I had red hair in high school (for a year) and loved it, although I did have to change it, and I should have had a red eyebrow pencil…

    If you like the GF recipe, post a link!

    • November 8, 2010 10:52 am

      I just dye my eyebrows with a little bit of the hair dye…I know it says it could cause blindness, but I use a Q tip and am very careful, lol.

      Baking the bread today (needed to go buy one last ingredient and it took awhile), and if it works I’ll look into the copyright issues of posting a recipe!

  34. November 5, 2010 8:20 pm

    You have some great plans! I read somewhere that purple goes great with red hair. ;-) Have fun!

    • November 8, 2010 10:53 am

      Fortunately I have a couple purple dresses! Not many purple shirts though, which is a bit odd.

  35. November 5, 2010 8:23 pm

    Your hair and your new bookcases are FABULOUS!

  36. November 5, 2010 10:10 pm

    OMG I LOVE your new hair Eva :D :D It looks amazing on you :D And your bookshelves look awesome too!! This post just made me so happy!! *hugs*

    • November 8, 2010 10:53 am

      Aww: your comment made me happy! Hugs back! :D

  37. November 6, 2010 12:04 am

    Cool change…I wonder what kind of adventures you’ll have as a redhead. Drooling over your bookshelves.

    • November 8, 2010 10:54 am

      I wonder too! I’m curious to see if people treat me differently, hehe.

  38. November 6, 2010 5:17 am

    Can I just say that you must now have red hair for the REST of your life?!? Amazing :)

  39. November 6, 2010 6:21 am

    LOVE the hair! Have a great weekend!

  40. November 6, 2010 9:24 am

    Love the new hair color! Hope you enjoy your weekend!

  41. November 6, 2010 10:25 am

    I LOVE the red hair! Gorgeous!

  42. November 6, 2010 1:45 pm

    The bookshelves and the hair look fantastic! I’ve had red hair all my life so I would advise you to go with greens, black and most blues.

    • November 8, 2010 10:59 am

      I’m jealous of your natural redhead state. :) I already have quite a bit of blues and blue-greens in my wardrobe from being a blonde, as well as a decent amount of green. So I’m glad I don’t need a whole new closet!

  43. November 6, 2010 3:52 pm

    Sounds like you are settling in to your new life:) I’ve never read The Leavenworth Case (and I love mysteries) so will check it out. And I LOVE your new hair colour. Suits you!

  44. November 6, 2010 5:07 pm

    I love the hair ;)

  45. November 6, 2010 5:09 pm

    I’m pretty sure that this sounds like a perfect weekend!!!! Shelves look great, I love thrifting, and your hair is gorgeous, plus a good mystery and blanket….definitely delightful!

    • November 8, 2010 11:00 am

      Isn’t thrifting the best? Except for reading of course… ;)

  46. November 6, 2010 5:18 pm

    I’m diggin’ the striped room. ;-)

    • November 8, 2010 11:01 am

      Thanks! It turned out just like in my brain, which is a relief. :)

  47. She permalink
    November 6, 2010 5:29 pm

    Red totally works for you!

  48. Marg permalink
    November 7, 2010 4:48 am

    Oh look at you! I went blonder!

  49. November 7, 2010 7:25 am

    Oh, fabulous new hair color! You do know that redheads have more fun, don’t you? LOL I colored mine red several years ago and haven’t changed it back….

    Fabulous new bookshelves! Ooh, I’d love to have some new shelves, but I have no place to put them. Unless I put a long shelf along the top of the wall, near the ceiling…LOL

    The colors in your reading room are great, too. I love color in a room…I live in a rented condo now and can’t paint anything, but everything I put in the rooms is colorful.

    Here’s my Sunday Salon:

    http://accidentalmoments.wordpress.com/2010/11/07/the-sunday-salon-nov-7/

    • November 8, 2010 11:02 am

      lol! I’m curious to see being a redhead v being a blonde (and I was a brunette for a couple years in college…so I’ll have them all sorted!). :D I’ve had the bookcases for a few years now, but we finally painted them, so that’s exciting! And re: walls…I have very small decorating budget, so I figured I might as well go bold with the pain. ;)

  50. November 7, 2010 11:40 am

    Hey, the red looks great on you!

  51. November 8, 2010 5:41 am

    Those nice empty shelves … they reek of promise and possibility! Hope you enjoyed filling them. My youngst daughter has red hair (hers is more of a strawberry blonde, though) so I’m a big fan of the color.

    You’re reading a historical classic, and I’m steeped in history! I’m reading “The Kennedy Detail,” by former Secret Service agent Gerald Blaine, about the Kennedy assassination. Just really, really enjoying it, both for the details about the Kennedy presidency and the difficulties in protecting JFK (he used to plunge into crowds with little warning, so the agents had to adjust on the fly) and the look at the lives of agents. It won’t be, but it should be the last word on who killed JFK — and it gives you an entirely different perspective on this tragedy that impacted the entire world.

    • November 8, 2010 11:03 am

      Strawberry blonde is such a pretty colour! :) I’m glad you’re enjoying your book; I can’t say I have much an interest in JFK, but the secret service bits sound interesting!

  52. Edie permalink
    November 8, 2010 8:29 am

    Love the red hair, which reminds me of how much I miss dyeing mine! The purple and green stripes are awesome and are two of my favorite colors! Love following your blog and maybe one day I will get mine going. :)

    • November 8, 2010 11:04 am

      Thank you Edie! When you start yours, be sure to let me know so I can check it out. You should just jump in: the water’s great! ;)

  53. November 8, 2010 9:10 am

    Ahhhhhhh look at your hair! So awesome, goes really well with your colouring. Did you get your eyebrows tinted too? I was that colour on the underneath of my hair for about a month, but it didn’t work as well on me as deeper red colours do, so happy to see someone can pull it off spectacularly.

    • November 8, 2010 11:06 am

      Aww: thank you Jodie! I dyed my eyebrows with the same dye I used on my hair. The box always warns against blindness, but back when I dyed my hair brown my eyebrow waxer said I could do it w/ a Q tip and it’d be fine. I’d never do my eyelashes, but my eyebrows are far enough away that as long as I’m careful I’ve always been fine. :)

  54. November 8, 2010 6:58 pm

    LOVE the hair! I adore the Avett Brothers and I DO love the book shelves. What a fun post. ;O)

  55. November 8, 2010 11:00 pm

    I am late in commenting, but wonderful weekend plan Eva! Hope you had a wonderful time! Your red hair is so beautiful and your picture is so nice! I couldn’t recognize your picture at first when I saw it in another blog where you had commented, and so I thought I will pop in here and check out what is happening :)

  56. stacybuckeye permalink
    November 19, 2010 7:57 pm

    Love the new red hair!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

