Skip to content

Habit Forming

November 3, 2010


photo credit

Remember how I had the internet hooked up here at home? Well, that internet went away and it took awhile to get it replaced. But now it’s steady and here for good, so I can get back into blogging! But, I’ve been on on-again/off-again blogger for quite awhile now, so I almost have blog stage fright. I read 20 books in October, and I’ve only talked about one of them! What to do?! I’ll probably start talking about the ones I loved best first, since it’s always more fun to write those posts. :) Not to mention all of the great authors I want to add to my Assembling My Atheneum series! And some other things percolating around in my head.

Basically, this post is a place-holder. It’s allowing me to get over my stage fright, get something published this morning, and get back into the rhythm of blogging. And to remind myself that although I’ve been quite sporadic these past few months, I can still be a blogger. I want my blogging habit back, so you’ll be seeing regular updates here over these last two months of 2010 (eek!).

You know, not having reliable internet at home, and before that at the hotel, means I never did catch up on my blog reading from September & October. Sooo: have I missed anything unmissable in the blogosphere lately? Any new bloggers out there that I should check out immediately? Fill me in!

64 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 4:22 am

    That is an absolutely fabulous picture Eva! I wish I had it hanging up in my reading room.

    And glad to see you around. :D

    • November 6, 2010 11:14 am

      Isn’t it great?! The guy has a whole set of them on Flickr: I had such fun looking at them all. :)

  2. November 3, 2010 4:23 am

    I’m sure you’ll get right back into blogging! I for one can’t wait to hear about everything you’ve read :)

  3. November 3, 2010 4:26 am

    Welcome back! I’ve been reading your blog for a while but I don’t think I’ve ever commented. I just moved to the UK from the US and it took us two months to get our home internet hooked up. We just got it last week. I feel your pain!

    I love the new header picture! My favorite book is P&P and the scene you have the book open to is one of my favorites.

    • November 6, 2010 11:15 am

      Thanks for taking the time to comment Kristi! Isn’t P&P great? It’s one of my favourite scenes too. :) And I hope you’re enjoying the UK, especially now that you have internet. ;)

  4. November 3, 2010 4:39 am

    There’s no reason to have stage fright – we’ve all missed you!

  5. November 3, 2010 5:01 am

    welcome back eva ,love the pic ,all the best stu

  6. bethfishreads permalink
    November 3, 2010 5:39 am

    Just jump right back in! Glad to have you back with us.

  7. November 3, 2010 6:06 am

    Welcome back Eva! And no stage fright necessary, we love everything you write :) I look forward to more posts!

    Also, I have to add a couple of links that I think you might like. First, I reviewed my favorite book of the year, Annabel by Kathleen Winter. Second, I reviewed No Place Left to Bury the Dead, which you had recommended to me!

    • November 6, 2010 11:15 am

      You’re too sweet Amy! And thanks for the links: I’m off to check them out. :D

  8. November 3, 2010 6:08 am

    Come on in, the water’s fine!

    I’m hosting a Narnia Week at the end of the month, if you are so inclined. :) Other than that, the blogosphere’s been fairly quiet; Robin McKinley’s Pegasus came out yesterday, and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part One is coming soon.

    • November 6, 2010 11:18 am

      Ohh: Narnia! I lurved them as a child, although I have more conflicting thoughts about them now. ;) Maybe I’ll read The Magician’s Book, since I reread Magician’s Nephew & The Horse and His Boy last year.

  9. November 3, 2010 6:09 am

    We look forward to having you back. I love that picture, where did you find it?

    • November 6, 2010 11:20 am

      Thanks Vivienne! I found it searching Flickr’s Creative Commons: I linked to the source under it. The creator has a whole set you can check out. :)

  10. November 3, 2010 6:36 am

    I’m glad you are back, Eva. Can’t wait to hear about what you have been reading and to see what you find at your new library!

  11. November 3, 2010 7:09 am

    I LOVE that picture as well!!! Glad to have you back!!

  12. November 3, 2010 7:10 am

    I’m glad to see you’ll be popping back more often! Looking forward to reading about all the great books you read in October, and I hope you’ve settled in nicely to your new house!

    • November 6, 2010 11:21 am

      It’s more of a settl-ing than settl-ed, but it’s going well (if slooooowly). ;)

  13. November 3, 2010 7:30 am

    Welcome back Eva and I hope you’ve settled in to your new home! I can’t imagine you having blogging stage fright. And you’ve read 20 books in October so you can do one of those multiple reviews in one post which you are so good at:)

    • November 6, 2010 11:21 am

      I shall have to bust out the multi-review approach soon! :)

  14. November 3, 2010 8:19 am

    Welcome back! I am glad to hear that you are settling in nicely on the home front and I am still loving your red hair. I think you should only read book with covers that compliment your new hair color.

    • November 6, 2010 11:22 am

      LOL Now that could be an interesting reading challenge! ;)

  15. November 3, 2010 8:33 am

    Wuhu you’re back! Not sure what we’ve all been doing this side of the pond really except staring in horror at our elected representatives (the discussion about bringing back hunting was on the news the other day Eva, I haven’t heard that discussion in years!). If you don’t know about her already I recommend Magical Colloquial (http://magicalcolloquial.blogspot.com/) because she’s very cool, but I don’t want to weight down your feed reader.

    • November 6, 2010 11:23 am

      No worries about weighing down my reader: I keep it pretty slim, so there’s always room for a couple new lovely blogs! Wow: hunting’s back in the news?!

  16. November 3, 2010 8:57 am

    I love the photo! Welcome back to the wonderful land of book blogging. It will be nice to hear from you on a more regular basis now that you are settling in. I’m sure I will add many books to my wish list after reading your reviews of all of those books you read in October!

  17. November 3, 2010 10:44 am

    Welcome back! Love love love the pic of the woman with the VAIO. Too funny. Glad your Internet is useable and stable. Can’t wait to read about those books!

    • November 6, 2010 11:41 am

      Isn’t it hilarious?! :) Thanks for the welcome Andi!

  18. November 3, 2010 11:10 am

    So nice to see you back Eva. Just start talking about any book that interests you and voila, a blog post! Your honesty and enthusiasm always carry you well, it’s what we like about you. :)

    • November 6, 2010 11:41 am

      Thank you Sandra: just the little pep talk I needed! :D

  19. November 3, 2010 1:58 pm

    I love that picture. I just keep glancing back at it thinking ‘Ha! Wonderful.’

  20. November 3, 2010 2:22 pm

    So nice to have you back on blogging again, Eva! I’m looking forward to reading about what you’ve read since your last reviews.

    Greetings,
    Tiina

  21. November 3, 2010 6:07 pm

    I’m having that same stage fright feeling with my non-books blog – I need to follow your example and just dive back in! Welcome back and I look forward to your recaps of your fallish reads. :-)

    • November 6, 2010 11:42 am

      Stage fright is such a funny thing, isn’t it? I think diving back in is the way to go.

  22. November 3, 2010 6:38 pm

    The picture for this post is fantastic! I look forward to hearing your thoughts on the books you’ve read. I think the Middlemarch Readalong (hosted by Things Mean A Lot) was at the end of August, though some of us were finishing up in September – I think I remember you saying you liked the book in a previous post at some point.

    • November 6, 2010 11:43 am

      I lurved Middlemarch. :D I was contemplating rereading it this year, but time got away from me!

  23. November 4, 2010 2:22 am

    Welcome back! What an amazing picture, I absolutely adore it! I will send the link to my sister – she has the same laptop :-)

    Hope you will stop by my blog when you have time. Have a great day.

    • November 6, 2010 11:43 am

      Thanks Willa! There’s a whole set of them on Flickr if you follow the link. :)

  24. November 4, 2010 2:50 am

    Welcome back Eva, I’ve missed you! :-)

  25. November 4, 2010 2:56 am

    Your silence gave me pause…I was thinking about how I would so much love to have one of the larger apartments here (a one bedroom!) then I got to thinking that I’d have to have my internet transferred and what if it went away and there’s the language barrier. As much as I’d love a place where I could have book group over, I guess I can be content as long as I’m wired.
    Welcome back. Hugs.

    • November 6, 2010 11:44 am

      Thanks Susan! I imagine it’d be much harder to be internet deprived in a non-English speaking country. Maybe just stuff the book group into your current place! ;)

  26. November 4, 2010 9:20 am

    I’m on a little break myself :) Glad to have you back though, and can’t wait to hear more about this month’s books.

    PS – I just LOVE that photo!

    • November 6, 2010 11:45 am

      Isn’t it great? Flickr is my new fave time waster, hehe. And I think a little break now and then is good…I’ve just been taking a few too many of them. ;)

  27. November 4, 2010 9:40 am

    Even though my writing’s on the net, normally I wouldn’t enjoy a picture like the one of the young woman above, but…I really like it!

    You may be interested to know that Sherman Alexie is coming out with a new book of essays.

    • November 6, 2010 11:45 am

      Ohhh: I am interested to hear about a new Alexie: thanks! And I think the picture has an odd charm…it’s definitely my favourite of the ones he’s done. :)

  28. November 4, 2010 11:55 am

    It would be a bit intimidating to have 20 books to write about. Our internet was out for a few hours the other night and I discovered how much time I truly waste online. I read about 200 pages that night and enjoyed my technology-free time. So I completely understand how you could get out of the habit.

    That being said, as soon as the connection was restored I was drawn back to the computer like a junkie. :)

    • November 6, 2010 11:46 am

      I find it very difficult to step away from the computer when I have internet access, so I need to work on that! I should download one of those programs that only lets me spend X number of hours online a day, but I’m too much of a wimp. ;)

  29. November 4, 2010 1:44 pm

    Welcome back Eva!

  30. November 4, 2010 4:57 pm

    I’m finding it hard to get back into a blogging rhythm too. I keep marking all as read in my Google Reader, and forgetting to write blog posts, and then feeling sad about it later. Moving is terrible. I’d say I’m never going to do it again, but I do not anticipate living in New York City my whole life, so someday I will have to move back to Louisiana again.

    • November 6, 2010 11:47 am

      Jenny!!! You moved to NYC?!?!?!

      • November 7, 2010 7:08 am

        I know! It is so weird for me! I got a job in publishing. :p

  31. Caroline permalink
    November 5, 2010 4:37 pm

    Glad to have you back, Eva! I’ve been reading your blog for a while, but have never managed to de-lurk before. I just wanted to say how much I enjoy reading your blog – I have discovered many great books from your recommendations that I would otherwise have missed (the latest being The Beekeeper’s Apprentice – just wonderful! can’t wait to read the rest of the series!) – and how glad I am that you’re getting back to blogging after your move – you have been greatly missed.

    • November 6, 2010 11:48 am

      Thank you Caroline: what a sweet thing to say! And I’m so glad you loved Beekeeper’s Apprentice. :D In my humble opinion, the series only gets better, so you’ve got a treat in store!

  32. November 8, 2010 10:54 pm

    Nice to see you back, Eva :) Hope you are enjoying your new city and your new home. Looking forward to reading your thoughts on all those books that you read.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

