Skip to content

A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words

October 13, 2010

Once I published that post on Saturday, I realised that I’d left my camera cable in my car. As I was far too lazy to go out and get it, I present to you now a few photographs. Since I arrived late Saturday night I’ve been so busy painting/cooking/etc. that I’ve barely made it out of my pajamas. Hence, the lack of posts; not even the internet could convince me to slap on some makeup and clothes these past couple of days. But the movers just arrived this morning, so I took myself far from the chaos and found a Starbucks with free wi-fi. I promise real book blogging will resume shortly, but I wanted to share a few photographs from my last week in Colorado and drive out here (click to enlarge).

My hotel room windows had the best view! Here’s Pikes Peak on my last full day (note the lack of snow: crazy for October!):

I have mixed feelings about zoos, but the Colorado Springs one is the least heart-wrenching of the ones I’ve visited (except the elephant enclosure, which they’re planning to rebuild), and my niece loves it. So we squeezed in one last visit, this time with my grandmother! Lots of funny pictures were taken, but I’m not going to post other people on my blog without their permission, so I’ll just include one of me and a couple of animals.

Tiger, tiger, burning bright

Why yes, I am a nerd

It's wondering why I don't have any giraffe crackers to feed it

I wish the giraffe post was in better focus, but my camera was dying (I know! I forgot to charge it the night before again! but it lasted until the end of the day this time), so I was just pushing the shutter before it shut down. Giraffes are so silly looking close up! :D

While the drive out here isn’t the prettiest one (super-rural New Mexico and west Texas anyone?), I had gorgeous weather both days, and it felt like total Americana the whole way. I took the train picture out my window without looking (since I was driving): I was shocked at how well it turned out! There’s this bit of west Texas full of windmills that I always just love; since this was my last time driving the route, I pulled over in a rest area to take some pictures. The sun was a bit too high for them to be perfect (as in, I couldn’t even see the screen of my camera for the glare), but I’m glad I tried. Then I wanted to take a photograph of myself, and the only thing to prop the camera up on was a trash can…the height and my awkward standing gives me a hilarious super-hero-esque pose that cracks me up every time I see it.

My camera took this in a car moving 80 miles an hour...have I mentioned how much I love it?

Even Don Quixote would have his hands full

Well, I really ought to get back to taping out the stripes on my reading room walls! I’ll definitely be posting photographs of both my rooms when I get them into shape, and I promise my next post will be about books. I haven’t read a ton, but I have lots to say about the ones I did get to. But then again, do I ever not have lots to say? ;)

P.S.: I adore our new house and neighbourhood! The last time we lived here, we were up in north in some rather sterile, recent suburbs. Now, we’re in a charming, tree-filled, cosy neighbourhood that’s also within walking distance of a few plazas; so far, everywhere I’ve needed to visit is within three miles. Bliss!

78 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2010 2:30 pm

    looks wonderful eva ,hope you settle and enjoy your new house ,all the best stu

  2. Erin permalink
    October 13, 2010 2:33 pm

    I especially like that bear picture :-)

    Good luck with the unpacking…and welcome home!

    • October 19, 2010 4:48 am

      Heehee: thanks. ;) Just fyi, your name isn’t linking to your blog!

  3. October 13, 2010 2:48 pm

    Perspective is a funny thing. You look tiny with the bear, but super tall with the car.

    • October 19, 2010 4:48 am

      It is a funny thing! I’m 5’3″, so definitely not super tall. ;)

  4. October 13, 2010 3:20 pm

    Tigers! I love tigers. Sigh. And I LOVE your car! Perfect for our roadtrip!

    • October 19, 2010 4:48 am

      Good: now you just need to get out here! We can go see the tigers! ;)

  5. October 13, 2010 3:31 pm

    I totally love the superhero Eva pic! (In fact, it immediately went into my “photos I steal from friends” folder.)

    • October 19, 2010 4:49 am

      Thanks Debi! ;) Let me know if you want it in higher quality, lol.

  6. October 13, 2010 3:32 pm

    Isn’t it wonderful living within walking distance of places you like to be? We are able to walk to many little shops and restaurants. I would really miss it if I couldn’t. I’m looking forward to pictures of your striped sitting room!

    • October 19, 2010 4:49 am

      It is wonderful! And pictures should be coming soon; I had to take a break before getting the last wall striped because my fibro rebelled, but now I’m feeling better.

  7. October 13, 2010 5:12 pm

    Glad to hear the move is going so well!

  8. October 13, 2010 5:17 pm

    I love the last picture of you. It’s almost like the cover of a travel magazine. :-D

  9. October 13, 2010 5:38 pm

    These are great! Thanks for sharing :)

    • October 19, 2010 4:51 am

      I’m glad you enjoyed them Samantha!

  10. October 13, 2010 6:58 pm

    That’s the silliest looking giraffe I’ve ever seen, haha :)

  11. October 13, 2010 8:14 pm

    LOL! You make a great superhero! ;) Glad to hear you’re settling in nicely in your new house and neighborhood. I’m jealous that you’ve got good stuff within walking distance. That’s definitely something I miss living where I live. I hate having to get in the car and drive to all of the places I need to go!

    • October 19, 2010 4:52 am

      If it makes you feel better, the closet library is 5 miles away, so I probably won’t be walking that! But I’m going to see if I can bike it: I’m sooo sick of cars.

  12. October 13, 2010 8:56 pm

    Aw, those are sweet! I’m glad you’re settled well and that the library is nearby.

    • October 19, 2010 4:52 am

      The library is a bit further out (5 miles), but it’s along non-highway roads, so at least biking is doable!

  13. October 13, 2010 10:52 pm

    The bear picture makes you look tiny and the one with the car makes you look huge. So funny! Thanks for sharing the photos with us! I look forward to seeing pics of the reading room when you’re done.

    • October 19, 2010 4:55 am

      Isn’t it funny? I can’t wait to share my reading room. :)

  14. JoV permalink
    October 14, 2010 1:28 am

    Such lovely zoo animals! I hope you settle in nicely in your new place. Don’t stay too close to the tigers! ;)

    • October 19, 2010 4:56 am

      lol! It was feeding time, and he totally growled at me while I was taking pictures.

  15. October 14, 2010 3:21 am

    The bear picture is so great! As I’ve said, all your pictures look so good. Can I add on a sidenote that I love your style in clothes?

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying your move and new neighbourhood!

    • October 19, 2010 4:58 am

      Aww: thanks Iris! Since my senior year of college I’ve been exploring my taste in clothes (yay for thrifting), and so it’s fun to hear compliments. :) And as I told you on Twitter, I’m not naturally photogenic & until this summer 95% of the photos of me was hideous. But now I just follow the rules I figured out, and I have much better luck. Plus, silly faces and/or sunglasses make it easer!

  16. October 14, 2010 4:38 am

    That’s some incredible scenery, and I love the photos of you! Superhero is the kind of thing I thought when I saw that picture, it’s very action-film-like.

    Best of luck with the move!

  17. October 14, 2010 5:33 am

    Eva, it is so lovely to see you back with us. You look fantastic and so do the lovely pictures you have posted. I can’t wait to hear more.

  18. October 14, 2010 5:37 am

    Hehe, that giraffe does look funny :D And the bear pic is great too. Glad to hear you love your new neighbourhood :)

  19. October 14, 2010 6:29 am

    I LOVE TIGERS! :D Lovely pictures, and it sounds like things are going really well. I’m glad to hear it!

    • October 19, 2010 4:59 am

      You have to read that Sy Montgomery book I told you about! (Spell of the Tiger) It’s as much about the culture of the Sunderbans as tigers, but I know you’ll enjoy that too. :)

  20. October 14, 2010 8:38 am

    Love these photos, and so glad you are back home! We are trying to choose paint colors for our new bedroom and baths… what colors are your stripes?

    • October 19, 2010 5:03 am

      Thanks Daphne! I went pretty bold in my reading room: the wider stripes are a medium yellowish green (Behr’s Moss Landing) and the more narrow stripes are a med dark reddish purple (I can’t remember the name). I didn’t bother with samples, but it turned out just as I had envisioned! For my bedroom, I’m going a bit calmer route with a medium green-blue (Behr’s Indian Ocean); I have to wait until my dad can fix up my walls before I can paint in there though. I haven’t been able to paint a room since I was 14, so it was great fun deciding! :D

  21. October 14, 2010 12:15 pm

    Great photos and glad the move went well. Good luck with the painting and decorating. :-)

  22. October 14, 2010 12:42 pm

    So glad to hear your move is going great and can’t wait to see what your new library room will look like :)

    By the way, are you making it to Austin for the Texas Book Festival this weekend? There are a few of us who are getting together to meet up finally and of course talk books. Would love to see you.

    • October 19, 2010 5:04 am

      Thanks Iliana! I feel so sad that I didn’t get to meet you, but I’m sure we’ll meet up one of these days now that I’m a Texan again. :D

  23. October 14, 2010 3:39 pm

    What great photos! You must be having so much fun decorating your reading room. Can’t wait to see it, and hear about what you’re reading in it!

    My son is planning a move to Texas – I’ve never been, so I’m looking forward to exploring this part of the country.

    • October 19, 2010 5:05 am

      I am having fun Becca! :) Which part of Texas is he moving to? I’m biased, but I think the south’s the best. ;)

  24. October 14, 2010 4:04 pm

    You look so glam in that last picture, and love that car!

    Very Americana experience to drive across the country from what I can tell!

    • October 19, 2010 5:06 am

      lol: thanks Marg! Come visit and we can roadtrip in it. :D I’ve decided scarves are instant glam-making; I love wearing one when I’m driving all day because then I can cover up my bra-less-ness. LOL

  25. October 14, 2010 4:53 pm

    The bear picture is great! I love living in places that are highly walkable – it sounds like you’ll really enjoy your new neighborhood.

  26. October 14, 2010 4:57 pm

    The bear picture is great…it kind of reminds me of Margo Lanagan’s book cover. But not sad.

    So glad to hear you made it just fine, and that things are shaping up – and your neighbourhood sounds fantastic! Happy decorating :)

    • October 19, 2010 5:08 am

      Oh I love Tender Morsels! Now I wish I’d taken another picture of me dancing with the bear. Thanks Mel!

  27. October 14, 2010 6:43 pm

    Eva the superhero!! have fun painting.

    • October 19, 2010 5:09 am

      lol! Let me tell you, painting is not my superhero ability. ;)

  28. October 14, 2010 6:53 pm

    Can’t wait to see your reading room decor! Looks like you had a great trip & so glad to hear you’re settling in well. :-)

  29. October 15, 2010 12:24 am

    Fab photos! Good luck with the rest of your arranging/organising etc. can’t wait to see pics of your new space!

  30. October 15, 2010 3:46 am

    If you put the bear pic above the super hero pose you could make a photo narrative – Eva was just an ordinary girl, trying to keep up with the world around here until one fateful day she was mauled by a radioactive bear – now meet…Super Eva! Dedicated to fight crime and sworn to stop the nuclear power plant from creating more radioactive bears, before it’s too late!

    Giraffes are bizare to look at. Have you ever seen them run? Should not be possible, but so pretty.

    • October 19, 2010 5:10 am

      LMAO: best narrative ever!

      I saw them run on a documentary, and it was mesmerising. I want to go to Africa and see them run for real one of these days!

  31. October 15, 2010 4:52 am

    That is a very handsome tiger! I think tigers are so, so, so cool – which I think is a result of watching the live-action Disney version of The Jungle Book a lot when I was a kid (the one with Cary Elwes as the villain). Good luck with your continued book organizing! :)

    • October 19, 2010 5:12 am

      I’ve never seen a live-action Jungle Book! Have you read Anansi Boys? I love the book, but Tiger does not come off in the best light. lol

  32. October 15, 2010 5:27 am

    You look like a movie start in that photo with the car :)

  33. October 15, 2010 8:08 am

    Hail, Super Bookwoman!! (bow) Love the train photo (won’t ask how you managed to drive and take that one) as well as you with the bear. Have fun decorating. A striped room for A Striped Armchair. Makes perfect sense!

    Settle in, settle back. Can’t wait to read your thoughts on the stuff you read–though how you do it amazes me.

    • October 19, 2010 5:13 am

      Lol! I had my camera in my purse on the passenger seat, so I literally grabbed it out (w/ one hand), turned it on (still w/ one hand), held it up to window (w/o looking) and pushed down the shutter. My eyes stayed on the road and one hand remained on the wheel at all times. ;)

      I didn’t even make the connection between the stripes until you said that! lol I do love them. :D

  34. October 15, 2010 11:09 am

    I LOVE the superhero pic! Awesome. I’m so glad you’re finally in your new home, and that you love it so much. :)

    • October 19, 2010 5:14 am

      Thanks Heather! :D Now I’m just across the Gulf from you…must figure out how to sail…

  35. October 15, 2010 12:42 pm

    You made it! I love the photos, and the catch-up, and now I’ve read your most recent posts so I’ve caught up with where you are now! Are you in Austin, or near it? I hope you are able to find a supply job teaching soon, that would be a wonderful start for you. I can hardly wait to see your new rooms!

    • October 19, 2010 5:14 am

      Thanks Susan! I’m less than two hours from Austin. :) I hope I get a sub job too: fingers crossed!

  36. October 15, 2010 5:37 pm

    It’s good to have you back in Texas!!! Love the pics and can’t wait to see the decorating you’ve been doing!

  37. October 17, 2010 6:54 am

    Love the photos!!!

  38. October 18, 2010 5:43 pm

    Congrats on a successful move — and welcome back to Texas. I love the train picture.

  39. October 19, 2010 5:04 pm

    I must say, those are some fabulous outfits in those pics. I especially like the cranberry coloured scarf!

  40. October 23, 2010 12:31 pm

    That tiger looks really awesome! Aren’t they wonderful creatures! Is that bear trying to carry you away :)

    Hope you are getting used to your new home and are enjoying the experience. Hope you have a wonderful time! Looking forward to seeing pics of your library :)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

