Skip to content

Almost Home

October 8, 2010


photo credit

I don’t know why I believed the wi-fi in the hotel we stayed at our last week in Colorado would actually work!  That must have just been my optimism shining through. ;)  Although honestly, even if it had worked, I was so busy hanging out with my best friend, visiting with my grandparents (who arrived for a couple days for my dad’s retirement), and feasting on my final views of the mountains (Pike’s Peak greeted me every morning outside my hotel window) that I probably would have neglected the blog anyway.  But I could have at least replied to all of your lovely comments!

In the past, we’ve always done the drive in one (15-hour) day, but since our stuff can’t be delivered until Tuesday (who made Columbus Day an official holiday?), we decided to break it up.  Fortunately, the lovely Marriott I’m staying in has free wi-fi that plays nicely with my computer, so I could write this update.

I’m planning on watching last night’s Bones episode (which I missed due to that little matter of my dad’s retirement ceremony) and sorting through some of the hundreds of photos I’ve been taking: with any luck, I’ll be able to schedule a few photo posts to tide y’all over until our modem can be unpacked.  But no promises. ;)

It’s good to be back in Texas, and I can’t wait to be back to blogging! 

24 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 6:12 pm

    Yay!!! Lone Star Eva!

  2. Erin permalink
    October 8, 2010 6:28 pm

    Welcome back! It sounds like you’ve had a great week. Hope the rest of the moving goes smoothly :-)

  3. October 8, 2010 8:51 pm

    I love Colorado since I was born there and all my family is there. I’ve lived off and on there as well. Hope you enjoyed the Springs! My grandparents live there and I always enjoy visiting.

  4. October 8, 2010 9:08 pm

    I’m going to sound like such a nerd and most likely it was a rhetorical question, but I recently read Devil in the White City where I learned among many other things that Columbus Day became a holiday after the Chicago Worl’ds Fair which was originally called the Columbus Exposition (because it was to be held on the day Columbus discovered America.) Now, I read this book a couple of months ago so I could have the exact name of the Fair wrong, but it was pitched to celebrate Columbus. And for whatever reason, they made it a holiday afterwards. ;)

  5. October 8, 2010 10:22 pm

    Yea! Glad you are getting closer to being home!

  6. October 8, 2010 10:23 pm

    Glad to hear all is well. My sister lived in Colorado Springs until just a couple of years ago and seemed to like it there. I’m over on the Western Slope a couple of times a year. Love my trips to the state. It’s been forever since I’ve been in Texas but would love to go back for a visit someday.
    I still have that Bones episode to watch too! The previews made it look like it was going to be a humorous one :o)

  7. October 9, 2010 3:34 am

    welcome back ,free wifi are terrible I use them on my smartphone and find them very variable ,all the best stu

  8. October 9, 2010 4:40 am

    I bet you’ll be happy when the tedious process of moving is over!

  9. October 9, 2010 5:08 am

    I always boycott Columbus Day, but I guess that doesn’t help when you are waiting for things to be delivered. :p

  10. October 9, 2010 7:40 am

    As a Texan who writes about Texans who braved incredible odds, welcome back to a troubling but amazing place!

  11. October 9, 2010 8:32 am

    Glad to hear the move is going well Eva! Good luck with the rest and the unpacking, hope you find that modem soon!

  12. October 9, 2010 10:03 am

    Glad to hear the update. Being in transition brings unexpected insights, in my experience anyway.

  13. October 9, 2010 1:43 pm

    I’m glad to hear the move is going smoothly. Can’t wait ’til you are up and blogging again.

  14. October 9, 2010 2:03 pm

    Almost there!!! I can’t wait until you’re all settled in to your new digs–and I can’t wait to see pictures of your new reading room! What a fun new chapter in your life this is going to be, huh? :D

    And btw…I’ve really, really, really been missing you, my dear! *hugs*

  15. October 9, 2010 2:28 pm

    Welcome home and welcome back to the greatest state on the planet! :) (Yea, I’m just a little biased…)

  16. October 9, 2010 3:23 pm

    It sounds like you’ve been having fun even without the internet. :) Nice that you have access now though.

  17. October 9, 2010 8:53 pm

    Welcome back to Texas!!! Glad you’ve arrived when the weather has turned so nice. It’s been beautiful all week here in SA.

    I’ve never been to Colorado but it sounds beautiful. I do miss the change in seasons here.

  18. October 10, 2010 5:42 am

    Welcome back!! Can’t wait to read your next posts! It’s good to have your back.

  19. October 10, 2010 6:27 am

    Missed you during the Read-a-Thon. It just wasn’t the same without your vlogs!!!

  20. October 10, 2010 9:14 am

    Welcome home :) Hotel wi-fi can be quite hit and miss unfortunately. I hope the rest of the move goes wonderfully. Best of luck!

  21. October 10, 2010 4:21 pm

    Welcome back to the blogosphere–can’t wait for you to get settled in. :) Happy moving!

  22. October 10, 2010 4:41 pm

    I’m all for breaking up a 15 hour drive into two days. I hope the rest of the move goes smoothly.

  23. October 10, 2010 9:04 pm

    Can’t wait until you are back and everything is back to normal.

    Travel safely for the rest of your journey!

  24. October 12, 2010 3:46 pm

    I’ve missed your updates. I hope the move progresses as well as any move can. I can’t wait to see your little suite full of books.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

