Skip to content

The Pack Out Begins

September 26, 2010


photo credit

The movers had planned on arriving on Tuesday, but apparently they’ve now decided to start tomorrow (Monday). They’ll be here until Thursday, and while I’ve been preparing for the move on and off for the past month, I’m sure there will still be a last minute scramble. So I’ll probably be a bit scarce around the blogosphere in the next few days! On Thursday evening, we move to a hotel, where we’ve living for about a week. It has free wi-fi, and I’ll be bringing books and my webcam, so I should be able to blog from there!

Also, it seems that I never officially announced that I was moving! Whoops! So: since my father has to retire from the Air Force (he’s been in for thirty years, which is the limit), I’m moving with my parents and my niece (who’s been here for the summer) back to south Texas, where I graduated from high school, where my family continued to live until 2006, and where my sister still lives. My parents have bought a big house, and we’ll be living multigenerational style: them, me (I’m hoping I can get hired as a substitute teacher and then be well enough to work), my sister (currently beginning her second year at a physician’s assistant school), her fiance, and my niece (their daughter, obviously). I’ll have two rooms, right next to each other like a suite: a bedroom and a reading room, and I shall definitely post photographs when I’m finished decorating them! Since I’m decorating on the tiniest of budgets, though, that ‘finished’ is a bit misleading…I’m sure I’ll be haunting thrift shops for final touches, etc. over the coming months. But once I’ve got things painted and set-up, there will be pictures. ;) And I’m moving to a big city, which has a good library system! It’s the same one I used in high school, so I’m a bit nostalgic, and I’ve been looking up titles in the new catalogue system over the past month…so far it has every book my current library has plus more!

I’ve described myself as a ‘displaced Texan’ on my ‘about’ page since I began my blog, so you can imagine my enthusiasm to get back to the state! I love south Texas, and I can definitely see myself living there for the rest of my 20s, so I can’t wait to settle back in. :D (Plus, I arrive just in time for the Texas Book Festival…I hope I can get up there this year, but if not, I’ll definitely be there next year!)

58 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2010 11:44 pm

    Good luck with your move (and everything it entails!).

    Looking forward to seeing pictures, and hearing all about it!

  2. September 27, 2010 12:03 am

    Good luck, hope it’s not too stressful! You must be so excited to move back!! :-)

  3. September 27, 2010 12:13 am

    I’m sorry to have missed meeting up with you in the Springs! Have a great move and have fun getting settled in your new space(s).

  4. September 27, 2010 12:30 am

    Good luck…I’m excited for you!

  5. September 27, 2010 12:48 am

    I think it’s so cool to live multigenerational in one house. So much fun! Good luck with the move Eva!

  6. September 27, 2010 2:09 am

    Good luck, Eva. I live in a multigenerational house with my grandparents, parents and my sister and I love it!

  7. September 27, 2010 2:38 am

    Good luck with your move and it sounds like such a nice thing, a multigenerational home :) As for having 2 rooms & one reading room, that seems just the thing for you! It will probably be stressful for all of you with the move, but I hope you settle in okay. As I’m sure you will, since you’re so excited about going back to Texas!

  8. September 27, 2010 3:30 am

    Oh Eva, it just all sounds so incredibly exciting!!!! I hope the move goes smoothly. I’m sure getting settled into your new digs will be ever so fun, and I’m looking forward to those pictures! :D

  9. September 27, 2010 4:27 am

    Have a great move, and I can’t wait to see what your fabulous reading room will look like. (Perhaps this is the time for those thrift store paperback wreathes?)

  10. September 27, 2010 4:42 am

    Eva, hope the move goes well and glad to know you are returning down here with us in Texas. I’m thinking that I am not too far north of where you’ll be – the place where the Festival is located. This is our first cool morning and it is nice. Take care.

  11. September 27, 2010 6:06 am

    I hope the move goes well. I am excited for you that you are “going home”. I live in a house with my parents and my daughter. Though I was worried about it at first, it’s been almost 7 years and I must say that multigenerational living can work really well!

  12. September 27, 2010 6:27 am

    I am GOING TO THE TEXAS BOOK FESTIVAL!!!! We will commune over bookish bits!

    I’m so excited that you’ll be back in TX. It just seems like coffee or juice or some other fun drink and book talk are more likely with you in the same state. :D

  13. September 27, 2010 6:51 am

    Good luck with the move, Eva! I look forward to hearing all about this next chapter in your life as you move boldly forth!

  14. September 27, 2010 7:58 am

    Good luck moving. Looking forward to seeing your thriftily creative decorating once you’re in. How exciting to be putting a huge chunk of your family together under one roof, but with seperate rooms – space is probably crucial to the happy right ?;) Good luck staying well also and getting a teaching job.

  15. September 27, 2010 8:39 am

    Good luck on the move! Very exciting! Can’t wait to hear all about it when you are settled.

  16. September 27, 2010 8:44 am

    Good luck with the move!

  17. September 27, 2010 9:33 am

    Good luck with the move!

  18. September 27, 2010 9:40 am

    Good luck with the move! I hope all goes well, and I am excited to see pictures of your new living space of which, be it said, I expect to be highly envious. :p

  19. September 27, 2010 10:46 am

    A whole room just for reading! That would be AMAAAAAZING. I hope your move goes smoothly!

    Also, now that you’ll be back in Texas we’ll be state-ly neighbors! :D I’m in New Mexico. Yay!

  20. September 27, 2010 11:37 am

    How exciting! You get TWO rooms, I’m so jealous! I’ll be looking forward to hearing about you rediscovering your old haunts and finding new ones. And of course about the library!

  21. September 27, 2010 12:18 pm

    How exciting Eva. You get to go home. I can’t wait to see all pictures and the book festival sounds awesome. I wish you and your family the best of luck and a safe journey.

  22. September 27, 2010 1:57 pm

    Excited to hear about your adventures as you transition to your new home!

  23. September 27, 2010 2:08 pm

    I hope everything associated with your move goes smoothly. That is exciting to be going back “home” and to a city with a great library system. I look forward to your updates on your move.

  24. September 27, 2010 2:38 pm

    Oh I so hope that everything goes smooth, Eva!!!! Must be getting antsy now, huh??? I’m sure comments like that don’t help :p I’m so excited to see pics of the new place :D

  25. September 27, 2010 4:02 pm

    Good luck with the move!!!!!

  26. September 27, 2010 4:45 pm

    I hope that everything goes well with the move!

  27. She permalink
    September 27, 2010 5:20 pm

    Two rooms! Holy cannoli. Good luck and have tonsa fun decorating.

  28. September 27, 2010 5:45 pm

    How exciting! Good luck with the move and I hope you’re well enough to teach. Very cool about your multigenerational living arrangements and a house big enough for all!

  29. September 27, 2010 6:28 pm

    Good luck with the move! Decorating new rooms is so much fun!

  30. September 27, 2010 7:29 pm

    Best of luck with the move. Have fun with the decorating–especially of your reading room ;)

  31. September 27, 2010 7:48 pm

    Good luck! I’m fresh on the other side of a big move, and so thankful. Hope you do well with all the moving and your new rooms are terrific. A bedroom and a reading room — what more could a girl want? :)

  32. September 27, 2010 7:52 pm

    Good luck with the move !!!!

  33. September 28, 2010 3:11 am

    I hope the move goes well, Eva!

  34. September 28, 2010 8:20 am

    Your moving to Texas and living in a big house reminds me of ‘Giant’! Take pictures!

  35. September 28, 2010 9:27 am

    Sounds like such an exciting move! Good luck with packing and moving and unpacking.

  36. September 28, 2010 11:27 am

    I’m so jealous that you get to go to the Texas Book Festival! The past few years it’s fallen on my weekend to work. :-( Have fun and good luck with the move!

  37. September 28, 2010 12:50 pm

    I see that all the essentials are taken care of… Reading room? Check! Good luck with the move. Moving can be stressful but it can be nice to start fresh too. Just think how much fun you’ll have decorating the reading room.

  38. September 28, 2010 1:33 pm

    A reading room? Lucky!

  39. September 28, 2010 2:57 pm

    Best of luck with the move Eva! Can’t wait to see your post from your hotel. Should be fun. And, I would be so excited if you got up to the Texas Book Festival. I know Andi said she’s going to be there, Jenn and of course me as I live here! We must get together :)

  40. Erin permalink
    September 28, 2010 3:25 pm

    Good luck with moving! I hope everything goes smoothly and you settle in quickly.

  41. September 28, 2010 10:05 pm

    Welcome back to Texas! :)

    I’m really looking forward to the Texas Book Festival. I’ve never been, but I hear it’s a lot of fun. Hopefully I can make it up there this year.

  42. Mome Rath permalink
    September 29, 2010 12:22 am

    Happy move, Eva! I hope you enjoy the transition time before you get settled in your new place in Texas. And how great to get back there in time for the Book Festival! Have you had time to take pictures before you move?

  43. September 29, 2010 2:58 am

    Hope everything goes well, Eva, do stay in touch and let us know how it goes.

    How’s your new local library?

  44. September 29, 2010 5:40 pm

    Good luck with the move! Moving is one of those things that has its upside and downside. The upheaval (downside), coupled with the excitement of a new/old place and being able to create something new for yourself is definitely the upside.

    Hope everything works out great….

  45. September 29, 2010 6:45 pm

    Good Luck with the move! I’ve moved too many times to count :)

    Looking forward to seeing your reading room come together!

  46. September 29, 2010 8:55 pm

    Good luck with the move. Stay safe getting down there. I hope you’re able to go to the festival too. I’ve seen some talk in the blogisphere about other bloggers attending the event!

  47. October 2, 2010 10:05 am

    Eva,
    I read this book review (about a comparative lit major reading Russian literature, etc…) and thought of you. You might enjoy reading it. It’s from the “So Many Books” blog:

    http://somanybooksblog.com/2010/09/30/the-possessed/

  48. October 2, 2010 1:11 pm

    What perfect timing, to arrive in time for the book fair! Eat some Texas barbeque for me, will you, while you’re reading? :)

  49. October 2, 2010 1:17 pm

    Best of luck with the move! I hope it all goes well for you and that you have fun settling into your new place :) It sounds great!

  50. October 2, 2010 1:57 pm

    Good luck with all the moving madness, Eva! Hope it goes well, and that you stay healthy and enjoy your new home. It’s great to have all your family in one place :)

  51. Shanra permalink
    October 3, 2010 3:19 am

    Good luck with the move! I hope everything’s been going well with it and that you’ll all enjoy the new house! It sounds wonderful! ^-^

  52. October 3, 2010 10:34 am

    I am hoping the move is happening, smoothly and without upset. :)

  53. October 3, 2010 12:22 pm

    Did you know that a group of Texas book bloggers are going to meet up at the festival? I posted about it today on my blog. The Zen Leaf is getting everything organized.

    Hope to see you there!

  54. Caitie F permalink
    October 3, 2010 12:31 pm

    Good luck with everything! A reading room sounds nice!

    When you are done with all of it, you can check out the award I gave you since I love your blog!

    http://caitieflum.wordpress.com/2010/10/03/i-received-an-award/

  55. October 6, 2010 12:32 am

    Hi, Eva! I wanted to come out of hiding from English and say congrats :). It sounds like this move is really great for you and your family. I would love to live with my sisters one day (they´ve always lived with my dad and I´ve always lived with my mom), so I know how hard it must have been to live so far away from her. Can´t wait to see your pictures!!!!

  56. October 6, 2010 2:46 pm

    How fun! Good luck with the move and I can’t wait to see pictures.

  57. sshaver permalink
    October 7, 2010 1:29 pm

    Does your sister like the physician’s assistant route? I wish my daughter would do that.

    As you may know, I’m a Texas writer. Welcome home!

  58. October 8, 2010 12:41 pm

    I wish you all the very, very best on the move and the unpacking. The suite set up sounds, well, sweet!!! I can’t wait to see pictures, especially of your reading room.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

