Skip to content

Library Loot: September 22-28, 2010

September 24, 2010

It’s funny to think I only have a couple of library visits left here! Like a LL count-down. :)

Latest vlog:


Books & covers:

All She Was Worth by Miyuki Miyabe (for the Japanese Lit Challenge), Desertion by Abdulrazak Gurnah (Amy’s review of a different Gurnah novel), The Icarus Girl by Helen Oyeyemi(R.I.P. V)


Soul Made Flesh by Carl Zimmer (enjoyed a different Zimmer book), Destiny Disrupted by Tamim Ansary (Maphead’s review), Bozo Sapiens by Michael & Ellen Kaplan (enjoyed a different book by them)


The Bone Doll’s Twin by Lynn Flewelling (I forgot to talk about this in my vlog, since it was on my nightstand! But I saw a review at A Book Blog. Period., and then Susan mentioned it as one of her favourite ghost stories. So I had to get it!)

40 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 8:30 am

    Oh! I’ve been wanting to read a Lynn Flewelling book. I’ve got an audiobook of one of her’s (not the one you got), but it’s SO long that I haven’t felt up to reading(/listening) it yet.

    • October 19, 2010 5:16 am

      Yeah: I forgot how long high fantasy tends to be! Although, this one read quickly. :) But it had a total cliffhanger ending, so I had to go request the 2nd one right away. lol

  2. September 24, 2010 9:12 am

    Now I am beginning to think it is me – your vlog is not showing up on my screen and it didn’t last week!

    I hope you love The Icarus Girl as much as I did.

    • October 19, 2010 5:18 am

      Eek! I’m sorry Vivienne. :( Maybe I’ll load them on Youtube as well for those who aren’t compatible w/ Vimeo. Does it work at the Vimeo site? http://vimeo.com/15238866

  3. September 24, 2010 9:12 am

    Ooh forgot to tell you. I went in Waterstones yesterday and saw that they have rereleased the Laurie King books which lovely posh new covers.

    • October 19, 2010 5:18 am

      I’m coveting those new King covers, let me tell you!

  4. September 24, 2010 11:12 am

    I hope you enjoy The Icarus Girl. I checked out White is for Witching from the library twice and sadly, never got around to reading it. I had Destiny Disrupted out just a few weeks ago and had to return that one too. I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on that one.

    • October 19, 2010 5:19 am

      You know, in the chaos of moving, I didn’t get around to either! But I’m hoping my new library has them both. :)

  5. September 24, 2010 3:24 pm

    I totally want to read the Bone Doll series!!

  6. September 24, 2010 4:46 pm

    I’m waiting to read All She Was Worth but I am a huge fan of Japanese fiction, mainly thrillers and/or horror. Japanese horror is unlike anything I’ve ever read. Yes, definitely macabre, but incredibly multifaceted. Ring (the book that inspired the oh so boring movie) is actually amazing. The concept is (in my opinion) exceptionally original.

    Hope the move goes well!

    • October 19, 2010 5:21 am

      That’s so interesting to hear about the book version of The Ring! Makes me even more annoyed I didn’t get to All She Was Worth before I moved; I’m glad my new library has it.

  7. September 24, 2010 4:49 pm

    Love the covers on most of this week’s picks! I’ll have to keep an eye out for Destiny Disrupted; it sounds right up my alley!

    Enjoy your loot!

    • October 19, 2010 5:21 am

      Wasn’t it a great batch for covers?!

  8. She permalink
    September 24, 2010 6:17 pm

    I hope you’re enjoying Bone Doll!

  9. September 25, 2010 4:41 am

    I’m curious to read what you think about the Icarus Girl..

    And that’s exactly what I was thinking, that it must be a weird feeling to know you’re about to change libraries..

    • October 19, 2010 5:22 am

      For the past month, I’ve been looking books up in my new library has well as old one, so that helped ease the transition. :)

  10. September 25, 2010 4:52 am

    Bozo Sapiens is the one that rings my bell this week…even as I type this I’m looking around for my wishlist journal.

    Yes, please DO record a “books between libraries” vlog!

    • October 19, 2010 5:23 am

      Isn’t it a great title?! I didn’t get to it, but I loved the book I read earlier this year by him, so I feel confident saying it’s worth wishlisting. :) I’ll get on that vlog soon: I just have to hunt down my webcam. lol

  11. September 25, 2010 9:03 am

    What a nice selection of books you have in your loot! The non-fiction books look especially interesting.
    I have another novel by Oyeyemi (The Opposite House) waiting for its turn. Might have been from you I heard about this writer for the first time. :) She sounded interesting, so I bought The Opposite House when I spotted it on sale in a bookstore.

    Greetigns,
    Tiina

    • October 19, 2010 5:23 am

      I hope you enjoy The Opposite House! I’ve only read White is for Witching, but I loved it. :D

  12. September 25, 2010 9:16 am

    This has to be one of your shortest library loot posts ever! :-) I know we’re bad at buddy reads but do you want to read The Icarus Girl together?

    • October 19, 2010 5:23 am

      If you’re still up for Icarus Girl, my new library has it too!

  13. September 25, 2010 12:22 pm

    I think you will like Destiny Disrupted. Ansary is a very good writer, making him highly enjoyable to read. I liked his casual, almost conversational approach to history.
    Can’t wait to read your review of Soul Made Flesh. One of my favorite science books from the last few years is Carl Zimmer’s Parasite Rex. Here is a link to Amazon if you would like to read more:
    http://www.amazon.com/Parasite-Rex-Bizarre-Dangerous-Creatures/dp/074320011X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1285442184&sr=1-1
    As always, you videos are as pleasing to the eyes as they are interesting !
    -m

  14. September 25, 2010 12:48 pm

    I’ve got For All She Was Worth on my list for the JLC too. I’m looking forward to it.
    Love your video’s :)

  15. September 25, 2010 5:04 pm

    As always, impressive collection of books! I’m interested to hear what you think of Desertion :)

    • October 19, 2010 5:27 am

      I’m hoping my new library has that one, since your review of his other book made it sound irresistable!

  16. September 25, 2010 7:15 pm

    These look terrific. Enjoy!

  17. September 26, 2010 6:15 am

    a wonderful selection eva ,hope move goes smoothly ,all the best stu

  18. September 26, 2010 10:01 am

    Hey Eva, I’ve been away from blogs for a while as I was on vacation & then sick so I must have missed your post on your upcoming move? Or maybe I just forgot? ah, craziness… So hopefully you are moving to a town with a great library system! And, yes, I’d love to see a post on the books you’ve read.

    • October 19, 2010 5:28 am

      I am: otherwise I wouldn’t be nearly as excited about the move! ;)

  19. September 26, 2010 10:58 am

    As usual, a great selection of books and I already have several on hold at the library! To second Iliana, I hope your new town has a good library system.

  20. September 26, 2010 7:27 pm

    Love the library loot!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

