Skip to content

Readers Imbibing Peril V

September 23, 2010

I can’t believe the R.I.P. Challenge is now five years old! I’ve participated in it since its second year, and I think Carl is the best challenge host around, because rather than giving us a challenge, he gives us an experience. He looks beyond books, also adding art, films, and more to the mix, and it always feels like the perfect way to celebrate the arrival of fall. I was taking a breaking when the challenge was announced this year, but as soon as September 1st hit, I started reading R.I.P. books anyway! ;) And while I’ve continued to do so, I never actually got around to officially signing up. Whoops! Better late than never, right?

Shockingly enough, I haven’t put together huge list this year. So many bloggers participate in this challenge, and so many of them put together such great book collections, it felt unnecessary, especially since I’m arriving a month late to the party. But you can look over my list from last year if you need some ideas. Instead, I thought I’d offer one suggestion for each category Carl mentions; these are all books that I’ve read and loved since the last R.I.P. Challenge (linked to my reviews where available):

I do realise that this list is very heavily weighted towards the US and UK, and I’m actually planning a post soon about the lack of genre choices easily available to those who love to read international fiction. But, for me at least, recommending books that blew me away comes before anything else. For my R.I.P. reads this year, I’ve tried to get a few more international books in the mix. If you read my Library Loot post last week, you already have a good idea of my R.I.P. pool, but I’ll list it here for fun! (I’ll start with the seven I’ve already read…so I guess that means I’m doing Peril the First.) I’ve linked the titles to the publisher’s page, and listed the aspects that I think make each of these a R.I.P. book for the titles I’ve already read or the category it fits into for the books I haven’t read yet.

There are actually even in my potentials pool, consisting of books from my own shelves I’m bringing in my car with me for my post-move, no-library period. But we’ll talk about those another day, shall we? Because for someone who said she wasn’t going to make a big list this year…that’s quite a few books right there, and they appear to be in a list format. ;)

Have you read any of my potential R.I.P. reads? I’m in the middle of The Bone Doll’s Twin right now, but where should I go next?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. She permalink
    September 23, 2010 6:02 pm

    Ah! I am so happy you’re reading The Bone Doll’s Twin. What do you think so far? I’m reading the second one now, and it’s pretty fabulous.

  2. September 23, 2010 6:03 pm

    Sadly, I haven’t read any of these but I do have plans to remedy that ;) I actually just checked out A Dark Dividing from the library and it looks so creepy. And I also have a few of these other authors that you have listed checked out as well but different books (DuMaurier, Goodman). I can’t wait to see what you read for this challenge as you will be adding to my TBR list!

  3. September 23, 2010 6:55 pm

    Okay, I need to read The Drowning Tree. It sounds like it is full of everything that I love.

  4. September 23, 2010 7:23 pm

    I just read A Good and Happy Child which was actually on your list last year. (I know, not because I’m a creepy stalker, but because your post was one of the only ones to come up when I searched for reviews!) I really enjoyed it. Wasn’t perfect, but I liked it a lot.

  5. September 23, 2010 9:09 pm

    Wow! What a list! I’m writing as fast as I can :o)
    The only one I’ve read is Smilla’s Sense of Snow. I’m bouncing in my seat over The Drowning Tree and Blood Harvest. They sound so creepy.

  6. September 24, 2010 5:21 am

    I read Wish Her Safe at Home by Stephen Benatar several weeks ago, and I really loved it. It’s one of my favorites now, actually. But I didn’t really find it Gothic-y. That is, if I would sign up for this challenge, I wouldn’t put this novel in. But that’s just me. I mean, it was easy to see strains of madness, if you were clued into them. But I was inclined to simply call Rachel peculiar. And happy. That’s my two cents, though. I mean, maybe I’m too forgiving re madness? :)

  7. September 24, 2010 6:06 am

    I thought about participating this year but didn’t get around to it. Maybe next year. There are some great books on your list that I plan to look up for future reading though.

  8. September 24, 2010 7:07 am

    I made a huge list, but I know I’ll never get to it.

  9. September 24, 2010 7:28 am

    I always enjoy reading your lists. And I especially like the last line from the publisher’s page for the Jonathan Carroll you’ve listed: “It’s tough being a ghost on an empty stomach.” It’s been ages since I read one of his novels and I should look after that. He does, however, have a blog that I enjoy following.

  10. September 24, 2010 8:06 am

    I’m currently reading A Good And Happy Child — did you read this one? totally RIP-worthy and very good so far. I think you might like.

  11. September 24, 2010 8:24 am

    I haven’t read any of the books on either of your lists except Dracula and Smila’s Sense of Snow. Smila’s Sense of Snow was a good mystery, if I remember correctly. Enjoy!

  12. September 24, 2010 8:47 am

    Of course it is wonderful to have you make it official. I’m glad you jumped right into the spirit of the thing on Sept. 1st. :) The only book on your list that I’ve read is Ghost in Love and while I loved most of it I had some issues with the direction the story took and with the ending, so while I know others have loved it, I can’t really recommend it.

    As far as international fiction, there do seem to be a lot of Japanese books out that fit the RIP categories, so that is one good place to start. Out, by Natsuo Kirino was one I read a few years back and thought was great. After Dark by Haruki Murakami has one storyline in its alternating storyline format that is definitely creepy. Just a couple of suggestions.

    Anyway, thanks for being a part of this again this year.

  13. September 24, 2010 9:30 am

    I thought you had signed up for this, so I was surprised to see a sign-up post from. :) That is quite the ‘non’-list. I hope you enjoy all of them! I bet your library is going to miss you when you move!

  14. September 24, 2010 12:17 pm

    I have The Ghost in Love on my list for this year. I’ve only heard it mentioned once before but it was loved so I’m hoping it will be awesome.

    I just finished the collection Stories and was underwhelmed. I skipped a couple of stories and I think may have only thought one was a “five” — although it might have been none of them.

  15. September 24, 2010 12:59 pm

    I’ve yet to sign up for this challenge but I sure do enjoy being a sideline participant when it comes around each year. I look forward to your reviews of your picks from this year. I haven’t read Stephen King in awhile and have been toying with the idea of reading some of his that I haven’t read before.

  16. September 24, 2010 1:41 pm

    I’m so glad you posted about this challenge. I signed up for it, even if it’s about half over. I’ve pretty much completed all of the challenges I signed up for at the beginning of the year, so I thought this nice/short one would be nice to do. Plus, it will be a nice change of pace by broadening my genre horizons :) And I already know which ones I’m going to try to read for the challenge. Good luck on it!

  17. September 24, 2010 5:49 pm

    Great list of books! They all sound interesting and like I really should try one. But not yet. Trying to read through my own books for a bit :) Also, very glad to see that you included a non-fiction rec there ;)

  18. September 27, 2010 1:03 am

    What a great list – so many books I’ve never even heard of ! I love the sound of that first one – nothing like spiralling into madness (not that I’m speaking from experience here.)

  19. October 8, 2010 5:37 pm

    The Bonedoll’s Twin is fantastic, I love Flewelling! You should try her Nightrunner series as well, I highly recommend it. But for another day perhaps ;)

    I’ve also read, on your list, Wild Seed and Frenchman’s Creek and loved both. Personally I don’t like to read the same kind of book in a row, so I wouldn’t go from The Bonedoll’s Twin to Wild Seed – it’s not that they’re similar stories or anything, just a similar genre and tone. Frenchman’s Creek has it’s great atmospheric spooky touches – not ghost-wise, but “gothic” is probably a good word for it.

    I saw also in your Library Loot post that you got The Icarus Girl for this challenge – I’ve had the book on my shelf for about a year now and haven’t read it yet, but I didn’t know it was along the RIP V lines … I thought it was more straight-up! But then again, it’s been a while since I read the blurb!

    This is a great list, and I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on as many as you get through so I know what’s good and what’s “meh” ;)

Trackbacks

  1. Readers Imbibing Peril (RIP) Challenge « live through books…

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

