Skip to content

Photographic Interlude: at the Zoo and on a Walk

September 22, 2010

It’s about time I shared a few more photographs with y’all! Click to enlarge any of them. :)

One of the things Colorado Springs is known for is its zoo (which is stuck on a mountain side, and has a big giraffe population that you can feed). While I have decidedly mixed feelings on zoos, my niece adores them, so a couple of weeks ago we went on our last trip there. Of course, I forgot to charge my camera, so it ended up dying a third of the way into it (no giraffe feeding pictures…boo!), but not before I took my niece to this crazy exhibit they have set up. You walk into a room, and it’s completely full of budgies, cockatiels, and finches, freely flying around and hanging out. And then you can buy little popsicle sticks with some bird seed stuck on the end and lure the birds on to the stick (or just feed them). While dodging flying birds, and watching my niece charm them on to her stick, I managed to take this shot, which is completely unedited.

Also last month, my niece and I decided to be Explorers (we both put on khaki shorts, sunhats, and carried satchels) and go on a walk in the forest behind our house. Of course, I took along the camera, and here are my favourite three pictures…
the marigolds we have growing next to our patio (I didn’t edit the colours at all in this one):

an old tree fort we came across:

the cutest little mushrooms, which reminded me of eggs in a bird’s nest:

I’m enjoying photography more and more (although, I can’t share a lot of my favourite shots here, since they include my niece), but at the same time, I can’t always think of places to go to spend a couple hours having fun with my camera. Any ideas?

48 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 10:00 am

    Oh what a great post, Eva :) I love these shots!! I say just carry your camera along with you in your bag wherever you go! You just never know when a good shot will turn up. I find that just having my camera with me makes me look for things. Though it’s that “having my camera with me” part that never seems to happen :p

    • September 23, 2010 5:30 pm

      Thanks Chris! You know, I usually have my camera in my purse but forget that it’s there! lol I need to work on that. :)

  2. September 22, 2010 10:04 am

    Great photo of the yellow bird at the zoo. He looks as if he’s posing for you & quite interested in what you are doing! The marigolds are gorgeous! If you hadn’t told us the “eggs” were mushrooms I would have thought they were real eggs! That’s amazing!

    The quality of your photos is fantastic & the photos look professional. Can I hire you to come to nyc & photograph my cats?!

    ~ Amy

    • September 23, 2010 5:31 pm

      Aww: thanks Amy! You’re so sweet. :)

  3. September 22, 2010 10:21 am

    I love the mushroom shot too – I thought it was eggs at first.

  4. September 22, 2010 10:22 am

    Eva, my grandparents lived in Colorado Springs when I was a little girl. I have fond memories of going to that zoo with them. Lovely pictures, by the way. My grandfather had a real knack for flowers and he had a lovely garden while they lived there.

    • September 23, 2010 5:31 pm

      I always admire people who are good at gardening…I’ve got a bit of a brown thumb myself. It’s a great zoo for kids, isn’t it?

  5. September 22, 2010 10:54 am

    What interesting mushrooms! I have never seen any that look like those. We have an arboretum near our house that I go to sometimes; lots of photo opportunities there. The giraffe feeding sounds like fun. I’ve enjoyed the few opportunities I’ve had to feed baby elephants.

    • September 23, 2010 5:32 pm

      We had an arboretum across from our college campus: i twas so lovely! I’m jealous you’ve fed baby elephants. :p

  6. September 22, 2010 11:20 am

    Colorado Springs? My brother went to college there! Small world.

    Those mushrooms are so sweet; my dog usually runs right through anything like that here in the South, though. These are lovely photos, Eva. As far as new places to take pictures, perhaps museums or natural parks?

    • September 23, 2010 5:32 pm

      Definitely a small world! There aren’t many museums here in the Springs, but I loved the Natural History Museum in Denver. Maybe I can get to the botanical gardens up there before we move!

  7. September 22, 2010 11:22 am

    Great photos. I love to take my camera on any outing, especially to parks, cities, anywhere in nature, or just scenes of everyday life from different angle.

    • September 23, 2010 5:33 pm

      Thanks Daphne! I should try just doing everyday life…do you take pictures of random people though? I’m too shy.

  8. September 22, 2010 11:24 am

    These photos are beautiful. You obviously have a good eye for taking pictures. The beach is always good for taking photos. Anywhere by where you live will be good,because it will be so different from where we all live.

    • September 23, 2010 5:33 pm

      Thank you Vivienne! I wish I was near a beach…at least when I move to Texas, I’ll only be a few hours away. That’s the thing I miss most about California: the ocean was lovely.

  9. September 22, 2010 11:31 am

    some great shots Eva love the parrot one ,all the best stu

  10. September 22, 2010 12:30 pm

    You fooled me with that mushroom shot. I definitely “saw” bird eggs when I looked at that one. That old tree fort looks like a place I’d want to renovate so I could climb up there and read a book!

    • September 23, 2010 5:34 pm

      Isn’t the tree fort awesome?! When we first moved here (four years ago), there was also a wooden swing that went out over the creek, but someone must’ve taken it down. :(

  11. September 22, 2010 12:36 pm

    I second Chris’s comment – carrying your camera wherever you go is a great idea.

    • September 23, 2010 5:34 pm

      It is! I’ll have to start remembering to charge it regularly too. I’m the worst at remembering to plug things in at night!

  12. September 22, 2010 1:42 pm

    Cheyenne Mountain Zoo is the most exhausting zoo to walk around … or should I say up. ;) It’s been years since I was last there.

    I too need to get out more to new photogenic places. I now have years of photos of the same handful of places. Maybe that will be a goal — go out once a week to somewhere new with my camera.

    • September 23, 2010 5:35 pm

      Yeah: we were there for like 6 or 7 hours! Such a hike! lol

  13. September 22, 2010 2:35 pm

    Beautiful pictures! That bird is so cute, definitely checking you out :) And you are right, the mushrooms DO look just like eggs!

  14. September 22, 2010 3:29 pm

    I love that zoo as well. My family likes to go during the Christmas season as it is all lit up in decorations. Very cool!

    • September 23, 2010 5:35 pm

      The Christmas lights are gorgeous, aren’t they? They do a fun Halloween thing too. :)

  15. September 22, 2010 4:42 pm

    Lovely! :-) I actually thought those mushrooms were eggs — I was puzzling over what kind of bird had laid them, since they’re so unusual looking.

    • September 23, 2010 5:36 pm

      lol! That’d be a weird bird for sure. :) We had gotten a lot of rain that week, and all sorts of odd mushrooms had popped up.

  16. September 22, 2010 5:15 pm

    Love those pics! They’re beautiful!

  17. Mome Rath permalink
    September 23, 2010 12:26 am

    Nice pictures! You know, I’ve never been to the zoo on any of my trips through Colorado Springs. Pikes Peak, yes; Garden of the Gods, yes; even the Mining Museum — just not the zoo.
    I’m sure you can find lots of places to photograph around Colorado Springs, since it is such a beautiful part of the state. Some ideas (which you’ve probably already thought of) include: Garden of the Gods (try just after sunrise or just before sunset); the Air Force Academy chapel (great geometry and light); and downtown Colorado Springs (you can take some memories with you when you move). Hope you have fun with your camera!

    • September 23, 2010 5:37 pm

      I’ve been to the mining museum too. :) I haven’t been to Garden of the Gods, just because I’m not overly attracted to rocks. But I really ought to go; maybe next weekend!

      I’d feel a bit self-conscious photographing at the chapel, just because the cadets are on campus now. But I know that’s silly! :)

  18. September 23, 2010 1:43 am

    How about your local library? Can you photograph there? You always mention the place so often that I got curious.

    • September 23, 2010 5:38 pm

      That’s a good idea Alex! I’ll bring my camera the next time I go to pick up books. :)

  19. September 23, 2010 4:06 am

    They have something like that in the Netherlands as well, although you cannot buy things to feed the birds and other animals..

    I love the idea of being explorers in a forest close to home. I know I would have loved that when I was a child. And um, I think I’d still love it :)

    • September 23, 2010 5:39 pm

      I think they incorporate the food for sale into the animal’s diets. :) And being an explorer is really fun: we’ve done it a few times!

  20. September 23, 2010 5:22 am

    What lovely photos. Thanks for sharing them!

    • September 23, 2010 5:39 pm

      Thanks Beth: I’m glad you liked them!

  21. September 23, 2010 7:09 am

    The idea of you and your neice being explorers is so adorable (great that when you say you’re going to be an explorer there has to be costuming involved). The tree forst looks fab, but the best picture has to be the mushrooms which you’re right look exactly like birds eggs – especially those of the bigger birds that have bumpy, textured eggs.

    • September 23, 2010 5:39 pm

      Of course there’s a costume involved! lol

      It seems like the mushroom photo is the clear favourite: that was the first time I’d really played with my camera’s macro function, and I’m impressed!

  22. September 23, 2010 8:45 am

    I thought the mushrooms were eggs when I first glanced at the picture, and then when I realized they were mushrooms I got spine crawlies. I hate mushrooms. They creep me out. I can’t even look at them.

    You get to feed giraffes at your zoo? That’s so cool! There is a place a few hours from where I live called the Global Wildlife Center, where they have lots of animals wandering free on the grounds, and you get in a trolley-type vehicle and drive all around and feed them corn from cups. The giraffes are shy, but you always get to feed all kinds of gazelle creatures, zebras, bulls, and llamas. It was one of my favorite things to do when I was a kid. :)

    • September 23, 2010 5:40 pm

      Really: mushrooms?! That’s crazy!

      Yeah: you can buy 3 giraffe crackers for a dollar, and the giraffes put out their long grey tongues and scarf it up out of your hand. It’s hilarious. :D That Wildlife Center sounds awesome!

  23. September 23, 2010 8:59 am

    Popsicles for birds! That parakeet photo reminds me of my sadly departed pet, may it rest in peace. And as a Texas writer, I was immediately drawn into this post by your initial “ya’ll”!

    • September 23, 2010 5:41 pm

      Yay for Texans! :D I’m sorry about your parakeet, though; I had pet parakeets when I was little, but we had to rehome them when we moved to England.

  24. September 24, 2010 1:10 am

    I know what you mean, trying to think of new places to go to take photos can be difficult. Macro is always an option, take more close ups like you did of the marigolds and experiment with different angles and exposures. Nature on a big scale (landscapes etc) is all well and good but often you have to go quite far in order to find somewhere that will look different enough from where you’ve already been. Then again I’m speaking as someone who’s seen too much British countryside.

    I thought the mushrooms were eggs to, you said mushrooms and I was thinking “really?” Great photos, love the first two!

  25. September 25, 2010 6:22 pm

    Thanks for sharing your beautiful photos – I thought the flowers (marigolds?) were my favorite, but the mushrooms masquerading as bird’s eggs get the prize.

    It looks like you and your niece had a lovely day at the zoo!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

