Skip to content

Bits and Bobs

August 7, 2010


I’ve been sorting through the photos I took at the Renaissance Festival last Sunday, and I keep coming back to this llama. Such gorgeous eyes! And it was completely in focus; even when I view it at its full size, all of the details are sharp and fresh. My niece loves it too; she wants a copy to hang in her room (she rode two llamas that day!).

I was on Flickr a couple nights ago and stumbled across this photostream which has also become a blog. I love the combination and photography and books, and it’s such a cute idea!

And finally, some wonderful news: last night, my parents closed on a house down in Texas! Why is this so wonderful? Well, for one thing it’s within walking distance of a library branch (this according to my father…so it might not be walkable for me with a pile of books, lol). But here’s the best part (and shows that I have the best parents): not only do I get a bedroom, I get the bedroom right next to it as a reading/sitting room. :D I’ve known about this possibility for awhile, but there were some complications with the home inspection, so I didn’t want to say anything before it was finalised in case it fell through. Isn’t it thrilling?! I’m now free to dream about how to decorate at it (on a tiny budget). I’m already eyeing maps and playing with colour combinations. And I might have found the perfect reading chair at Goodwill: I have to wait for them to call me this afternoon, but if I get it, I’ll add a photo!

That’s what’s going on with me this fine Saturday. What about you?

66 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2010 11:20 am

    Oh how fun! I’m in southeast Texas. Will you be anywhere near?

    I bought my house a year and a half ago and have had (and am still having) the best time decorating it. I’m just saving up for bookshelves now.

    Let me know if you need any suggestions. You should check out my post on Domino (it’s a book); it has such great decor ideas.

    Fun, fun. Good luck with the chair.

    • August 8, 2010 9:36 am

      I’ve put Domino on hold, and I’d LOVE any other suggestions you have to offer! And I did get the chair-yay!

  2. August 7, 2010 11:37 am

    Congrats! That’s very exciting!

    And that is a lovely photo. What a cute llama!

    It’s already Saturday evening over here, but the day was pretty perfect. We’ve had one of the nicest summers ever when it comes to weather and also today was warm and sunny. :) My day was divided between doing some sports, watching a dvd-movie and reading Middlemarch.

    Have a great weekend!

    Greetings,
    Tiina

    • August 8, 2010 9:36 am

      What a wonderful way to spend the day Tiina!

  3. August 7, 2010 11:43 am

    How exciting! I’d love my own little reading room. We have an office-type room with a sofa and some books, but the computer is there as well and one of us is usually on it. I dream of having a room for just my books and a comfy chair or two. Someday, I hope.

    That picture of a llama is really a wonderful shot – so expressive!

    • August 8, 2010 9:37 am

      I dreamed of it but never imagined it happening so soon. :D And isn’t the llama adorable?! I kept thinking ‘don’t move, don’t move’ as I was reaching for my camera.

  4. August 7, 2010 11:49 am

    Exciting news! After reading, decorating is what I love best so I’ll be interested to hear what you end up doing once you move in! Have to second the recommendation above for Domino – it’s a wonderful resource (and all we have left, now that the magazine has folded). The online magazine Lonny is also wonderful.

    I am mildly terrified of llamas (we have a history, let me leave it at that) but that’s a pretty adorable picture.

    • August 8, 2010 9:38 am

      I’m pretty new to the whole decorating idea, but I’m having fun daydreaming right now! I’ll definitely include photographs of my reading room once we move!

      My best friend in elementary school was in the llama 4H club, so I know how cranky they can get. Sorry about your history, lol!

  5. August 7, 2010 11:56 am

    Ooh lucky you! The reading room sounds divine! I can’t wait to move to a new place so I can decorate all on my own. I have my own room now, but in my parents house. I’ve never lived on my own without a roommate, so I can’t wait! Good luck with the move! I can’t wait to hear all about it!

    • August 8, 2010 9:39 am

      Thanks Lu! I’ll still be living with my parents (and my niece, my sister, and her fiance), but I’ll have those two rooms all to myself, and my mom’s so far given me the go ahead whenever I talk about decorating stuff. ;)

  6. August 7, 2010 12:11 pm

    Congratulations on that exciting news!

  7. August 7, 2010 2:12 pm

    Eva:
    I was very close to my father (who raised me and my brother as a single parent) and lived at home until I was 27… up until the night before my wedding. It is such a blessing to have parents who want to share their home with you. I am happy for the three of you and hope that the new house brings you years of joy.
    Sincerely,
    Karenne

    • August 8, 2010 9:46 am

      It is a blessing Karenne. :) My niece, my sister, and her fiance will be living with us too, so it’ll be a full house! I quite like the idea, though…it reminds me of the family-oriented culture in other countries.

  8. August 7, 2010 2:13 pm

    That llama is gorgeous because of his eyes and hair. Congratulations on the new house – you’ll have to get a little wagon to take to the library.

    • August 8, 2010 9:46 am

      I know: isn’t that hair great?! lol @ the wagon idea…it’s tempting!

  9. August 7, 2010 2:29 pm

    Lovely llama!

    I am a bit bummed though that I totally missed visiting you in your current location. Unfortunately, my mother-in-law has been coming out to visit us instead of us ever going out there. Oh well! She’s looking to move soon too. Good luck with your move and decorating!

    • August 8, 2010 9:47 am

      You’ll just have to visit in Texas! It’s a great place to come hang out. :D

  10. August 7, 2010 3:29 pm

    Great picture! And yay for the house :-)

  11. August 7, 2010 3:49 pm

    Oh my GOD that is the cutest picture ever!!!! I want it framed too :D It looks like she just went and got her hair done :) I’m so excited for you about your house!!! It sounds amazing Eva! I can’t wait to see pics once you start decorating!

    • August 8, 2010 9:48 am

      I can’t wait to SEE the house! lol Everyone else has (since my sister lives in town already, and of course my parents went down house hunting before putting any offers in), so I’m the only one left. ;) If you want the high-quality version of the photo let me know, and I’ll send it your way. :D

  12. August 7, 2010 6:44 pm

    Your reading room sounds fantastic. We’ll get pictures, I hope, once you’ve got it the way you like it?

    • August 8, 2010 9:48 am

      Of course you will! And pictures of the process! You’ll probably be tired of pictures by the end. ;)

  13. August 7, 2010 7:07 pm

    Love the idea of hanging a map in your new reading room! I have one I placed on a bulletin that I put pins in marking the places I’ve visited. Good luck with move!

    • August 8, 2010 9:49 am

      I’ve had a map like that everywhere I’ve lived since high school! I want a prettier one now, though (rather than the bright fold-outs you get for free w/ a National Geographic subscription, hehe). I saw one the other day where you scratched off countries you’d been to, which is AWESOME.

  14. August 7, 2010 7:33 pm

    Llama’s have the most soulful eyes. Just beautiful.

    The new house sounds exciting! It will be great to have your own reading room :)

    • August 8, 2010 9:50 am

      I agree: those big eyelashes and that rich brown. :D

  15. August 7, 2010 7:52 pm

    That is awesome news! I can’t wait till we move to a bigger place and I have my own office/reading room. :)

    • August 8, 2010 10:08 am

      It took me totally by surprise too! I was planning on styling my bedroom like a hotel, with a little reading area. Two rooms just seems crazy generous. :D (My mom insisted on it because the bedrooms are smaller than she’d like, and she knows I don’t like TV that much so she wanted me to have a TV-free retreat. Isn’t she the best?)

      • August 11, 2010 4:56 pm

        That was really awesome of her! When Matt comes home from work I move from the living room into the bedroom to read since he distracts me with his obnoxious TV shows. :) I am not a big TV watcher and I like some quiet while I am reading, so our bedroom has become my retreat.

  16. August 7, 2010 9:37 pm

    That is an absolutely gorgeous pic, so cute! That’s great news about the house, a reading room sounds lovely. :)

  17. August 7, 2010 10:02 pm

    Ooooh! That’s the best present in the world! A reading room *envious. Have fun decorating the room, can’t wait to see pictures.

    And the llama is so cute. such clear eyes =)

    • August 8, 2010 10:09 am

      That’s a great way to put it Moshi! I’ll have to get a thank you card for my parents. :D And I really wanted to take the llama home with me, hehe

  18. August 8, 2010 3:42 am

    What a cutie!

    Congratulations on the house and reading room – sounds divine!

    • August 8, 2010 3:45 am

      P.S. The photographs in the photostream are beautiful! I love the “old-fashioned postcard” look to them.

      • August 8, 2010 10:09 am

        Thanks! And isn’t that photography lovely?! I’m going to try taking a picture of me with my bookshelves and see if I can make it look old-fashioned. :)

  19. August 8, 2010 5:17 am

    That is so awesome, Eva! I’d love my own little reading room (my own bedroom is way too small to even hang shelves for my books). When do you move?

    I love that picture of a llama. I’m totally sending it to one of my friends who absolutely adores llamas. :D Great shot!

    • August 8, 2010 10:10 am

      We move late Sept/early Oct (it’s still up in the air). I’m lucky: as the oldest child, I’ve always gotten the biggest room when we moved, so I’ve always had space for my bookshelves! (it’s a bit of tight squeeze to the other side of my bed to make it though)

  20. August 8, 2010 6:16 am

    Eva, that is so exciting! I know you’ve been wanting to move back to Texas for a while, so YAY for that! And your own reading room – I have to admit I’m a bit jealous! That’ll be so fantastic. Can’t wait to see pictures once it’s all done!

    • August 8, 2010 10:11 am

      Thanks Heather! There will be lots of photographs…and you can always come see it for yourself! ;)

  21. August 8, 2010 7:55 am

    The llama IS gorgeous – sounds like you had fun at the Fayre!

    Congrats on getting “a room of your own”. Decorating your reading/blogging space will be fun for you.

    • August 8, 2010 10:11 am

      I did have fun: the jousting was awesome! And I totally thought of that Woolf essay too when my parents told me. :D

  22. August 8, 2010 8:12 am

    Why llamas at a Renaissance Festival? I went to one that had camels, and don’t get me wrong, it was awesome; but I’m not sure why they were there. Did Renaissance England have loads of camels really?

    I will keep my fingers crossed that all goes well with the house–a reading room sounds amazing!

    • August 8, 2010 10:12 am

      I wondered too, but I suppose rich Medieval people liked collection exotic animals? lol

      The house is ours now, so it’s just a matter of moving in: squee!

  23. August 8, 2010 10:37 am

    I love the llama picture! I agree — the eyes are wonderful. Congratulations on your parents’ new home! It sounds like exciting changes are underway.

  24. August 8, 2010 10:56 am

    Congratulations to you & your folks on the new house! Dreaming and planning about decoration is so fun; makes up for the hassle of moving. :-)

    • August 11, 2010 1:23 pm

      Thanks Emily! :) I’m actually looking forward to the move, since it’ll be a good impetus to downsize what I own, and since the government pays the movers. hehe

  25. August 8, 2010 11:21 am

    Your parents suggested a reading room for you? That is too fantastic for words! Enjoy deciding on the decorating, that’s always fun. Love the llama photo!

    • August 11, 2010 1:23 pm

      They did: it hadn’t even occurred to me! They’re definitely fantastic. :D

  26. August 8, 2010 8:13 pm

    That is a gorgeous llama! Very cool that you get such a nice room in the new house!

  27. August 9, 2010 10:43 am

    That is great news! Congratulations!

  28. Ellyn permalink
    August 9, 2010 7:51 pm

    Eva,
    Hopefully you’ll get this message before August 16th. I will be spending the week of the 16th – 23rd at my sister-in-law’s house in Florida. She is in end stage cancer and will die soon. While I am there, she can only talk for 1/2 hour increments. Most of the day, she will be resting and I will be alone. I want to read one or two good books while I am there. Possibly non-fiction books written by an author facing cancer/death, or something similar to what she is going through. Not necessarily a morbid book, but more of an inspirational one. Do you have any suggestions?
    Sincerely,
    Karenne

    • August 11, 2010 1:27 pm

      I have gotten your message Karenne, and I’m so sorry for you sister-in-law’s health. I haven’t read any nonfiction books like what you’ve suggested, but I’ve asked some other bloggers for advice, and I hope to get a list to you soon.

      A novel that occurred to me is A Fine and Private Place by Peter Beagle…it’s about ghosts in a cemetery, and how they cope in their new state and make connections they didn’t make in life. But I’m not sure if that’s the kind of thing you’re looking for.

    • August 11, 2010 1:31 pm

      Forgot to add, I’ll e-mail you the list of suggestions I get.

  29. August 10, 2010 6:30 am

    You’re coming back to TEXAS!!! Texas is ready for ya, too. :)

    • August 11, 2010 1:30 pm

      I know! And I want to meet you and baby Grayson! Once I’ve settled in we must arrange something. :D (Unless you’re going to the Texas Book Festival in Oct? Because I’m totally there.)

  30. Kathleen permalink
    August 10, 2010 1:43 pm

    The llama picture made me smile! Congratulations on your new space you have to look forward to. I look forward to the pictures when you have moved and put it all together.

Trackbacks

  1. My Home Library, Present and Future « A Striped Armchair
  2. My New Reading Chair! (and a few books) « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

