Skip to content

We Have to Stop Meeting Like This

July 19, 2010


photo credit

Typing ‘sheepish’ into Flickr’s Creative Commons bit yields some hilarious results, but in the end I thought distracting you with an adorable baby animal was the best course of action.

I’m getting tired of writing ‘sorry that I disappeared for like a month guys…my fibro really [fill in suitably negative-yet-upbeat adjective].’ In fact, I’m so tired of it that I spent days composing a ‘it’s been marvelous, but all good things must end’ post instead.

I have to be honest: the past few months have been really, really difficult. Earlier this year, it felt like I was on a slow but steady course towards getting my fibro back under control and visions of a semi-normal life were dancing through my head. But for the past three months, I’ve been ill more often than not, and it’s gut wrenching to feel more of my life slipping away. It all just makes me feel helpless and useless and apologetic to everyone who knows me and must secretly be wondering why I’m not living up to my potential. And so all of that made me think that I really should just stop blogging, since it’s not fair to my readers that I randomly disappear and don’t live up to promised posts and responsibilities. I had convinced myself that I didn’t deserve a blog. All of the same, I put off publishing my good-bye post, since even at my darkest the idea of no longer being in such a vibrant community seemed almost unimaginable.

I realise that this is probably more personal, and dark, than the kinds of things I normally write, so my apologies to those who just want to know what I’ve been reading. But I’m almost done, and now it has a book tie-in. So in that state, I was reading The Happiness Project a few days ago. And while the book didn’t work for me, there was one part that totally resonated: the author begins a blog, and she finds to her surprise that it really contributes to her daily happiness. As I read her ‘newbie’ impressions, I couldn’t help but smile, and I realised that there was no way I could stop blogging without leaving a huge void in my life.

So. This is definitely an ‘I’m back and not allowing some stupid chronic illness to make me go anywhere’ post. :) That being said, I’ve decided not to sign up for any more read-a-longs or tours. I’ll probably still unofficially participate in all of the ones that catch my eye, but I think that much of my guilt stems from not being able to fulfill obligations to other bloggers. I’ll also be resigning as co-host of Library Loot (although I’ll definitely still participate)…once I’ve chatted with Marg, I’ll let y’all know if there’s a vacancy to be filled.

And here’s what I shall fill my blogging time with: gushing over marvelous books I’ve read, making lists of said books, reading and responding to all of the wonderful comments y’all leave, visiting too many other blogs to add even more titles to the TBR list, supporting new bloggers when they reach out to me, chatting away on Twitter, and the occasional post on a more ‘meta’ reading topic. The good thing about the random blog breaks is that it allows time for my brain to think of fun new topics that leave me super-excited to get back into blogging! I’ve also written up a draft post equivalent of ‘I need to take a break because I feel lousy,’ so that next time I disappear it won’t be without a bit of warning. Of course, I’m optimistic that my fibro will stop acting up and I’ll be able to blog almost daily again (I know for some that’s too much, but I really do love daily blogging).

I’m ready for my blogging renaissance to begin, and I hope that you’ll join me!

189 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 12:45 am

    I’ll certainly join you Eva!

    I’m so sorry to hear about your difficult time. I don’t think the blogging community felt like you weren’t keeping to your scheduled tour post, I think most of us simply wished you were well wherever you were. And I don’t think you should feel sorry writing about your darker experiences, it makes you the person you are and from what I’ve seen you’re a wonderful person.

    And I realise it was simply a manoeuvre to distract us, but the picture of the lamp made me smile on this early morning.

    • July 20, 2010 8:22 pm

      Thanks so much Iris; you’re such a sweetie. :) Isn’t the lamb adorable?!

  2. July 19, 2010 12:47 am

    I’m sorry to hear that you are under the weather Eva. Don’t be too hard on yourself. Blog when you want to, we are always here. ;)

    Take good care of yourself.

  3. July 19, 2010 12:52 am

    Don’t think you are alone. I’ve also been fighting illness and spent long periods of time away from my blog. I thought about just giving it up but like you, I knew I would miss the community too much. Granted my following wasn’t even close to as many as yours :) but I still felt guilty. I finally just decided to do the best I can and accept that I am going to continue to blog for only for my own pleasure. I’m so glad you have decided to do the same. I know I and many others will continue to look forward to reading your posts.

    • July 20, 2010 8:22 pm

      I’m so sorry that you have health problems too Shawnee. :/ But I’m glad we both made the same decision!

  4. July 19, 2010 1:33 am

    Nice to have you back!

  5. July 19, 2010 2:15 am

    Eva, I for one am very glad that you are continuing to blog and in a low-pressure, just-for-fun kind of way. I have to remind myself to let go of the stress sometimes too. It’s perfectly understandable that you might ‘disappear’ from time to time. I’m glad you’re feeling better!

    • July 20, 2010 8:23 pm

      Thank you Marieke! The whole guilt/pressure/stress thing is so silly, you know? But we all seem to struggle with it.

  6. July 19, 2010 2:25 am

    Glad you´re feeling a bit better, Eva! And don´t feel bad about something like being ill!
    I´m happy you decided to keep going! :)

  7. July 19, 2010 3:35 am

    I am glad to hear that you are not giving up blogging permanently. We miss you here and on Twitter!

  8. July 19, 2010 3:57 am

    I’m glad you’ve decided to stay with it! I really enjoy your posts, and it doesn’t matter one bit to me whether they are daily, weekly, monthly, or whenever you feel up to it. I know it’s hard not to feel guilty, but you really shouldn’t and I hope that letting go of some of the “obligations” helps.

    • July 20, 2010 9:44 pm

      Thanks so much Laura; I’ll try to keep that in mind the next time I start feeling bad. :)

  9. July 19, 2010 4:28 am

    I’m so glad you’ve decided to stay- I would miss you terribly! I think you’re doing the right thing to balance your blog with your life; and those “technical difficulties” posts would be much appreciated. :)

  10. July 19, 2010 4:32 am

    Although I don’t have fibro, I too have really been struggling with blogging lately, for personal reasons but also just because the community is so huge it’s hard to have a place in it and stay involved for an extended period of time. I think the summer months make it hard too, at least for me, because my son (and the sun!) is up later and earlier and we’re spending so much time outside — not inside reading or blogging.

    All that to say, I’m glad your feeling better, I’m glad your not quitting completely, and I love your resolutions. Do the fun parts of blogging and don’t worry about the rest of it. We can’t be completely involved in everything that is going on and still have a life! At least, that is my take.

    • July 20, 2010 9:57 pm

      The community has gotten huge, hasn’t it? I feel like I’ve got a good niche going, just because I’m really selective about which blogs end up in my reader, so between that and interacting with my regular visitors here, I keep the numbers to a good level. But I also understand your struggle, and I hope that you end up finding a good balance.

      I’ve definitely been spending more time out and about since my niece has gotten here! Which is marvelous, and not something I feel guilty about in the slightest, lol.

  11. kimberlyloomis permalink
    July 19, 2010 4:52 am

    Eva, I’m so sorry to hear you’ve been having a rough go of things. Regardless of what you post and when you post it many of us will still be here, reading your blog and enjoying what you have to say. I do hope your illness improves and your quality of life moves in the same direction. Blogging is something you’re doing for yourself and there’s no need to make a decision you’ll be unhappy with as a result. :)

  12. July 19, 2010 4:53 am

    Hi Eva

    I am a new blogger, but I have been following yours for about a year, and I would be so disappointed if you gave up blogging! I have Lupus, which is very similar to fibro in many respects – aches and pains, brain fog, chronic fatigue etc. I totally understand how it comes and goes and just when you think you might be getting your life back on track, it rears its head again to knock you back down. I have SO been there! Please don’t give up, just post when you can – people will understand and will still be here. I’m glad to hear you are feeling a litttle better!

    • July 20, 2010 9:59 pm

      Rebecca, I’m so sorry that you have Lupus. But I’m delighted to meet a new blogger, and I shall be off to explore your blog shortly!

  13. July 19, 2010 5:02 am

    Eva, I’m so glad you are in a bit of a better place right now. I’ve wondered and worried a little, but knew you would come back if you could. It’s a hard thing to try to decide whether to blog or not. I have taken several extended breaks myself as life “happened”. I think that the wonderful thing about bloggers is that they will be there and be as involved as you like or as you are able and then they will be very kind and forgiving (not that you need forgiveness!) when you return. It’s an easygoing hobby in some ways.

    Take good care. Come when you can or when it feels right. Step out when it doesn’t. We don’t want to pressure you to blog. We just want to be your friends! :-) Hugs to you!

    • July 20, 2010 9:59 pm

      You’re so right Kay re: the ability to just pick up after a blogging break where I left off! I need to remember that. :) And your last few sentences brought a huge smile to my face: thanks a bunch!

  14. July 19, 2010 5:09 am

    Hi Eva,

    I’m so happy that you are not going to give up blogging. On a more serious note, I understand how difficult things have been for you. Please don’t feel bad that you are not living up to your promises or that you are obligated to blog if you are not well.

    In fact, I was actually pretty worried about you when I haven’t seen a new post and was thinking to myself “hope Eva is feeling ok”. I know this sounds silly but I was really really happy when I saw the update on my link. I’m just glad that you are ok and feeling happy everyday. =)

    Please take care and be well. That’s all I hope.

    • July 20, 2010 10:00 pm

      Thanks so much Moshi, for the kind words and keeping me in your thoughts. :)

  15. July 19, 2010 5:18 am

    I’m so glad you’ve decided to stay around. We all understand when you disappear and definitely don’t think less of you for it – well, at least I don’t :) I really hope that you are feeling better soon, I’m sending hugs and healthy thoughts your way.

    • July 20, 2010 10:00 pm

      Thanks Amy! That’s good to keep in mind. :)

  16. Skip permalink
    July 19, 2010 5:44 am

    You don’t owe us anything. Write (or not write) for what it offers you. Blogging isn’t a blood oath. I’m sure most would prefer intermittent posts to complete radio silence.

    • July 20, 2010 10:01 pm

      So true Skip! Although now I have a great mental image of bloggers all around in a circle, chanting weird things and swearing blood oaths. LOL

  17. July 19, 2010 6:06 am

    I’m so sorry your having to deal with such debilitating health issues. You would leave a void in the blogging world if you just disappeared. I think you’re smart to drop the obligations and just do what you can when you can.

    • July 20, 2010 10:07 pm

      Thanks so much; that really means a lot to me. :)

  18. July 19, 2010 6:26 am

    Hi Eva,

    I really enjoy your blog and I’m glad that you are sticking with it!

    Have you ever tried a raw food diet for your fibro? I have been reading raw food blogs/forums and books for years and have read repeatedly how people have healed (pr dramatically reduced their symptoms) from a raw food diet.

    I am looking forward to your future posts!

    • July 20, 2010 10:08 pm

      Thanks Tricia! I haven’t tried a raw food diet…I’m currently eating vegan and gluten free, and I cringe at the idea of MORE food restrictions. But perhaps I should give it a go anyway…after all, if it makes me feel better it could be worth it!

  19. July 19, 2010 6:29 am

    You don’t have to apologize at all Eva! It’s wonderful to see a blog post from you and I’m just sorry you’ve had such a rough time of it with your fibro. I think letting go of some of the “obligations” is a good thing as really your focus needs to be on you and doing what makes you happy. Sending you a lot of good health vibes!

  20. July 19, 2010 6:49 am

    I am so sorry that your health has caused such issues in life – but it seems that you are beginning to find a balance that will work for you. That is great – and I am glad that you did not have to give up the blog in the quest for that balance :)

  21. July 19, 2010 7:18 am

    Post when you can, Darlin’! hugs, C

  22. July 19, 2010 7:18 am

    Eva, I’m sorry that you have been under the weather – I can’t even imagine what you must be going through with your fibro. My aunt has fibro and I see how she suffers from it and so I do get the part of being in a dark place. I have autoimmune hepatitis and sometimes I am feeling so exhausted and having such pain and am in such a dark place that blogging is the last thing on my mind and so I don’t post until I feel more like myself. So I can sort of understand where you are coming from. I’m just glad that you decided to keep on blogging. I love reading your posts and reviews and I think its great of you to share with us about your fibro, because it is a part of your life and it allows us to get to know you a bit better – so thank you for sharing. And I just want you to know that no matter how often you blog, we will be here ready to read your posts – so take a break when you need it. Just take care of yourself and blog whenever you feel like it. Cheers!

    • July 20, 2010 10:17 pm

      Thanks so much Nadia for the sweet comment, and I’m so sorry to hear about your aunt and your own struggles. We’re all in this together, eh?

  23. July 19, 2010 7:21 am

    Glad to see you’re back and feeling much better. When you need to take a break – take it! Of course we’ll be here waiting for you once you get back. :-) I missed you!

  24. July 19, 2010 7:27 am

    I think the cute baby animals should be your code for I’m not feeling well. :-)

    Glad you’re back and hope you continue to feel better!!

    • July 20, 2010 10:18 pm

      That is a marvelous idea, and I’m totally going to do that! :)

  25. July 19, 2010 7:31 am

    We missed you but don’t think about us. Post when you can or when you want to. We’ll always come back and pick up the thread. :)

  26. July 19, 2010 7:41 am

    I think the worst thing we bloggers do is put undue pressure on ourselves when it comes to maintaining our sites. Of course it’s hard to walk away from the computer, but there are more important things in life, and I do think it’s important to remember that once you stop blogging for yourself, you’ve lost a critical motivation to write! I’m sorry your time away was so unpleasant, but I would hate for you to beat yourself up because of misplaced guilt! You know that we love you and understand that blogging must sometimes take a backseat to other things… So long as you never write that goodbye post, I don’t care how long your absences are! I’d hate to be part of a community that didn’t involve you.

    • July 20, 2010 10:19 pm

      So true Steph. :) I definitely blog for myself, but I always feel kind of awkward when I’ve been on a long break and then just start posting out of the blue again. Which sounds even more ridiculous when I type it out in a sentence! ;) That last bit of your comment totally made me teary-eyed; thanks so much for saying such a sweet thing.

    • July 21, 2010 5:21 am

      Eva, I second Steph’s comment. Given how committed you are to blogging, we know that long periods of silence on your end is due to your illness. And while we do miss your posts when you are away, our concern for your health and wellbeing is uppermost in our minds when you do disappear to take care of yourself. So as long as you don’t write that goodbye post, we will put up with your silences :) with the full knowledge that when you reappear, you will announce yourself in one of your dazzling posts. Take care of yourself and blog at your own pace and when you feel up to it. Glad to have you back but you never really went away. Always glad to hear that you are feeling better.

  27. July 19, 2010 7:44 am

    Eva – I was so happy to see a new post from you in my Google Reader! I figured you were gone due to being unwell, so I’m glad you’re feeling well enough to send out a post. :) Like others have commented above, it’s better to have intermittent posts from you rather than have none at all. Welcome back, and choose whatever blogging ‘agenda’ is comfortable for you.

  28. July 19, 2010 7:59 am

    You have been missed! Hope you are feeling better. I look forward to catching up with you and hearing what you’ve been reading/watching.

  29. July 19, 2010 8:16 am

    The fact that it’s only 8:00am California time and you already have 28 comments should tell you something: we all care, we want what’s best for you, and we’d miss you if you stopped blogging all together. So, no apologies when you disappear. We’ll all still be here. And, I am so glad you realized you enjoy blogging and that you are trying to reduce the stress and guilt.

    Read what you want, when you want and take breaks as you need them! Glad you are back!

    • July 20, 2010 10:27 pm

      Aww: you’re so sweet Helen. Thank you! :)

  30. July 19, 2010 8:37 am

    I’m sorry you’ve been under the weather, but I’m really happy that you aren’t giving up blogging. I second what Helen says – the fact that now 30 folks have commented here is a message from us that you shouldn’t leave the blogging world! Take your time through blogging, and it’s good that you are going to do only what you can, without the added responsibilities. Sometimes, that’s just what we need.

  31. July 19, 2010 8:47 am

    Hello! I’m glad to see you are posting again. But, in no way do I want you to feel pressured about posting. It’s your blog and you should post whenever you feel like it. Like you said, blogging makes you happy, and if you start feeling like it’s a little too much, take a step back, have a holiday and then come back when you feel ready. No one’s going to be angry and I really don’t think you’ll lose your readers. We’ll just be really happy when you return! Besides, you have a life as well as a blog. Anyway, enough of my agony aunt stuff. Just wanted to say hello and welcome back!

    • July 20, 2010 10:33 pm

      I shall definitely reread this comment next time I’m feeling stressed. :)

  32. July 19, 2010 8:48 am

    Eva-face! We’d rather have you sporadically than not at all.

  33. July 19, 2010 8:52 am

    I’m glad you decided to stick around. Your blog is the first book blog I ever read, and the one that inspired me to start my own! Your readers understand when you’ve got to take breaks; don’t quit on account of us. :)

    • July 20, 2010 10:34 pm

      Thanks so much Emily Jane: I had no idea! :)

  34. July 19, 2010 8:57 am

    I’m with Steph, Eva: the pressure we bloggers put on ourselves is the worst thing we can do! I think everyone who blogs, whether or not they’re dealing with chronic illness, understands that life sometimes gets in the way, and there will be times of greater or lesser posting. So sorry that you’ve been sick, but glad you haven’t decided to quit blogging. I look forward to your future posts! :-)

  35. July 19, 2010 9:03 am

    I’m glad you’re going to be giving yourself some more wiggle room, Eva. Although my reasons for stepping away and going through my own renaissance are different, I feel much happier about blogging now. It’s fun again and I’m not compromising on it or my personal life and stressing about it. I’m glad you’re going through your own renaissance and that you still plan on being around when your health permits you.

    • July 20, 2010 10:34 pm

      I’m glad you feel better about blogging now! And I’m already enjoying it more, heehee. ;)

  36. July 19, 2010 9:04 am

    Don’t put the pressure on yourself. And definitely DON’T stop blogging. Your blogs are always insightful and worth reading and if they aren’t regular, so what.
    We all take “breaks” from time to time for a variety of reasons (health, personal, workload) and that is just a fact of life these days.
    I love reading your stuff, and urge you to put yourself first ALWAYS.
    Take care, and hope you are having a sunnier day than I am here.

    • July 20, 2010 10:46 pm

      Yes ma’am! ;) Thanks Shonna…the weather’s been a bit crazy here this week, but before that it was all sunshine.

  37. teadevotee permalink
    July 19, 2010 9:10 am

    I really feel for you Eva. And I agree with Steph. Your blog mustn’t become a stick to beat yourself with! We love to hear from you, but if you don’t feel up to it, that’s ok too!
    PS, I am suffering with a similar problem and fibro has been suggested as one possible diagnosis, though it’s still very inconclusive. If you ever want to chat, would be great to hear from you: teadevotee at gmail.com
    All the best, Lyndsey

    • July 20, 2010 10:48 pm

      I’ve sent you an e-mail; I’m really sorry you’re going through health problems right now. :(

  38. July 19, 2010 9:12 am

    I am glad that you are staying on as a blogger. I know that giving up my blog now would be one of the most difficult things I could do. It has created a wonderful place for me to do as I wish and say what I need to say. I, too, have learned in the last month or so that making me happy and healthy is more important than some of my other obligations. I mean well, but sometimes I can’t always carry through and it isn’t my fault. :)

    I am looking forward to reading more posts and I hope that the Fibro stays at bay. I battle with rheumatoid arthritis, so I know what it is to battle a chronic illness. Sometimes staying healthy is just hard. :)

    Take care of yourself!

    • July 20, 2010 10:48 pm

      Thanks Allie! I’m so sorry that you have rheumatoid arthritis. :( But I’m glad you view your blog as a haven too!

  39. July 19, 2010 9:33 am

    I’m sorry you’ve been feeling so awful, but don’t let it push you away from blogging because of guilt–it’s so self-imposed, and we are all doing this for fun! I’m sure I’m not the only one (especially considering the commenters above me!) who would rather read one post every few weeks than none at all, though I do understand feeling bad about definite commitments. Still, life happens and we all know it.

  40. July 19, 2010 9:43 am

    I’m SO glad you’ve decided not to leave us. We all understand that your health comes first, and we’ll always be here waiting to hear more from you when you return. You’re a big part of this blogging community, Eva, and we all care very much.

    *Hugs*

  41. July 19, 2010 9:47 am

    So glad you’re back! I’ve been missing you. And, just say no to all that blogger guilt!!! Blogging is a fun hobby and should stay that way. Don’t feel bad for having to back off your blog from time to time. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with that; in fact, it can be rather refreshing, don’t you think?

    • July 20, 2010 10:54 pm

      I was raised Catholic; guilt is part of me. ;) I definitely agree that short blogging breaks can be very refreshing…I just prefer to choose them myself instead of fibro forcing me to take one. lol

  42. Rachel permalink
    July 19, 2010 9:54 am

    No need to feel guilty about not posting! Post when you can, and we’ll always be here to read it. Just take care of yourself!

    • July 20, 2010 10:54 pm

      Thanks Rachel!

      (Just fyi, your name isn’t linking to your blog.)

  43. July 19, 2010 9:59 am

    Steph said it so well that I do not think I can improve on those thoughts. When and if you want to or are able. As you can see from all the comments here, no one is going anywhere. Best wishes for a healthy remainder of summer!

  44. Jason Gignac permalink
    July 19, 2010 10:01 am

    I’m glad you’re back a little bit, (That is, I’m glad you’re a little bit back, not I’m a little bit glad you’re back… :D). Take care of yourself Ms. Eva, I hope things settle down for you, soon, here and in real life.

    • July 20, 2010 10:55 pm

      lol! Thanks Jason. :) It’s exciting knowing that I’m moving back to San Antonio in just three months now! *happy dance*

  45. July 19, 2010 10:11 am

    I was so happy to see your name in bold in my google reader today! :) I’m sorry you have been feeling so awful, but know that when you disappear we understand that you are going through some really rough stuff, and we are always going to be here when you are able to return. I seriously gasped when I got to the part in your post when you talked about quitting – NOOOO! So I’m glad you’re not. What Raych said – we’d rather have you sometimes than never.

    Looking forward to talking soon!

    • July 20, 2010 10:56 pm

      Thanks Heather! I missed you bunches, and I haven’t forgotten about Bones! I’ll e-mail you when I’ve finally gotten it in the mail. ;)

  46. She permalink
    July 19, 2010 10:20 am

    :)

  47. July 19, 2010 10:31 am

    Glad you are back, in whatever capacity. Your blog is a pleasure to read, and you should not make it into an onerous guilt trap. Your readers will still be here when you are ready to write.

  48. July 19, 2010 10:58 am

    Firstly: glad you’re back!!!!!!!!!!! Secondly, I read your post to the part where you mentioned a ‘goodbye’ post and I literally GASPED. No! Eva can’t go away. I won’t let you. Don’t make me march over there….

    I’ve taken big breaks from blogging and like you, I’ve always been guilt ridden that I couldn’t fulfill my obligations to my readers. Ultimately, I realized that I don’t blog to please everyone; I blog to please myself. Sometimes you just don’t feel like blogging and that’s okay. You’re loyal readers will always support you. You’re never under any obligation to apologize for disappearing! We’ll always welcome you back with open arms.

    • July 20, 2010 11:05 pm

      You make me giggle at the same time you’re saying such smart things…which is why you rock Ty! :) I’m really glad that you’re enjoying your blogging now…I’d be so sad if you ever stopped.

  49. July 19, 2010 11:35 am

    So lovely to see you back Eva. I am so pleased that you decided not to give up as you would be missed quite badly. I have felt the same overwhelming feeling lately and I have struggled to keep up with everything. I nearly stopped blogging, but then realised I missed talking to everyone and seeing what they are reading. I would never have read such amazing books without blogging as I would never have come across them. I like the idea about not signing up to read a longs and challenges as they do put me under pressure.

    • July 20, 2010 11:05 pm

      Thank you Vivienne! I’m so glad you’ve decided blogging is worth it; I’d definitely miss you. :) I don’t feel pressured by challenges I can complete at my own pace, but I know I’m in the minority on that one. lol

  50. July 19, 2010 11:57 am

    I’m a new blogger, and I discovered your blog recently. I’m glad you decided to keep it alive! I enjoy reading all your posts but definitely understand if you must take breaks from time to time. It comes down to taking care of yourself! Glad you are back, though. :)

    • July 20, 2010 11:06 pm

      Thanks Bailey! Welcome to book blogging; I’ll be by to check out your blog shortly. :)

  51. July 19, 2010 12:33 pm

    It began as a very sad post indeed, but I was (selfishly) thrilled to hear from you! I actually felt ill when you mentioned you were writing your Goodbye post!

    I hope you continue to feel better, and I think you’ve made the right decision to keep blogging – I say that because I know from my own experience, living, how important it is to have things to live for, even if they’re not important to anyone else. It’s a good move, taking out the pressure of fulfilling obligations and responsibilities, so you can more freely enjoy it. When something turns into work, it’s no longer as fun is it!

    (and if you still want that book, don’t forget to email me your address!)

    • July 20, 2010 11:07 pm

      You’re so sweet Shannon! And it’s so true…my blog is definitely something to live for, as silly as that might sound to non-bloggers. :) I shall e-mail you my address right now so I don’t forget! And then we’ll figure out which book of mine I should send to you!

  52. July 19, 2010 12:51 pm

    Oh Eva, you sweet, sweet thing. I just want to hug you so much right now. STOP STOP STOP all the guilt. PLEASE!!! Do you not understand how very loved you are?!! No one cares that you can’t blog on a daily basis. (Well, except that that means you’re not feeling well. And I know I’m not alone in being profoundly sad because of that.) But see, the way I look at it, Eva, every post you make is a gift. It’s not something you owe any of us. It’s a gift.

    So no more apologies, okay? And no more guilt. And no more thoughts of quitting blogging, unless it becomes something that no longer holds any joy for you (and I sincerely hope that never happens!)

    Love you.

    • July 20, 2010 11:16 pm

      Debi!!! I owe you such a long e-mail!!! And I see you’ve started a book blog again in my absence: you can’t IMAGINE how excited that makes me! And your post made me cry it’s so sweet. Love you too. :)

  53. July 19, 2010 12:57 pm

    Hang in there, Eva. I know it must be terrible at times. I suffer from psoriatic arthritis (in hands, feet and neck) and it can be completely miserable at times, but I know it is probably nothing like your fibro. Funnily enough, reading gets me through the worst of it. Not sure if it is the same for you, but the best I can offer you is you should never really worry about us guys, we’ll be here whenever you need us! If you only manage to blog once every six months, that’s okay. Blogging should never be an obligation, but something you enjoy doing when you’re in the right frame of mind to do it :-)

    • July 20, 2010 11:18 pm

      I’m so sorry to hear about your arthritis. :( My neck is one of the most sensitive areas for me, so I feel awful for anyone else with chronic pain there. Unfortunately, my fibro flare-ups include brain fog, so I can’t read when I’m really sick, which makes things a lot worse. On the plus side, it makes me totally binge for the first week or so I’m feeling healthy afterwards. Thanks so much for the sweet comment!

  54. winstonsdad permalink
    July 19, 2010 12:57 pm

    nice se you back eva ,hope things ease down soon all the best stu

  55. Juanita permalink
    July 19, 2010 2:55 pm

    I’m sorry to hear that you haven’t been feeling well, and I do hope that better times are heading your way. I’m thrilled that you’ve decided to not give up blogging entirely. Don’t feel bad about not being to blog sometimes. We understand. Take breaks when you need to and take care of yourself. We’ll be here you’re feeling up to it again.

  56. July 19, 2010 2:56 pm

    Totally agree with so many of the thoughts above. I was thrilled to see your post today because I do enjoy your posts so much, but also because I was worried, so I’m breathing a big sigh of relief.

    And others have said it already, but I’ll say it again, do not let yourself feel guilty about blogging. Blogging should not become a burden; it should be a joy. If something makes it a burden, cut that something out!

    Not signing up for stuff sounds like a good plan. I’ve taken much the same approach to stay stress-free in the blogging world, and I don’t have anything like the health issues you’re dealing with. I hardly ever participate in stuff that requires a commitment ahead of time. It has to really speak to me. But I’ve had the happy experience of realizing that if I have the time and inclination and decide to join something at the last minute or unofficially, people welcome me just as warmly as if I had signed up ahead of time.

    • July 20, 2010 11:20 pm

      That’s what I’m telling myself about unofficial participation. ;) My problem is I LOVE the whole Classics Circuit and Spotlight Series thing, but it just brings more guilt right now since I can’t depend on my health. So I’ll just be reading alongside all of the participants! And thanks so much for your sweet words Teresa; I definitely missed you.

  57. July 19, 2010 3:13 pm

    I’m always glad to see your posts, even if it’s been a long time. Do what you can and know we’re still here for you.

  58. July 19, 2010 3:42 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear you haven’t been feeling well. Although, I’m sure ‘not feeling well’ is an understatement. So glad that you kept postponing your farewell post. I think all these comments should serve as a reminder that no one wants you to stop blogging. We would miss your posts just as much as, if not more than, you’d miss writing them. Sounds like a lose-lose situation to me ;)

    I’m looking forward to all the book-gushing you have in store for us!

    • July 20, 2010 11:25 pm

      Thank you Alita! Every comment on this post has definitely confirmed that I made the right decision. :)

  59. July 19, 2010 4:13 pm

    *very big hug* I’m sorry you’ve been feeling so crappy! I started writing emails to check on you a few times, but then I was embarrassed because last time I emailed to check on you I said something dumb about fibro & felt uneducated, and also I thought if I emailed you it would just make you feel obligated to come back and post something even if you weren’t really feeling up to it. In other news, I overthink.

    I’m really glad you are not stopping blogging, however! I missed your reviews while you were away, and I am pleased as punch to hear that you are going to carry on. Especially since the sequel to Sea of Poppies won’t be out for a while yet, and I want to be able to squee to you when it does come out. :p

    • July 20, 2010 11:26 pm

      Aww; I love to get e-mails from you and I never think of you as uneducated! I’m also glad that I’m feeling healthy in time for your Dianna Wynn Jones week. ;)

      I think we should go hunt down Amitav Ghosh and harass him into getting that sequel done soon! lol

  60. July 19, 2010 4:45 pm

    I’m glad you’re feeling better and very glad you’re not going to quit blogging. Claire of The Captive Reader and I had a recent mini Calgary book bloggers meet up (of the two of us!) and we talked about how great you and your blog are, among other things! :) I’m glad The Happiness Project reminded you about doing the things that matter to you, I also read it this year and liked what she wrote about reading the books that resonate most with you, without guilt. Blogging in various places has been such a support to me over the last few years as I’ve moved and gone from university to marriage, it’s nice to have something that stays the same and can be a home.

    • July 20, 2010 11:27 pm

      That’s so sweet of you and Claire Carolyn! When I think of all the changes my blog has seen me through, it’s definitely a bit crazy. :) I really liked the bit about Gretchen connecting w/ her love of children’s lit in The Happiness Project too. :)

  61. July 19, 2010 4:52 pm

    I’m glad you’re back, and that you’re not going to quit blogging. We’d all miss you! I hope you continue to feel better.

  62. July 19, 2010 5:12 pm

    It’s great to have you back!

  63. July 19, 2010 5:48 pm

    As you can see, we’re all still here and will always be. I hope that you have a good patch ahead!

  64. July 19, 2010 6:51 pm

    So glad you’re feeling better and back online! I can only speak for myself (and, um, maybe the other 60-some folks who have commented above) by saying the book blogosphere would just not be the same without you. And I’m so glad you decided not to give in to your fibro and let it dictate what you do and don’t do! I just appreciate the fact that you will still be around to enrich us, in whatever way you feel is right for you.

  65. July 19, 2010 7:11 pm

    So good to see a new post from you, Eva. Do this at your own pace; we are glad to hear from you whenever! And — please, please let me know if there is ever anything I can do — I am not that far away from you (at least until you move)!

    • July 20, 2010 11:51 pm

      Thank you Valerie! I’m chatting w/ my mom about a day up in Monument so we can meet up! :)

  66. July 19, 2010 8:52 pm

    Eva, I’ve been thinking of you and wondering how you’re doing (I figured that your fibro was probably acting up again). I’m so so glad to hear that you’re not giving up blogging! Please take care of yourself and keep coming back to us when you can. I’m sending positive vibes your way!

    • July 20, 2010 11:53 pm

      Thanks so much! And I know I owe you an e-mail; I really want to discuss Piece by Piece with you. :)

  67. July 19, 2010 11:33 pm

    Sorry to hear about the fibro acting up Eva :( I kept checking on your blog and I was wondering when your next review would come. I love reading your reviews, so please don’t stop blogging for good! We are all patient readers and would love to read whenever you publish something :) I live on another continent altogether, or would have loved to meet up with you at some point just to cheer you up. Keep up the spirit girl, and us readers will be here always :)

    • July 20, 2010 11:55 pm

      Thank you Birdy! You definitely cheered me up virtually. :)

  68. July 20, 2010 2:19 am

    I’m glad to hear that you’re sticking around. It wouldn’t be the same without you!

  69. July 20, 2010 3:18 am

    Eva of course you deserve a blog and yours is one of the ones that I love to pop buy to (I know everyone says this to everyone when they have thought about quitting but its 100% true!) I think the thing with blogs is they become unruly, they think they are in charge and they arent the whole idea is do it when you feel the need and don’t when you don’t. If you have a month off, so what? People will still be there!

    Glad your feeling better and upbeat – long may it continue!!!

    • July 20, 2010 11:56 pm

      Your parenthetical aside has me laughing so hard, because it’s true! :) I love the mental image of blogs trying to take over. And thanks for the pep talk; I love your blog too!

  70. July 20, 2010 3:29 am

    I thought my computer was acting up when my in-box was full of comments on your blog! However, it wasn’t! You really do have MANY people who care about you and love your blog. As everyone is saying, just blog when you can. We’ll enjoy what you write and will be thinking about you warmly when you’re not up to it.

    • July 20, 2010 11:56 pm

      Aww: thanks so much Penny! Sorry about your inbox. ;)

  71. justbookreading permalink
    July 20, 2010 3:59 am

    OK, first, the lamb was a good distraction. Two, glad to hear you’re not giving up blogging. I love stopping by here. :-) Do what you can when you can and feel no guilt.

    • July 20, 2010 11:57 pm

      Yay for baby animals! lol Thanks for the reassurance. :)

  72. July 20, 2010 4:50 am

    I’m sorry to hear that you’re unwell Eva, but I’m so happy that you’ll stay in the blogosphere. I don’t post here often, but I really enjoy reading your blog and would miss you!

  73. July 20, 2010 6:08 am

    I’m glad you’ve decided to continue blogging, and I’m sorry that you’ve had such a difficult summer. I hope you feel better soon!

    Happy reading!

  74. July 20, 2010 6:18 am

    I’m so sorry to hear that you have been ill so much recently. But just because you can’t always post regularly doesn’t mean you don’t deserve a blog! Of course you deserve a blog! I would definitely miss you if you left the blogosphere; this is one of the few book blogs I read pretty much every post on. I’m glad you are going to stick around and find ways to make it less stressful for yourself.

    • July 21, 2010 12:02 am

      Thank you Sarah! That means a lot to me. :) Also, I REALLY want to get up to Boulder before I move away from Colorado. So I’ll be e-mailing you soon!

      • July 21, 2010 7:59 am

        That would be awesome :) Let me know what/when you have in mind!

  75. July 20, 2010 8:02 am

    Do what you need to do to take care of yourself! And, if blogging fits into that, we’ll be here to read you. I don’t know about everyone else, but I’m here because I enjoy your interesting reading picks and the way you write about them–not because you are or are not active to whatever degree in the bookblogging community.

    • July 21, 2010 12:07 am

      Thank you Alice! Such a nice compliment on my blog too; I’m smiling from ear to ear.

  76. July 20, 2010 8:20 am

    We over here at CFS House totally understand and are sending you hugs, sympathy, and encouragement. your blog is YOUR blog and we love to see you when you pop in!! No need for guilt or anything at all. Sending you healing wishes and heatpacks. :)

    • July 21, 2010 12:08 am

      Thanks Daphne: I knew you’d understand! :)

  77. July 20, 2010 11:36 am

    Oh, Eva. How does one even respond to a post like this? You rode me like an emotional roller coaster the whole way through! “What, Eva’s stopping?!” I wailed in my head. Before, of course, realizing that you were not. I am glad for a myriad of very selfish reasons. One being that… well, I like you. And two being that I will probably be just as sporadic with posting as you in a few months, and I’m glad those of us that are sporadic are still just going to enjoy the act of blogging, rather than stressing out about whether or not anyone is reading what we say, or whether we are disappointing other people. I think it’s a lot easier that way. There are so many ways to disappoint someone, so it’s nice to know that blogging is not one of them.

    As for potential that is wasting away… I’m sorry. I don’t want to say anything trite. I can only imagine how it must feel to be in the “prime of youth,” and feel that you can’t take advantage of it the way other people can. But from what I can tell, you do grab life by the horns and do what you can with it, and fight as hard as you can to meet your potential. I think that’s pretty great.

    • July 21, 2010 12:09 am

      You leave the bestest comments Aarti! I like you a lot too, and even if I stopped blogging, I’d never give up my e-mails to you. :p (And I know it’s my turn, lol)

      Your last paragraph might’ve made me tear up a little, but in a good way. It really made me feel much better. :) That, and as I explained to my mom, since I already look young once I’m healthy I’m totally taking back the 2 years fibro has stolen from me. I plan to be 25 for awhile. heehee

  78. July 20, 2010 2:07 pm

    I am SO glad that you are back!!! I support whatever direction to take with the blog that makes you happy. I was nervous when I first started reading that you were leaving the blog and then I sighed with relief when I realized that you were just doing what you need to do to take care of yourself!!!

    • July 21, 2010 12:10 am

      Thanks so much! I totally missed our Twitter conversations. :D And catching up on your blog!

  79. July 20, 2010 2:31 pm

    You know I missed you! I hope you don’t feel guilty when you don’t blog (even though I know you probably do, I do!), we’ll always be here when you come back and will always read your wonderful words. I’m so glad you didn’t write a goodbye post. I wouldn’t have been able to handle it!

    • July 21, 2010 12:11 am

      Thanks so much Lu! And I’ll be replying to your e-mail very soon. :) I’m glad I didn’t write a goodbye post either; I’d have missed everyone too much!

  80. July 20, 2010 3:16 pm

    When I don’t see a post from you for a while I get to wondering, and hoping the ‘fibro is not too painful and difficult. We love your words and your wonderful thoughts. Glad you are staying with us!

    • July 21, 2010 12:11 am

      Thanks so much Gavin. That means a lot to me.

  81. July 20, 2010 5:33 pm

    OMG I’m like the 81st comment! Please stay with us in whatever capacity you have. Do not worry for one second about your being away every once in a while. You have taught this old goat (sheep?) a thing or two and I would miss you terribly if you were close down your blog.

    Do what works for you and know that we will be here.

    • July 21, 2010 12:12 am

      Aww: thanks so much! I really look up to you, so your comment made my day. :)

  82. July 20, 2010 7:39 pm

    Eva, blogging should definitely be something that brings you pleasure and not guilt! Your health always comes first, and those of us who love your feisty outlook on books and life will always keep checking in on you, and be happy to hear from you whenever you feel so inclined.

    Stay healthy, my dear!

    • July 21, 2010 12:12 am

      Thanks Becca! That’s so nice of you to say. :)

  83. July 20, 2010 10:02 pm

    Just happy that you’re still here.. xo.

    • July 21, 2010 12:13 am

      Thank you Claire! I was delighted by all of the posts on your blog waiting for me in my GR. :)

  84. July 21, 2010 2:00 am

    But you deserve a blog *so* very much! You have so many interesting thoughts to share.

  85. July 21, 2010 2:00 am

    Sorry, forgot to add: I hope you get better soon :/

  86. July 21, 2010 7:38 am

    This is a perfectly good way to blog–in fact, I often like the results of this kind of blogging more than the daily kind of posts. Don’t worry about your readers still being here. I will be, and I rarely see this many comments on one post, so I’m obviously not alone!

    • July 24, 2010 9:16 am

      Thanks Jeane. :) I guess organic blogging is usually better than the forced variety!

  87. Dhea Quasim permalink
    July 21, 2010 11:01 am

    Hi Eva,
    I don’t think I have ever commented on your blog before – I just wanted to say that it is nice to have you back. Even though I am a regular reader of your blog – your disappearances don’t disappoint – they simply leave me hoping that all is well. As for your illness, I can do nothing more the offer you the advice of the great Dr Suess

    “I know it is wet and the sun is not sunny, but we can have lots of good fun that is funny.” “The Cat in the hat”

    Dhea Quasim

    • July 24, 2010 9:17 am

      Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a comment Dhea. :)

  88. July 21, 2010 5:29 pm

    Wow, Eva – all these comments – I hope they help you know that you are loved and valued in this community. :) I figured it was probably a flare that was keeping you away, and you were in my prayers. I’m glad you’re back and hope that you continue to feel better!

  89. bookgazing permalink
    July 22, 2010 7:10 am

    I’m like the nintieth person who is glad to have you back and hopes your really bad illness days are now behind you and thinks you can get the zing of blogging back by dropping those pesky obligations so I hope you’re not bored of all the love coming your way yet because here comes some more…
    ….
    ….
    MORE LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEEEEE.

    Looking forward to posts in your wonderful, irrepresible voice. However many they be, whenever they occur and whatever they are on, you keep a permenenat spot in my feed reader because you’re just awesome.

    • July 24, 2010 9:18 am

      Your comment made me laugh and blush and get all gooey inside! Thanks a bunch. :D

  90. Rhian permalink
    July 23, 2010 6:56 am

    A rather belated glad to see you back. And, to repeat what so many others have said, so glad you aren’t giving up the blog. I really enjoy it, anbd would miss it (and you) greatly. I hope that the dark days are behind you now, and that you can really enjoy your reading and blogging.

  91. July 23, 2010 12:20 pm

    Glad to see you back, Eva :) I am sorry to know that you were not well and had to take a break, but I am glad that you have fought back and are back to normal. I hope you never think of moving away from the blogging world – there is so much of affection for you here and there will be an outpouring of grief, if you try doing that. We are all looking forward to reading your posts.

    And I have to say that I loved the picture of the baby sheep :)

    • July 24, 2010 9:18 am

      Aww: thanks Vishy! Isn’t that lamb adorable? :)

  92. July 23, 2010 5:08 pm

    Eva: I’m late commenting because I haven’t read any of my feeds for days now…I’m sorry to hear about your fight with chronic illness. I know how devastating and draining these things can be…and I just want to encourage you to keep blogging because it seems that it is something that is very positive in your life and that is so important (I also selfishly would miss your blog SO much if you disappeared). I know the feeling of having life get one down – and how finding energy can be so very, very hard at those times. I hope you begin to feel better soon. *BIG HUGS*

    • July 24, 2010 9:19 am

      Thanks so much Wendy. Big hugs right back.

  93. stacybuckeye permalink
    July 24, 2010 8:15 am

    I love your blog whether you post daily or monthly. Just do what you can, what makes you happy and most importantly, don’t stress. The book blogging will be here waiting. But I’m guessing you know that just by looking at the number of comments you have :)
    I have a good friend with fibro and I know how awful it can be. I’m sending positive thoughts your way…

    • July 24, 2010 9:19 am

      Thanks Stacy! I hope your good friend has it under control. :)

  94. Kathleen permalink
    July 24, 2010 12:08 pm

    Reading your post made me sad that you have to battle an illness that takes you away from the life you could have if you felt better. It also made me happy to hear you regroup and recommit to blogging. For selfish reasons I want you to keep going. I love reading your posts and being inspired to read new books after reading what you write. But I also am glad for you because I do believe that blogging has an important place in your life and gives a lot back to you. I hope the next three months will be much, much better for you!

  95. July 25, 2010 5:03 am

    Since you posted about your reason for being away last time I thought that might be the case this time too, so I don’t think you need to worry about people thinking you’ve gone for good :)

    Taking a step back from some things is a good idea I reckon, at least until you feel you can spend more time on it. There’s a lot to be said for cutting back sometimes, no matter the reason.

    Hope you feel better and continue to do so, if not completely (because I know that may be difficult) then at least enough that you can keep doing enough of what you want to do. Blog whenever you want and can, as everyone else has said, you’ve readers ready for sure.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

