Skip to content

Erm…Sorry About That

May 28, 2010


photo credit

Oh darlings, I’m so sorry that I disappeared for so long, with no warning. I’m sorry that I totally failed to live up to a few obligations I’d made to bloggers I respect and enjoy. I’m sorry that I made people nervous. And I’m sorry that I’ve missed everyone’s wonderful bookish musings for almost a whole month. ;)

Here is how the Universe conspired to put my blog in a coma for pretty much all of May:

  • last week of April/first week of May: I get a fibro flare-up…manage to handle a few posts/reviews/tasks I’d committed to, but spent most of my time curled up in a small ball with my heating pad strategically placed
  • second week of May: fibro starts to calm down, and then I get a cold that saps all of my will to live…at the same time, our internet conks out! I’m just not up to driving to the library to get on the free internet (or anywhere else, honestly), so spend my time going through a huge box of tissues and watching DVDs and OnDemand cable (because when I get really sick, I can’t focus on reading, which is so frustrating!)
  • third (and a half) week of May: go with my mom to upstate NY to see all of her relatives (fortunately, at this point, my cold has been reduced to an occasional sniffle)…my grandmother still doesn’t have internet, so I spend my time hanging out with family and playing bingo like it’s going out of style.
  • present day: I got back home on Tuesday, promptly returned ALL of my books to the library (and only got there after closing, so there was actually a 36-hour-period when I had nothing checked out), and have spent the last couple of days recovering from my trip (remember, I’m used to sleeping 12-14 hours a day, but I didn’t want to do that when I was seeing family, so surviving on 6-8 hours for most of the nights left me utterly exhausted) and working up the courage to jump back into the blogosphere. I FINALLY got my reading mojo back last night, which is a great relief, because I was wondering how I was going to be a book blogger if I had stopped enjoying reading! (I was also wondering how I would SURVIVE if I had stopped enjoying reading…as I’m sure y’all can identify with.)

Now I’m back, though, and I’ll be going through my e-mails soon (I’m going to sleep right now, but over the weekend I hope to get caught up), and I have all sorts of blog posts that I can’t wait to write. With luck, I can revive my poor blog, before she runs off to find a more deserving guardian. ;)

I’m writing this post before I’ve checked my e-mail or opened my Google Reader, so I really have no idea what kind of awesomeness y’all have been getting up to. But I look forward to catching up with everyone, and once again I hope you all accept my apology!

Hoping we’re still friends,
Eva

158 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2010 4:26 am

    Actually, I was worried about you. I figured it was a fibro flare-up, but also wondered if you had found love and had just run off to a new life. You normally sleep 12-14 hours a day and read and review all those books? I assumed you got by on 2 hours sleep.

    • June 6, 2010 5:49 am

      lol! Since I’m really sick at the moment, 12 hours is definitely average for me. I can’t wait to get back to 8 hours, which is my average when I’m ‘healthy’! I promise if I run off with a new love, I’ll blog about it first. ;)

  2. May 28, 2010 4:28 am

    I was worried too. I’m glad you are feeling better now and that you spent so time with your family. Glad to see you back!

  3. May 28, 2010 4:36 am

    I’m glad you are back home, and feeling better! You’ve been missed :)

  4. May 28, 2010 5:12 am

    You have been missed, Eva, but don’t worry about being gone. You don’t do this for a living, but for fun and life happens. Take care and don’t push yourself too hard. :-)

    • June 6, 2010 5:50 am

      Wise words Kay! It’s hard to remember that sometimes. :)

  5. May 28, 2010 5:22 am

    As Billie Holiday sang: “I’m glad/you’re back/don’t explain…”

  6. May 28, 2010 5:29 am

    I was also concerned it was a fibro-flare up. I’m glad there were other factors that contributed instead of it being a month long flare. I’m glad you’re back! (And this is my first time commenting, I’ve just been lurking and reading your blog).

    • June 6, 2010 5:50 am

      Thanks so much for commenting! Now I’ll be able to pop over and check out your blog. :)

  7. May 28, 2010 5:36 am

    I’m just glad you’re all right and that it wasn’t a month long flare up! I was worried. I’ve missed you :) I can’t wait for you to get back into the swing of things. And catch up about Bones!!

    • June 6, 2010 5:50 am

      Thanks Heather! And squee for such a great ending to the Bones season! :D

  8. May 28, 2010 5:44 am

    Welcome back! I missed your posts and was hoping you were ok. Real life interferes with online life sometimes, and I try not to feel bad when that happens. Looking forward to your new posts!

  9. May 28, 2010 5:48 am

    Sorry you have had such a difficult time, but so glad that you are starting to feel well again.

    I absolutely LOVED the photograph. It truly illustrates, “A picture is worth a thousand words”

    • June 6, 2010 5:51 am

      Thank you Molly! Isn’t that a lovely picture? I’m totally addicted to Flickr Creative Commons. :D

  10. May 28, 2010 5:48 am

    Welcome back! So glad that lack of internet was one of the factors that you were away and not that you felt horrible the whole month of May! You are going to be so overwhelmed with Google Reader entries and emails; I do not envy you that. Remember: Mark All As Read…!

    I hope you are feeling better and that you get back into the swing of things. I finish school in a week so am busy collecting textbooks from all the students; definitely NOT my favorite part of my job!

    • June 6, 2010 5:52 am

      Thanks Helen! My Google Reader wasn’t as bad as a I expected…I did a pretty good job organising/culling it a few months ago. :) I bet you’re looking forward to summer vacation!

  11. May 28, 2010 5:50 am

    I’m so glad you’re back and better. We missed you!

  12. May 28, 2010 5:59 am

    I was just thinking about you this morning and hoping it wasn’t really a whole month-long flare-up. Glad to hear it wasn’t even though it was still exhausting.

  13. May 28, 2010 6:07 am

    Eva, so glad to hear that everything is ok and that your reading mojo is back! I’ve missed your posts!

    • June 6, 2010 5:52 am

      Thanks Steph! I’ve missed being able to read your blog. :)

  14. May 28, 2010 6:09 am

    The silence at your end was alarming! Nice to see you back.

  15. May 28, 2010 6:26 am

    Eva, No apologies necessary — just glad you’re feeling better and are back online. I definitely missed your voice and your presence. Take care!

  16. bookgazing permalink
    May 28, 2010 6:39 am

    I’m also glad you’re back and better. I figured you were wrestling with fibro, but don’t know how long that tends to last. Never let anything take your reading mojo for good please! It would make me so sad if I knew you couldn’t concentrate on reading ever again (but then I am weird, other people might be like ‘well now you have time for volleyball’ or something).

    • June 6, 2010 6:13 am

      Aww: that’s so sweet! :) lol @ volleyball…the last time I played that was when I was forced to in 6th grade and I ended up w/ a bloody nose!

  17. May 28, 2010 6:55 am

    Glad you’re feeling better, Eva. You’ve been missed.

  18. May 28, 2010 6:58 am

    No need for all that apologizin’. Remember, we all love you, we were worried. Now you are back and feeling better. Yeah!

  19. May 28, 2010 7:04 am

    I’m glad you’re back and feeling better.

  20. winstonsdad permalink
    May 28, 2010 7:29 am

    nice to see you back eva ,and feeling better ,all the best stu

  21. May 28, 2010 8:13 am

    Oh, my, the universe certainly did conspire against you! All of those things happening at once. Just glad you’re back and ready to go again!

  22. May 28, 2010 8:39 am

    I’ve missed your posts too, Eva, but don’t feel bad about taking some time off blogging! It’s optional. :-) Glad to hear you’re feeling better!

  23. May 28, 2010 8:56 am

    Hey lady, welcome back! I feel you on the sleeping – I’ve had lots of changes lately (ugh how I hate change), and I am just beginning to settle back into a normal sleeping pattern. I cannot be doing with fewer than 8 hours of sleep every night. EVER. I turn into a witchy horror when I don’t get enough sleep. Glad to see you back again! :)

    • June 6, 2010 6:15 am

      LOL I’m all about my 8 hours too! I’ve had this weird insomnia thing going on this past week, and it’s making me SOOOO grumpy. My poor cousin!

  24. May 28, 2010 8:57 am

    Welcome back!!

  25. May 28, 2010 8:57 am

    Glad you are ok. I kept looking for you on Twitter hoping you were just temporarily out of commission! Feel better and looking forward to catching up.

    • June 6, 2010 6:24 am

      Thanks Linda! I hope to have Twitter time soon. :)

  26. May 28, 2010 8:58 am

    Welcome back Eva! Glad to see you’re feeling better!

  27. May 28, 2010 9:21 am

    Eva,
    I have been a silent reader for some time. I truly enjoy your blog and have read many books at your suggestion. What matters is that you are rested and feeling better. Those of us who look forward to your blog entries won’t stop reading when you need to take time to get well. Don’t worry!
    Sincerely,
    Karenne Saylor

    • June 6, 2010 6:31 am

      Karenne,
      Thanks so much for leaving such a nice comment! That made my week. :)
      **Eva

  28. May 28, 2010 9:23 am

    Glad you are back and feeling better. I missed reading your posts while you were away!

  29. May 28, 2010 9:36 am

    Was worried about you too, almost sent you an email the other day, but I figured you had tons and tons to read. I’m taking a break too because my mental capacity of late has involved three things: eating, sleeping and reading. I’m glad to hear you’re doing all right and feeling better. Also glad your reading mojo has returned, isn’t it a lovely feeling?

    • June 6, 2010 6:32 am

      I hope your break is restful! And I can never have too many e-mails. :p Yes, reading mojo is the best thing in the world!

  30. May 28, 2010 9:48 am

    Hugs and welcome back! Hopefully you’ll continue to feel better!

  31. May 28, 2010 9:49 am

    Welcome back! I was starting to get Eva withdrawals in an affectionate I MISS YOU kind of way, not a creepy stalker kind of way. *Pounds fist on desk* That damn fibro! How dare it sap you of your reading mojo and rob the blogosphere of your bookish brilliance!

    • June 6, 2010 6:33 am

      *rolling on floor in laughter. helpless to write better reply*

  32. May 28, 2010 10:07 am

    Yay!! Eva’s back!! I missed your bookish thoughts. I echo many others in saying that I am glad that it wasn’t a month long flare-up. I’m happy to know that there was a lack of internet and a trip to NY! :)

  33. May 28, 2010 10:59 am

    I’m so glad you’re back! I was wondering and hoping you hadn’t been ill all this time.

  34. May 28, 2010 11:14 am

    Welcome back to our little corner of the world. We missed you, Dakota and I.

  35. May 28, 2010 11:23 am

    I’m so glad to see you back! I hope that you stay well for a while. I’m at the tail end of that stupid cold that’s been going around and it’s a terrible one! Love ya!

    • June 6, 2010 6:40 am

      Thanks Kristen! I hope your cold goes away soon!

  36. May 28, 2010 11:29 am

    Oh my, sounds like you’ve had a tough month! So glad to hear you’re feeling better and you once again have internet access! Welcome back :)

  37. May 28, 2010 11:42 am

    I’m just so glad to see you back! I was sure you were just sick and would be back eventually, but I did check in here from time to time, hoping you were ok. :)

  38. May 28, 2010 12:25 pm

    I’m happy that you’re back! We all definitely missed you around here, but I am glad that you are finally starting to feel better. I have an autoimmune disorder that flares up every once in a while, and rheumatoid arthritis, so I can understand the whole curling up in a ball and dying kind of feeling. :)

    I’m looking forward to new and wonderfully amazing posts! ;) Take care!

    • June 6, 2010 6:45 am

      Aww; I’m sorry to hear about your health issues Allie. :/

  39. selena permalink
    May 28, 2010 1:21 pm

    Still friends! :D

    Welcome back, Eva. I’m glad you’re doing alright and that you haven’t spent your whole time away battling fibro. I hope you’re not overwhelmed by what I imagine is going to be a very, very, very full Google Reader. (Remember, there is a “Mark All As Read” button!)

    • June 6, 2010 6:46 am

      Thanks! I actually find a full reader more thrilling than overwhelming. LOL

  40. May 28, 2010 2:02 pm

    Just glad to have you back, Eva!

  41. JoV permalink
    May 28, 2010 2:18 pm

    Glad you are back Eva, miss you loads!

  42. May 28, 2010 2:54 pm

    I was thinking of you all this week – we could have used your “armchair” for Armchair BEA! :-) Glad to see you, and that you’re feeling better.

    • June 6, 2010 6:47 am

      Thanks Florinda! I was sorry to see I’d missed out on Armchair BEA; it looked like such fun. :)

  43. May 28, 2010 3:34 pm

    Here’s hoping that things get better for you soon. Real life can get in the way sometimes and all we can do is wait for the storm to pass. Hang in there.

  44. May 28, 2010 5:27 pm

    So happy to see you back :)

    • June 6, 2010 6:50 am

      Thanks Teresa! I’m just happy to be back. :)

  45. May 28, 2010 5:42 pm

    Isn’t it wonderful to see how much you are loved in “book bloggy land”?? :) I’m another one that is just glad to see you back!

  46. Sarah permalink
    May 28, 2010 6:06 pm

    Welcome back Eva!

  47. May 28, 2010 6:30 pm

    Good to hear you are feeling better. When I am really sick I do not feel like reading either. :)

    • June 6, 2010 7:02 am

      Thank you Brittanie! It’s so frustrating when you’re sick w/ lots of time in bed but no desire to read.

  48. May 28, 2010 7:22 pm

    I was excited when your feed link turned bold! Glad you’re back. Do you like listening to books on CD? Sometimes the selection can be weak, depending on your library, but I wonder if you’d like listening to them when you don’t feel great enough to get around but good enough to listen.

    • June 6, 2010 7:03 am

      Thanks Chelle! I love audiobooks, and I first got into them when I was sick. :) I usually download them from my library’s ebranch, so I didn’t have any when I was sick since had no internet access & couldn’t drive to pick some out in person.

  49. ana permalink
    May 28, 2010 7:36 pm

    Glad the mojo has returned. You are certainly back in the flow with your promises of blog posts you’re already planning. ‘You go girl!

  50. May 28, 2010 8:09 pm

    So glad you’re back and feeling better – and had a nice visit with family. Rest up!

  51. May 28, 2010 10:12 pm

    Glad to have you back, Eva! We have all been missing you :) Glad to know that you are feeling better now and had a nice holiday. Hoping to see some pictures and reading your thoughts on books and other interesting topics.

    • June 6, 2010 7:05 am

      Thanks Vishy! Can you believe I don’t have any pictures? I forgot my camera. :(

  52. May 28, 2010 11:23 pm

    Just so glad you are feeling better, Eva. *hug* (I haven’t been the best blogger either. Continued making posts but haven’t been visiting and commenting much due to work.)

    • June 6, 2010 7:06 am

      Thanks Claire! I hope you’ll have enough time to get back into blogging at some point.

  53. May 29, 2010 12:45 am

    I have to admit I was starting to worry, if nothing else because a fibro flare-up lasting that long would be miserable, glad it wasn’t that all the time.

    • June 6, 2010 7:09 am

      Sorry I worried you Zee! I’m glad it wasn’t a month long fibro flare-up too!

  54. May 29, 2010 4:38 am

    Glad to see you are back! Was a bit worried!

    • June 6, 2010 7:10 am

      Thanks bestest meme co-host ever! :D Sorry I worried you. :/

  55. moshi mooch permalink
    May 29, 2010 4:56 am

    I’m glad you are back! Happy that everything is ok, rest well and hope to see some pictures of your trip!

    • June 6, 2010 7:10 am

      Thanks Moshi! I forgot my camera so no pics. :/

  56. May 29, 2010 5:00 am

    Welcome back, Eva! I’m glad you’re feeling a little more alive now. x

  57. May 29, 2010 6:22 am

    EVA! I’m so happy that you’re back and that you’re feeling better. I missed you tons. (and I’ll admit, I was definitely more than a little worried about you.) Can’t wait to read anything and everything you have to say soon. :)

    • June 6, 2010 7:13 am

      HEATHER! Missed you too! I hope Orlando’s treating you well! :D

  58. Maya Gavi permalink
    May 29, 2010 7:31 am

    I didn’t realize that I’m actually addicted to you blog until I couldn’t read it anymore. Glad you are back!
    Maya

    • June 6, 2010 7:13 am

      That’s so sweet Maya! I’m blushing! :)

  59. May 29, 2010 7:52 am

    Glad to see you’re back! I didn’t know what happened to you. I figured your fibro must have been acting up. Glad to know you’re feeling much better.

  60. May 29, 2010 9:49 am

    Welcome back! Glad to hear you’re doing all right, and looking forward to reading all those bookish posts you’re so excited about writing! :D

  61. May 29, 2010 10:03 am

    Glad to see you around! I was wondering what happened to you, so now I guess I know! :)

  62. Emma Stickley permalink
    May 29, 2010 1:15 pm

    I am new to your blog, and I am glad to see you back. Yours is one of my favourites I have come across and I will look forward to reading some new blogs from you now you are back on your feet. Hope you stay well. :)

  63. May 29, 2010 6:52 pm

    As the 63rd commenter, if the numbers hold true… well, HUGS. :)

  64. May 29, 2010 7:50 pm

    Glad you are back. I was beginning to hate the Dumas button because it meant no new post. How wonderful, too, to be so warmly welcomed “home.”

  65. May 29, 2010 8:47 pm

    Glad you’re back. Glad you’re (basically) OK. Was beginning to fret a bit.

    Missed you bunches!!!!

  66. May 30, 2010 6:43 am

    So glad to hear you’re well, Eva! I was starting to entertain more morbid thoughts… Missed you and reading about what you’re reading and thinking, so it’s great to have you back!

  67. May 30, 2010 10:16 am

    And then we all disappeared to New York and BEA. Glad to know you’re back.

    • June 6, 2010 7:22 am

      lol! And had lots of fun during your disappearance. :P

  68. May 30, 2010 11:55 am

    There you are! :)

  69. May 30, 2010 2:47 pm

    Welcome back Eva! I knew that there was a reason the weather was so lovely. The Universe is smiling at your return.

  70. May 30, 2010 6:01 pm

    Glad to hear you are feeling better! I was thinking it had been quite a while since I had seen any posts. Looking forward to hearing about your latest reads!

  71. May 31, 2010 2:22 am

    I’m so glad to hear you’re back. I was worried about you, and I’m sure many others were as well. I’m sorry to hear you’ve had a difficult May. And you shouldn’t apologize and I’m sure you won’t lose readers.

  72. May 31, 2010 8:11 am

    I shall simply say its simply wonderful to have you back!

  73. May 31, 2010 10:05 am

    Welcome back, I’m glad things are good. Care and I were talking about you at BEA and hoping things were alright :)

    • June 6, 2010 7:32 am

      I wish I could’ve been there with y’all!

  74. June 1, 2010 5:25 am

    I am incredibly relieved that you haven’t been sick all this time! Welcome back!

  75. June 1, 2010 9:44 pm

    I’ve missed seeing your posts and seeing you around the blogosphere – glad that you are back!

  76. June 2, 2010 5:08 pm

    It’s so good to see you back! I was getting worried about you girl. I’m sorry about the fibro and cold but hopefully you feel much better now. Take care and take it easy. Hugs!

  77. June 4, 2010 2:05 am

    I read on Simon’s site that you were ill, had been wondering where you’d gone. Glad to hear you’re feeling better, you’ve had quite a time of it it seems! It’s nice that after all that illness you had a good trip following.

  78. June 4, 2010 6:46 am

    Sorry you’ve been ill! I hope the stars align for you!

  79. June 4, 2010 8:11 pm

    I’m glad you’re better.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

